We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midweek lunch”

Dining with Distinction
Ranked #1 of 488 Restaurants in Bury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$96
Description: Step on board our traditional Pullman style carriages and be transported back in time to an age where to dine by train, was the height of sophistication. Enjoy first class service and fine dining behind one of our historic steam engines whilst journeying through the charming Lancashire countryside soaking up the picturesque panoramas as you go. With a range of options from a silver service four course gastronomic delight to a quintessentially British Afternoon Tea, there is something for every appetite and occasion. Reservations are required for the Dining with Distinction train services. Ticket price includes rail fare, sparkling reception on board and food.
Restaurant details
Description: Step on board our traditional Pullman style carriages and be transported back in time to an age where to dine by train, was the height of sophistication. Enjoy first class service and fine dining behind one of our historic steam engines whilst journeying through the charming Lancashire countryside soaking up the picturesque panoramas as you go. With a range of options from a silver service four course gastronomic delight to a quintessentially British Afternoon Tea, there is something for every appetite and occasion. Reservations are required for the Dining with Distinction train services. Ticket price includes rail fare, sparkling reception on board and food.
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful experience
Beautiful carriage was like a step back in time.
Lunch was delicious and the staff were wonderful couldn’t recommend enough. Worth every penny.
The day was with Mum n dad and it was a lovely experience to share with them. As Mum pointed out ..... it was first class.

Thank Littlebigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELR-Dining-Manager, Manager at Dining with Distinction, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2018

Littlebigal

Thank you for your kind review.

I am glad you enjoyed your experience on board with us and that all aspects of your journey were tailored to perfection.

I hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Andy McNamara
Dining Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 593 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2018

What better way to spend the day with friends and family than enjoying great food and watching the world (and in our case a rather famous steam train) pass by your window. And the "fizzy pop" was out of this world - a fine Perry I think, and nicer than prosecco! The food quality and presentation was excellent and the staff friendly and attentive. We are definately taking this trip again to sample some of the other menus on offer! Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SarGG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELR-Dining-Manager, Manager at Dining with Distinction, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2018

SarGG2013

Thank you for your review.

It was a pleasure to have you on board and I am really pleased you had a fantastic time with us. You are correct, it was a fine, slightly sparkling perry which seems to go down very well with all our customers.

I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Andy McNamara
Dining Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2018 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable evening steaming through the Irwell Valley on a glorious summer evening.
Good service from the waiting staff - 1st course, lobster, very nice followed by a soup, possibly pea. ( there are no menus on the table on the train , they are outside the carriage and the waitress didn’t say what it was)
Unfortunately the main course, venison, was sadly overdone to extinction- it was tough and tasted like liver. The vegetables likewise were reminiscent of school boiled veg. Dessert, a chocolate pyramid was delicious.
The meal didn’t marr the evening but neither was it the highlight - go for the train not the food!
Overall it was a lovely relaxed evening but there are some things that need tightening up
1) your evening departs promptly at 6.30. - well we stood on the platform waiting until at least 7.15 whilst staff set up tables for drinks and no one came to inform the diners what was happening we were all stood around commenting to each other.
2) serve the canapés ( pork pies) at the same time as the pre dinner drinks - not after everyone has drunk their glass.
3) improve dinner

1  Thank AliBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELR-Dining-Manager, Manager at Dining with Distinction, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2018

AliBar

Thank you for your review.
I have made representation to our catering team regarding your observations and appreciate you taking the time to detail your findings.

It was a pleasure to have you on board

I hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Andy McNamara
Dining Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2018

This was a treat from our daughter for my 65th birthday. It was absolutely amazing. Two course lunch with tea/coffee in the first class dining car of a steam train. White table cloths and excellent 1st class service. Beautiful scenery on this 2 hour journey through amazing countryside. I would recommend this to anybody. Oh and the drinks were so inexpensive. Best value I have ever had for what we got. Thank you

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bunnySouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELR-Dining-Manager, Manager at Dining with Distinction, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2018

bunnySouthport

Thank you for your kind review.

I am glad you enjoyed your experience on board with us and that all aspects of your journey were tailored to perfection.

I hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Andy McNamara
Dining Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2018

Booked for 18th wedding anniversary, went sunday 1st july, red carpet leading to your coach, glass of wine waiting on the table, person came round taking drinks order, then the food arrived and from 1st course through to the desert the food was excellent very well presented and the staff on board were good and friendly,think only being able to give 5 marks is the only downthing with having to give the review as it deserves 10/10

1  Thank dave4jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELR-Dining-Manager, Manager at Dining with Distinction, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2018

dave4jackie

Thank you for your kind review.

I am glad you enjoyed your experience on board with us and that all aspects of your journey were tailored to perfection. Happy anniversary to you both and it was a pleasure to have you on board.

I hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Andy McNamara
Dining Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dining with Distinction also viewed

 
Bury, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Dining with Distinction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing