We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but well formed”
Review of A Tavola

A Tavola
Ranked #2 of 629 Restaurants in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Description: A small rustic restaurant/coffee shop with a lot going on: award-winning chef, delicatessen with quality Sicilian & homemade products, Joe Delucci ice cream & milkshake bar, top quality Italian barista coffee, eat in/take out, extensive menu & weekly specials.
Restaurant details
Description: A small rustic restaurant/coffee shop with a lot going on: award-winning chef, delicatessen with quality Sicilian & homemade products, Joe Delucci ice cream & milkshake bar, top quality Italian barista coffee, eat in/take out, extensive menu & weekly specials.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Turned up on spec, and was lucky to get a seat, this is a restaurant where you need to book.

Food was very good, I had CALAMARICHI FRITTI which was little over cooked, but still very nice, I then had mackerel special dish which was fantastic. I'm looking forward to my next visit, but must book.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATavolaSicilian, Owner at A Tavola, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2018

Hi Leslie M,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate people taking the time to share their experiences of their visits to A Tavola.

We're really glad you visited us and that we were able to accommodate you, especially as it was your first visit to us.

I'm sorry you felt the Calamari you had was overcooked, I hope you mentioned it to our staff, we would have rectified it for you straight away. The Mackerel has been a very popular special so we are delighted you enjoyed it.

Hope to see you again very soon!

Regards,
A Tavola.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 178 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018

Cannot recommend enough, food is stunning genuine rustic Sicilian home cooking, arrancini (deep fied stuffed rice balls) and fresh pasta to die for, expect generous portions and big flavours! Me and the family have been regulars since they opened for good reason. Never had a dish that wasn't fantastic and the staff are wonderful with the kids (if you have eaten with young kids in Italy you'll know italians LOVE feeding kids) and the lovely waitresses will sometimes take the baby off our hands for a play.
It's very cosy in there so worth booking ahead, but you will not be disappointed. Make sure you try the great gelatos or any of the great desserts.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATavolaSicilian, Owner at A Tavola, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018

Hi Nye C,

Thanks so much for your fantastic review. It always means a lot to us when our customers take the time to share their experiences here at A Tavola.

It's great to know that you love the restaurant so much that you have become regulars with us and as you say, we love families as it's a big part of Italian and Sicilian culture so children are always welcome!

Thanks for your comments about the rustic Sicilian food, everything we serve is authentic which results in the big flavours you mentioned!

Glad you enjoyed the home made desserts and delicious Gelato we serve, they are always very popular!

Hope to see you again very soon!

Regards,
A Tavola.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile

Food was amazing, as was staff.
The only place where you can get authentic Sicilian cuisine. Always feel welcome and leave satisfied.

Thank Marco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATavolaSicilian, Owner at A Tavola, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Hi Marco G,

Thank you so much for your review, we always value people taking the time to share their experiences here at A Tavola.

We're delighted to hear that you found the food and our staff amazing, we all work very hard to ensure that everyone receives the best service possible and as you say, serving the best authentic Sicilian cuisine.

Thanks you for your comments about always feeling welcome and leaving satisfied, it's good to know that our customers feel this way.

Hope to see you again very soon!

Regards,
A Tavola.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018

Staff were courteous and friendly. The décor and atmosphere are great.
The food and attention to culinary detail is superb. Fresh, fantastic flavours.
We had rung ahead to ask about a ramp and thought that the portable one would be available - it wasn't so I had to struggle up the steps and we were seated by the door ( a bit chilly whenever people came in and out ).
As the staff were so kind and food so good we will be going back and recommending friends too. Perhaps they could find a way to keep the ramp on site or in a nearby vehicle? This would help those with buggies too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jan_southworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATavolaSicilian, Owner at A Tavola, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Hi Jan_southworth,

Thank you for your review, we always appreciate it when our customers take the time to share their experiences here at A Tavola.

We are delighted to hear that you found our staff courteous and friendly, our décor and atmosphere great and most importantly the food and attention to detail superb with fresh fantastic flavours. We work very hard to ensure that all our guests receive the best service and authentic food every time they visit.

We can only apologise regarding the ramp access, it is usually kept in a vehicle outside but regrettably on this occasion it wasn't on site for us to use. Please do let us know next time you book with us and we will ensure that it is here for you.

Thanks also for your recommendations to friends as well, despite the issues you had it is very nice to know that you enjoyed the experience enough to visit us again and tell all of your friends about us too.

Hope to see you again very soon!

Regards,
A Tavola.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018

Small hidden restaurant in Reddish high quality food. Staff very welcoming although the place was very small a good atmosphere and felt quite authentic. Only one thing I would say our seating was not the most comfortable and although we were given cushions to sit on the bench was very narrow and kept slipping forward as did my husband that said we had a lovely time. Staff knowledgeable about the food and gave a little back ground information which all added to the evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lesleyjanepearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATavolaSicilian, Owner at A Tavola, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Hi lesleyjanepearson,

Thanks for your review, we always appreciate people taking the time to write about their visits to A Tavola.

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our high quality food, our chef ensures that all our food is authentically Sicilian and cooked to perfection. Our staff are always happy to go through the menu and explain all the dishes and ingredients.

We're sorry to hear that you found the seating uncomfortable despite the cushions. I hope you mentioned this to the staff as they would have happily rectified the situation for you.

We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Tavola also viewed

Marple, Stockport
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 

Been to A Tavola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing