We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (822)
Filter reviews
822 results
Traveller rating
426
223
92
55
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
223
92
55
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coppa club clock tower jar of sweets fresh milk family suite little touches coach house walk along the river car park riverside location main building rain shower lovely hotel view of the river bottled water great shower poached eggs
Filter
Updating list...
786 - 791 of 822 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Having read the previous reviews there's obviously no point discussing any issues directly with the manager. ( Is there one?)
I was a guest at the wedding on Easter Sunday and agree with the last reviewer that the doors should have been closed to lessen the impact of the disco noise. We went to bed about 1am when we thought it would be quiet. Room 10 was pleasant, with a four poster bed and view of the river through the trees. Unfortunately it was above the restaurant area and until 2am furniture was dragged across the floor with loud chatting and doors banging, with seemingly little regard to 'sleeping' guests.
The wedding buffet meal was delicious, nicely presented and served and the bar staff were also friendly and helpful. That made the following morning's experience such a disappointment.
We arrived for breakfast at 9.15am and waited over an hour for the Full Engish to arrive. When it finally did, most was inedible and obviously not freshly cooked. Apparently the chef was new and several guests had all come to breakfast at the same time! The receptionist was left to deal with complaints and deducted the cost of breakfast with no quibble or bad feeling.
When the bride and groom and the bride's parents arrived, they weren't greeted with Good Morning, Congratulations' or anything to make the occasion special. Instead, it was a curt 'Room number? Er, bridal suite?
A special occasion depends on the participants being made to feel special, whether it's a wedding, an anniversary dinner or even an impromptu meal in this lovely setting. If customer service is less than expected and management input so indifferent that guests feel let down, serious and intensive staff training would seem imperative and immediate. Waiting staff should not have to appear overwhelmed and cross, they should have the support and encouragement of their managers. And consideration for guests in keeping unavoidable noise to a minimum would enhancer a stay here.
A managerial response would be appreciated, however not anticipated.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewForester92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2011

After dining at this hotel on New Years Eve in 2001, which back then was excellent, we thought we would dine again for our 10th Wedding Anniversary....MISTAKE !!
We arrived at the hotel and after getting drinks at the bar , the barman advised us to wait on the garden terrace until a waiter would call us in. we waited and waited and waited !!......until we could wait no more and decided just to go into the Regatta restaurant, where the table had been ready all night !!.....My wife ordered a Bitter Lemon drink and the waiter got it completly wrong and brought a Tonic Water !.....the steaks we ordered were very small and like a Burnt offering !......The waiters were foreign and just didn't seem to care. when the waiter came out with the food for the next table to us, he told the guests " sorry its late, but it takes time to cook you know" !!!!........in 2001 there was a glass partition in the restaurant which made it quiet, but now they have taken that down to squeeze more diners in !!......so now it is quite noisy. There was a wedding going on just across the hallway in the next suite along, and unbelievably the staff left all the doors open including the doors to our restaurant so all the LOUD disco music was belting in !!.....the staff were asked to close the doors by some diners, but did not so the diners sitting close to the doors left quite early, in disgust !......just hope they've put a bad report on here too !....its just not the high quality hotel that it was in 2001, the waiters report to the receptionist to advise what the diners have had, so the receptionist can do a final bill.......seems like a big corporate factory !.....with no personal service !

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Whilst on a week-long boat trip at we took a night off from staying onboard due to the rain and moored-up outside the hotel on their own mooring.
From the spacious room with a large en suite, to the dinner in the hotel restaurant we enjoyed the whole experience so much so, that on our return journey we decided to treat ourselves to another night at The Great House – this time we checked in to a suite.
Split over two floors of an old farm building, the four rooms were small but full of character and had obviously had care taken over their presentation. The best aspect of the suite was the large bathtub – very easy to relax and let your mind drift away!
A really lovely little hotel, where the staff are friendly and helpful, and the food at both dinner and breakfast was top-notch.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdanBdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Wanted 3 nts away in peaceful location, not dissappointed! Had a lovely room (16) not luxury but comfortable and excellent for price paid. Had a lovely view of the Thames. Booked thru booking.com. Breakfast inc, price if paid seperately is £12.50 but what a breakfast! Portions huge and good choice.
Also had a lounge with 2 double settees and a full size tv in. Small bathroom but spotlessly clean.
Only problem was the room was above the kitchen so got kitchen noise in evening and noisy fan when we were in the lounge area. At 10pm the kitchen staff put a radio on and noise was very loud, we rang reception and they apologised and it went quiet instantly.
Complimentary newspapers, also bottled water each day not just on arrival.
Nearby Twyford great to get the train into London. Parking cheaper after 10am £3.70 for day up to midnight.
Drink prices expensive but same at all pubs nearby. Didn't eat evening meal there, quite pricey.
Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enjoy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and once again we were let down by poor customer service. The first time we stayed there were two wedding partys and the hotel guests seemed to take second place to them. When we tried to get a drink from the bar there was nobody allocated to serve us. This time we stayed we had gone to the theatre and returned to the hotel at approx 11.30pm only to find the front door locked and we rung the night bell a number of times but to no avail. We only eventually managed to get in because there were some guests in the bar who wanted to get out and they opened the fire exit door. I have e mailed the hotel with my complaint but tey have even had the decency to reply. The hotel is set in a beautiful location and you get the feeling that themanagement feel that this is enough.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chridrayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews