We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sisters weekend away”
Lovely sunny cottage, centre of Marlborough. Very quiet position. Off street parking.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely sunny cottage, centre of Marlborough. Very quiet position. Off street parking.
 The Manse, a gorgeous cottage in the centre of Marlborough but tucked away in a very quiet area. The garden is small but gets plenty of sun. It has a bench seat, table and chairs for four.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Lovely sunny cottage, centre of Marlborough. Very quiet position. Off street parking.
The Manse, a gorgeous cottage in the centre of Marlborough but tucked away in a very quiet area.
The garden is small but gets plenty of sun. It has a bench seat, table and chairs for four.
Small but perfectly formed!
McCarron kitchen/Miele appliances. The kitchen is small but has all you need for an enjoyable stay.
The main living/dining area. A bright sunny room with two comfy sofas.
Sitting room with french doors to the garden
The dining room seats four comfortably.
Master Bedroom with king size bed and plenty of storage space.
Master bedroom with dual aspect
Master bedroom
The second bedroom has a double bed and wardrobe/drawers.
Second bedroom
Main shower room with enclosed shower, basin and w/c. There is also a separate w/c and basin.
Shower room, with shower, basin and toilet. There is also a separate w/c and basin.
In the Spring we often have extra visitor's!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Marlborough, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jean s
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Sisters weekend away”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Have now visited the lovely manse 3 times for weekends away with my sisters. We choose the manse originally as it was equal distance for us. But keep going back as it is just superb. The manse has everything you need, very well equipped and has always been extremely clean. Johnathon is a great extra. Always there if you need him, helpful, funny and cheerful. The lovely market town of Marlborough is perfect, and just a 3 minute walk from the manse. Plenty of great places to eat if you don't fancy cooking. Have booked already to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
So pleased that you all had another enjoyable stay at The Manse and thankyou for the lovely review. You're absolutely right Jonathan and Diane are a real bonus and we are so lucky to have their help. Thankyou for leaving the house in such good order when you left, it is very much appreciated. I have provisionally booked in your dates for next year and will contact you in the new year.
Have a great Christmas.
Best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmas2015
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
“Location! Location! Location!”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We four were very happy with our stay at The Manse in Marlborough. The location for sightseeing was excellent, and the proximity to Heathrow was a plus also. We were impressed with the selection of interesting shops and warm, welcoming pubs just up the street. After busy days we twice enjoyed take-away meals that are near the apartment.
The Manse itself was perfectly appointed, very clean, very quiet, and had a generously equipped kitchen. It felt like home! The owner was very responsive and helpful and neighborJonathan was most welcoming and helpful with touring advice. He and his wife are assets too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location to shops and pubs and sightseeing
Liked least: parking was difficult, but manageable.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2015
Thankyou so much for taking the time to do a review and for your wonderful comments. Jonathan and Diane are certainly indispensable and I don't quite know how we'd cope with two holiday lets if they didn't look after The Manse for us. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Marlborough and that the house was all you had hoped for.
If you would like to stay at The Manse or West View House in Devizes any time in the future we'd be really happy to hear from you.
Best wishes - Sue & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanMercer...
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cottage was spotless, tastefully furnished and very comfortable.”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Cottage was spotless, tastefully furnished and very comfortable. Extremely quiet but central location, neighbour Jonathan was extremely welcoming and genial throughout our short stay. If in the area again we would definitely stay here. Local area very picturesque and Avebury was stunning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2015
Many thanks for your great review and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Marlborough. We try hard to keep the house up to date and comfortable for our guests. If you would like to book either The Manse or West View House in Devizes any time in the future we'd be very happy to hear from you.
Best wishes - Sue & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shp
Wokingham, England
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a relaxing break.”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Marlborough is a great place to visit lots of good shops and restaurants and plenty of walks you can do without needing to take the car. However, there are two problems...it is very busy and there is no where to park. The Manse solves these problems, you can stay in a beautifully appointed cottage that is tucked away down a lane but just a few minutes walk from the High Street and it has it's own parking place.

I really enjoyed the peace and quiet of the cottage and the surrounding countryside but it was excellent to be able to walk just a few yards (literally) to a fish and chip shop when I couldn't be bothered to cook. There are also Chinese and Indian takeaways either side of the Fish and Chip shop and a very wide range of pubs, cafes and restaurants within a 10 minute walk.

All the fixtures and fittings in The Manse are top quality and I don't think I have ever stayed anywhere that has more plates and glasses! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and hope to be able to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
Many, many thanks for your very informative and glowing review. I was a little worried when saw that there were two problems! So pleased that they were not problems with the house and did not affect your stay. Marlborough is certainly a very popular market town. However, you're right in saying that this does not affect our visitors, as the house is nicely tucked away in a very quiet area yet very close to all amenities. We love it and have been known to stay there ourselves! If you would like to make a return visit at any time we'd be really happy to hear from you.
Best wishes - Sue & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulClear
Stockport
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cosy, relaxing and really well equipped”
Reviewed June 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

All communication with the owner was excellent and the cottage certainly didn't disappoint. It has been equipped to a high standard with lots of care for the guests. We liked having the shops nearby, but still with plenty of peace and quiet. There is some great walking, with the local OS map and a selection of leaflets and books on the local area. I would certainly recommend the cottage.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
We were really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Marlborough and the house was all you had hoped for. Thankyou so much forthe great review. If you would like to stay again at The Manse or West View House in Devizes we'd be really happy to hear from you.

Best wishes - Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonsall20...
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, well appointed house with all the amenities you could want.”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house is tastefully decorated, light and airy, and has all the home comforts you could wish for. It is really peaceful in the house because it is tucked away and yet it is only 5 minutes walk to good restaurants, cafes and shops. You can easily get to Avebury and Bath among other places, and there are some nice local walks along the river. We have already recommended the house to our relatives!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and location
Liked least: No private garden
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2015
Thank you for the very positive review. So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Marlborough and that the house was all you had hoped for. If you would like to stay again any time in the future we'd be very happy to hear from you.
Best wishes
Sue & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ernst991
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great for a peaceful retreat in a beautiful market town.”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We loved staying at 1 The Manse. I had wanted to book a relaxing place to stay within easy walking distance of Marlborough High Street and with a convenient parking space for the car. The cottage suited us perfectly. It was a bonus to have a really friendly welcome from the neighbour who looks after the place, and reassuring to know that he was on hand if we had any questions. It's surprisingly light and airy inside despite being tucked away just off the high street and the handy bench outside proved to be in a good sun-trap. The owners have equipped and decorated the place really well so we had everything we needed to relax and feel at home. I would definitely consider booking the cottage again...possibly for a week this summer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2015
Many, many thanks for your very positive and informative review. We really appreciate people taking the time to do a review, especially such a glowing one! So pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Marlborough is a lovely market town and it is certainly good being near all amenities but in a very quiet position as well.
Look forward to possibly hearing from you in the near future re a return visit.
Best wishes - Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing