We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funeral Gathering” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Rectory House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Rectory House
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Redditch
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Funeral Gathering”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We wanted to host a small (24 people) post funeral gathering to celebrate my wife's mother's life. Pam was absolutely brilliant especially as she was just about to depart for Oz! She was very keen for us to have exactly what we required and she went to great pains to ensure that this part of our sad day was as good as it could be. And it was. We chose a hot and cold buffet 'lunch' with fruit juice and endless supplies of tea and coffee. The staff were sensitive and friendly. The hotel itself is an oasis of peace with an intimacy and ambience that can only be found in older more traditional buildings. The Old Rectory Hotel was the perfect venue for our event. We cant praise it too highly. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    35
    6
    8
    7
See reviews for
59
53
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

We stayed at the old rectory after a double booking from somewhere else, they were excellent in the service which they provided at such short notice. I believe it was fate to have ended up there as it was such a magical day. The staff and owners where amazing and put their full effort into making everything perfect & to suit us. The food was lovely & i would defenitly recommend this as a venue for weddings. I would therefore like to mark this venue a 10/10 for all its hard work and for makng the day so special. Many thanks. Mr & Mrs Radley.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

The Old Rectory was chosen by my company for a works Christmas party. It was disappointing to find just a very bog-standard sandwich, pork pie & sausage roll type buffet that barely lasted for the amount of guests that had been booked for, especially when partners were charged £25 per head (luckily employees were paid for by the company). Sweets were just fairy cakes and a nondescript dark cake with marzipan and icing (fruit loaf? chocolate? malt loaf? ginger? something like that). There was also much discussion between our guests and staff over whether the pre-booked complimentary glass of wine could be replaced by soft drinks for any designated drivers (it was eventually but only after a corresponding amount of wine had been removed by the bar staff!)
I don't think the company will be booking again for next year as most of our staff were distinctly under-whelmed by the night.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janjugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed at the Old Rectory as guests at our friends wedding on the 12/11/12. The staff and owners were fabulous and nothing was too much trouble. The building and its surroundings were beautiful and I would love to return on another occasion. This is the perfect location for an intimate wedding and i would recommend the old rectory to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elamkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We had a fantastic day. The food was so lovely. The surroundings beautiful. All our guests had a fabulous time. Pam is a wonderful host,and all the staff are so friendly. We were made to feel so welcome as though it was our own home. The children loved it and wanted to go back for another party. This lovely hotel is a real treasure. We will definitely be booking the hotel again for future family parties. Well worth a visit if you are planning an event you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betula2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We had our wedding reception here on 27th August 2011. Pam, the owner was fantastic throughout the planning processes (It was a suprise for the bride, so I the Groom did everything with Pam's help)

The wedding breakfast, bedroom and venue for the wedding party was fantastic.. I would recommend this place to friends. My only advice to people is that the room where the DJ will be playing is small and seperate from the rest of the house. The DJ the hotel recommended was also rude to my family.

As a hotel, it is perfect though. The saying 'You get what you pay for' rings a bell here as it is well worth it!

Room Tip: Four Poster Bed = The Best Night's Sleep I EVER had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMcEvillys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We found this gem via some friends and chose it for our son and daughter-in-laws wedding reception. What a superb choice it proved to be. Excellent hosts, Pam provided invaluable support and ideas. Nothing was too much trouble The day was perfect, weather, food, service and all round facilities Many of the family and guests stayed the night in great facilities and were joined on Sunday morning by other family members for a first class breakfast, to round off a great weekend! We were not rushed at any time and their prices are very competitive for such a classy venue!

Room Tip: All the rooms were great, particularly in such an old bulding. We booked the whole venue which gave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christoferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redditch
3.0 km away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
3.5 km away
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
3.3 km away
Premier Inn Redditch North (A441) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Meadow Farm
Meadow Farm
#6 of 8 in Redditch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
20.3 km away
The Wood Norton Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel
#2 of 11 in Evesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
35.9 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Rectory House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Rectory House

Property: Old Rectory House
Address: The Old Rectory Ipsley Lane | Ipsley, Redditch B98 0AP, England (Formerly The Old Rectory Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Redditch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redditch
#3 Family Hotel in Redditch
#5 Business Hotel in Redditch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Rectory House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOUSE Discover our hidden gem and enjoy a truly memorable stay or event experience! The Old Rectory House Hotel is a privately owned quintessential English country house hotel in Redditch. Tucked away in the Heart of England, The Old Rectory House offers a relaxing & comfortable venue for work & play. Our quintessential Elizabethan & Georgian House radiates charm & peace, providing the perfect setting for all family occasions including weddings, christenings, birthday parties and funeral receptions and ideal for conferences, business meetings, seminars, training sessions and team building events. THE GROUNDS Our house sits in the heart of three acres of wooded gardens, with hundreds of plants and trees. Many of our larger trees including the stunning English Oaks, the Portuguese Laurels and the Weeping Ash were planted over 200 years ago. With our very own croquet lawn at the front of the house, its landscape is a perfect setting for picnicking, partying, pampering and pondering, and although it can feel blissfully set apart from the bustle of everyday life, it's within remarkably easy reach of many of the Warwickshire & Worcestershire's most exciting highlights. The team at The Old Rectory House know the estate and area like the back of their hands, so whether you need a recommendation for a picnic spot, directions for a nature walk, or a map for an all-day ramble (marked with the best local pub stops, naturally), just pop into the House for a chat. THE LOCATION The Old Rectory House Hotel is situated within a short drive of many major English tourist attractions including Shakespeare’s birthplace in Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwick Castle, The NEC, Resort World, NIA, The Cotswolds and Birmingham Bull Ring Shopping Centre. It is also a short walk from the Arrow Valley Country Park, a beautiful lake and country park where you can take an easy stroll, have a serious jog around the lake or arrange to go fishing and sailing. Birmingham International Airport, Resort World, NEC & Gentings Arena can be accessed by car within 20 minutes using the M42 motorway network which is 5 minute drive from the hotel. Bicester Shopping Village is only 55 minutes from the Old Rectory Hotel London is only 1 hour 30 minutes by train which makes our hotel a perfect retreat for holiday international tourists. THE HISTORY The Old Rectory House Hotel is probably the best kept secret in the Worcestershire county, it has stood on this site for several hundreds of years and has a wealth of historical connections. The house lies between the original Roman built Icknield Street, which runs along the far boundary, and the monastic carp lakes at the rear of the property. The Doomsday Book lists a building on this site in 1086, during which time Lady Godiva's son was Lord of the Manor. The Great Grandson of Sir Christopher Wren lived in the house for over forty years and made a number of alterations in that time. He completely modernised the original Elizabethan house in 1812 by adding a Georgian facade to the front elevation of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Old Rectory House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rectory Hotel
Old Rectory Redditch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing