We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Waterside Inn

Waterside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$663
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A 3* Michelin restaurant with rooms on the banks of the River Thames. Chef Patron is Alain Roux.
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Ate lunch here a few years ago and everything was perfect. It was a lovely Summers afternoon so we had a drink on the deck overlooking the river before eating. Lunch itself was excellent, the rabbit starter and angus beef in particular. It was a very relaxed afternoon and the service was amazing, at one stage I vaguely noticed this ghost hand from behind the pillar topping up my glass, it was that unobtrusive.
We actually had the tasting menu in the Fat Duck the same evening, and although they are completely different types of restaurants, we all agreed we preferred the Waterside, overall dishes were tastier.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ZittaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,108
    121
    70
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cowden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It's all been said, there just aren't enough superlatives”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I could rattle on for pages, just take it from me this is just everything I thought it would be and more. They dont hand out 3 Michelin stars often, once you've been here you know why. Thank you Alain, a magnificent evening !

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanMeekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing weekend away”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The Signature experience was good value for money, you get the tasting menu plus room which is exactlly what you need after being fed a truly scrumptious meal. The service was next to none and the sommelier's wine suggestion was bang on. The tasting menu gave you all the most indulgent ingredients you can think of ie foie gras,lobster and truffles ( they do not skimp on them either)...the meal was very rich indeed. My advice though is to make sure you ask for the price of the digestif being offered as drinks are not included in the signature experience, the first drink being offered can knock you back nearly £200 for a shot, alright if u appreciate good cognac but the price was not mentioneded until we asked for the price. All in all a really good experience and the little extras are nice.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FynRthngs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable lunch”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Food, wine and service all top-notch.
The dining room is a touch dated, but that's about the only negative.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nt80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voronezh, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A place with the reputation and worth 200% of it!”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I visited this restaurant in 2010 and it gave me an unbeatable sample of fine dining according to which I've been judging all other restaurants since then. Every dish I ordered turned out to be exquisitely cooked and delicately served to give both gustatory and visual pleasure. They have amazing choice of french wines and cheese and their specialists are there to help you, so don't hesitate to ask for their advice, they would give you exhaustive instructiones on which order to eat cheese and what kind of wine would go perfectly with each type. All in all, the service is top-class: imperceptible, so that your napkin would be always in place by some magic way, helpful and unpretentious when you are not sure you're experienced enough to make the right choice in the complexity of french menu :)

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariposa_1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterside Inn also viewed

Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
 
Old Windsor, Windsor
Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
 

Been to Waterside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing