We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, lived up to all my hopes and...”
Lovely sunny cottage, centre of Marlborough. Very quiet position. Off street parking.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely sunny cottage, centre of Marlborough. Very quiet position. Off street parking.
 The Manse, a gorgeous cottage in the centre of Marlborough but tucked away in a very quiet area. The garden is small but gets plenty of sun. It has a bench seat, table and chairs for four.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Lovely sunny cottage, centre of Marlborough. Very quiet position. Off street parking.
The Manse, a gorgeous cottage in the centre of Marlborough but tucked away in a very quiet area.
The garden is small but gets plenty of sun. It has a bench seat, table and chairs for four.
Small but perfectly formed!
McCarron kitchen/Miele appliances. The kitchen is small but has all you need for an enjoyable stay.
The main living/dining area. A bright sunny room with two comfy sofas.
Sitting room with french doors to the garden
The dining room seats four comfortably.
Master Bedroom with king size bed and plenty of storage space.
Master bedroom with dual aspect
Master bedroom
The second bedroom has a double bed and wardrobe/drawers.
Second bedroom
Main shower room with enclosed shower, basin and w/c. There is also a separate w/c and basin.
Shower room, with shower, basin and toilet. There is also a separate w/c and basin.
In the Spring we often have extra visitor's!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Marlborough, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Theresa A
1 review
“Perfect, lived up to all my hopes and expectations!”
Reviewed January 31, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I booked The Manse for a five day break as a surprise for my husband's 70th birthday - he had no idea where we were headed until we arrived. Thankfully he was delighted with my choice, as was I! The Manse is a charming holiday home, compact but so cleverly and thoughtfully arranged that it feels surprisingly spacious, with room for every creature comfort, even if some are in unexpected places (fridge, cutlery, washing machine!).

The location is perfect, tucked away in a quiet corner of Marlborough, but just a few short steps from the high street. And to have a dedicated parking space so close to a busy town centre was a bonus indeed, even if it is a rather tight space and tricky to get into - that pleasure I left to my husband, who had the procedure down to a fine art in no time!

Jonathan, the neighbour who looks after the house, was so friendly and helpful, without being intrusive, and it was good to know that we had help and advice so close at hand should we need it.

There are several take-aways very close if you don't feel like cooking - we can recommend the fish and chip shop just across the road! For my husband's birthday I had booked a table at Coles Restaurant, just a short walk away on Kingsbury Hill. What a really good choice that was - first class food in a lovely relaxed atmosphere with friendly staff. So if you're looking for that perfect place for a special occasion, you really can't go wrong with this eatery.

All in all, a lovely few days away. The only downside was that my husband's birthday was in January - the weather was absolutely arctic! Another trip in fairer weather is called for, I reckon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2015
Thankyou so much for your very positive and detailed review. We were pleased to hear that the house was all you had hoped for and that the birthday surprise was such a success. If you would like to make a return visit at any time in the future we'd be really happy to hear from you.
With best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
500caroli...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed January 19, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights over the Christmas period. Loved the house and its great location. Very warm and cosy and everything we needed was supplied. Would definitely stay here again. Many thanks to the owner Sue and the very helpful neighbour Jonathan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was just like being in your own home. So much better than staying in a hotel.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2015
Many thanks for your lovely review of The Manse. So pleased that it worked out well for you and hope that you had an enjoyable Christmas. Hope too that all is going well for you and the family. If you would like to stay again any time in the future we'd be very happy to hear from you.
Best wishes - Richard and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ste_NJ
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Really good location and appliances. Tight for kitchen and car parking.”
Reviewed November 30, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Quiet central location. Better than staying in one of the noisy pub/hotels. Compact but very well organized. Parking the car a little tricky. Neighbors helpful without being intrusive.

Chip shop over the road serves best chips.

Marlborough has plenty going on and is a great place to explore the area from.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Personal care and service
Liked least: Small kitchen
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Manse. I can only apologise about the difficulty with the parking! We are in the process of sorting this out, so hopefully if you stay again in the future it will be easier for you.
Best wishes - Richard and Sue (Jackson)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pkkcak
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Extremely convenient”
Reviewed November 29, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We were delighted with The Manse. We needed a base from which to visit/support our son and daughter-in-law with our brand new grandson. The Manse fitted the bill exactly. Every thing we needed was at hand (if not always where you might expect it - we received an excellent map and comprehensive details of everything at the property, and for those of us who don't read or remember such instructions, the neighbour, Jonathan, was on standby with a warm welcome and showed us where everything was - we might otherwise still be looking for the cutlery!!)

It was warm and very comfortable, and surprisingly spacious - room enough for two more adults to join us for part of the week, and for visits from grandson and parents, pram, etc, etc.

Everywhere we needed to get to in Marlborough was just a few minutes walk away, and with the real bonus (for Marlborough) in the provision of a dedicated parking space just yards from the property, we hardly needed to move the car all week.

I have no doubt that we will return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2014
Many thanks for your very positive and detailed review and so pleased that the house was all you had hoped it would be. It's fairly small but we absolutely love it and especially being so close to everything and yet in a very quiet position.
We look forward to hearing from you again in the future when you next visit.
Have a very good Christmas and New Year.
With Best Wishes - Richard and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baabaamag...
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Style and comfort in a cleverly designed space.”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This was the perfect place to stay... Near the busy High Street yet set back in a quiet little side street. The neighbour who looks after the property was very friendly and helpful, and we found the house very comfortable to live in. Despite being compact, the design is so clever that there is more than enough room for everyone to move around freely, and the house is very well equipped with all we needed. We were sorry to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2014
Many thanks for your very positive review. So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Marlborough and if you would like to stay again we would be very happy to hear from you.
Best wishes - Richard & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BJDLondon
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed October 31, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here as a base to explore the area. It's location is perfect for walking around Marlborough or further afield by car. The neighbour (key holder) is particularly friendly and we felt we could ask him anything. Parking for one car is right by the house and free a few streets away. The house is beautifully kitted out with quality white goods (Miele) and lovely tasteful furniture. The beds, both doubles, are very comfortable. We will definitely stay here again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2014
Many thanks for your review. We really appreciate our guests taking the time to comment on their stay. So pleased that you enjoyed yours and if you would like to stay again any time in the future we'd love to hear from you.
Best wishes - Richard and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great position, clean and comfortable.”
Reviewed October 23, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This place was just what we needed. In the centre of Marlborough, which is a good sized market town and perfect for our short break to visit the Neolithic sites in the area. The Manse is clean and spacious, and although the kitchen is quite small, it is modern and has everything you need, should you wish to cook. The beds were comfortable with crisp, clean, quality linen. There are several restaurants and take-a-ways close bye which we made use of.
Richard and Sues` friends Jonathon and Diane who live next door were there to meet us on our arrival and were very friendly and helpful, showing us around and explaining how everything works.
All in all, a hassle free few days. Just what we needed.

Richard and Lynne.
Sheffild.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2014
Many you thanks for your review of The Manse. We were pleased that you enjoyed your stay and if you would like to book again we would be happy to here from you.

Best wishes - Richard & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing