We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
11
2
1
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
2
1
1
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 22 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2017 via mobile

Great little pub with good food. Friendly locals and also a dog friendly bar. The Views were amazing. It was a short walk from our accommodation which made it ideal and made for a nice relaxing evening.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Gfen189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2017

We have just spent 3 nights at the swan inn, the food was great, the breakfast was fantastic, so much to eat, a quaint old pub with lovely views over box Hill, our room was large and very comfortable, the landlady was so friendly and obliging doing all the catering,, her husband Pete was a real character with his own sense of humor, the locals were so friendly, we would go back again, thank you Pat and Pete .

Room Tip: Good location
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pip John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2016 via mobile

Happened across this quaint little pub. View across the valley is lush, worth the visit alone. Inside not bad, just as you'd expect an independent pub/hotel. Clean presentable and welcoming, only gripe is a little cold but couldn't expect them to turn on the fire for just us so just grinned and bared it.
Only problem, understandable one, was the quality of the food.
We both had sausage egg chips and peas, all piping hot just lacking some what in quality.
It's always a hard balance between how much you spend on food for the customer but this instance sadly they got it wrong.
If the food were of better quality we would have liked to have called this our "regular" but not in a rush to go back sadly.
Given them a 3 as they have all the ingredients right except for...well the ingredients (see what I did there)

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephennpaul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2016

This pub is in a great location but is ruined by the appalling landlord who is rude unwelcoming and just hopeless. Everything is too much trouble and you wonder why he bothers to be there at all. I have spoken to several people who have been there and the experience is all the same. Could be a wonderful place but is being ruined by the landlord , how odd!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank simon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2016

This was our third visit to The Swan Inn and once again, the landlord made us feel unwelcome. It was Father's Day and we'd been for a family walk. We popped in for a drink and from the outset the landlord was brusque and surly. Just as other reviewers have described. He was like this with us the first couple of times so goodness knows why we ventured in again. I guess we hoped things might have changed. And no, it's not his dry wit, he's just rude.

We ordered cokes for our older kids, he didn't ask what kind, just took two diet Cokes from the fridge and poured them into glasses. No ice, no lemon. He never smiled once and made us feel like we'd done something wrong. 2 pints of beer, 2 cokes and 2 bags of crisps for over £15 - you would expect a smile at least for that price. It really is upsetting to get this kind of rudeness and I can only imagine how others feel if they book accommodation or meals here. It put a huge dampner on our day, which was a shame with it being Father's Day. You are left wondering whether it was because of our accents (from Lancashire), or the fact that we had kids with us (who were older and sat quietly all along) or maybe he just didn't like the look of us?

A couple of locals wandered in and it was obvious they knew him, so I can only gather that he prefers locals to visitors. Whatever his reason for being this way, he shouldn't be in the service industry. That kind of attitude can ruin people's days and it certainly ruined ours. There's no excuse for it.

The pub was more or less empty, which on Father's Day says a lot about the kind of reputation this pub has built up. It's a shame because it's a lovely location.

I'm sorry but I would advise that people steer clear of this pub. We've travelled all over the country and beyond and I have to say that the customer service here is one of the worst we've experienced. You really are made to feel that you shouldn't be there, like you've wandered into a private event. We won't be giving this odious man a fourth chance.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Guinness_maiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews