We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$74
View deal
eDreams
Booking.com
US$74
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-05-21
Orbitz.com
Hotels.comUS$74
PricelineUS$74
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (659)
Filter reviews
659 results
Traveller rating
311
218
82
35
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
311
218
82
35
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews function room christmas party stepping hill good size excellent value plenty of parking would stay again stayed here for nights very pleasant stay plenty of hot water self service breakfast was excellent course meal tea and coffee short stay comfy bed cooked breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 659 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2020

Just returned from our 5th stay at Alma Lodge and we are never disappointed, the staff go out of their way to make sure your stay is a lovely experience.The rooms are spotless and very comfortable. On this occasion there was no cooked breakfast only continental but this is mentioned on their website when you book. All safety precautions were followed and lots of hand sanitizer around...Thankyou for looking after us once again and no doubt will be seeing you again soon.

Room tip: Rooms at back of Hotel are quieter as on a busy main road
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank K65XDsueh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jill tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2020

Dear Guest, Your kind remarks about the cleanliness of the bedrooms and our staff make us very proud.
It is through kind comments like yours that our team is constantly motivated to offer the best of care to each and every one of our guests.
Its always a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to the Alma Lodge Hotel.
Thank you very much for sharing your views. Kind regards Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2020 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights and it was a nice relaxing weekend,staff were very polite and helpful.The room was really clean,a little disappointed with breakfast (continental)but it is in most places now with this Covid.Would definitely book here again when I’m visiting family.Overall very happy with the price and service l received on my short stay.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank C2428XEdarrenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faye Farrlley, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and found the hotel clean and relaxing. With regards to breakfast, our offering is only limited because of the situation with Covid-19. Our offering normally includes a full English breakfast and we have always received lots of compliments for it. Perhaps when everything returns to normal we can welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Faye, Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2020

Very pleasant stay room spotless roomy and very comfortable staff professional and friendly will definitely stay here when we next visit family we had continental breakfast which was fine but hopefully when we stay next time we will be able to have cooked breakfast

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cvfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jill tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2020

Dear Guest
We really appreciate you taking the time to record your experience at the Alma Lodge Hotel, thank you for the 5 Stars, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for your business and please always request a refurbished room,
Kind regards Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2020

Sorry this review is a bit late, but I have had computer problems.

We have stayed at the Alma Lodge many times when flying out of Manchester Airport, so decided to spend Christmas 2019 at the hotel.

We already knew that the bar and restaurant would be closed at the end of festivities on Christmas Day, but this didn't matter as there are plenty of bars and eating places near by.

We arrived on the Monday before Christmas and as usual received a very warm welcome from the reception staff.

We were booked in for Christmas Eve Dinner and Christmas Day Lunch and of course we had breakfast each day til we left on the Saturday.

All the food was top class, but I will tell you about Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.

Christmas Eve Dinner was taken in the small dining room, a very intimate meal, very tasty, very good portions and exceptional service.

Christmas Day, where do I start, the atmosphere in the bar was electric and the festive feeling continued into the restaurant, the table was packed with goodies, the food was out of this world and the service worked like clockwork.

What a tremendous place, we have already booked for Christmas 2020 (Coronavirus permitting)

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kev012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jill tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2020

Dear Kevin
Thank you for the superb score and brilliant review regarding christmas 2019, being a family run business we strive hard to provide good customer service ensuring each & every customer feels welcome & cared for.
We are very pleased you experienced this first hand and will be returning this year for the festivities. Kind regards Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2020

We have stayed in this hotel for the last three weeks and cannot fault the service we have received especially in difficult circumstances.
The staff, managers and owner are very attentive and you get an excellent service from staff who are long standing loyal and genuinely care about the customers.
Rooms and service excellent and the restaurant food was also very good.
Well done to the Alma Lodge, great standards and service
Paul and gill

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank clarkey009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jill tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2020

Thank you for your 5 out of 5 review on your recent stay at the Alma Lodge
We sincerely appreciate your lovely comments and are delighted that everything was to your liking.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests over such a long period of time and we truly hope to welcome you back in the near future. We hope you and your family are all ok during these difficult times
Kind regards and best wishes Jill Tavini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews