We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Monarch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monarch Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bridlington
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

A lovely welcome when I arrived. I had a standard single room for £25 for the night, which was very clean and with a big bathroom. Yes, the decor of the hotel is a bit dated, but for £25 a night with an excellent full breakfast. I'd definitely recommend this hotel. The bar stays open late, and all the staff I encountered were very friendly and welcoming. I was walking at Flamborough Head the next day, and they made me a packed lunch for just £3.95.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    73
    35
    18
    10
See reviews for
37
83
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Hull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Hotel perfect for us for The Spa where we were due to attend a Gala Evening directly across the road. Brilliant staff, specially when we came in after 1am and still had a great time in the bar thanks to Nick the barman. He looked after us superbly and had a lot to contend with really. Sorry Nick! Any chance of a Toastie?
Great room, parking limited but good. Room very clean and superb sea view. Good breakfast and not rushed to depart even though we were late checking out.
Definately recommend and would stay again. Great value for money. Thanks for a brilliant stay. Hope to see you all again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for room 39.Large and sunny. Fifth floor but not a problem as there is a lift. Bit of a trek dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

the room was big and clean, the location was very near to the town so not too far to walk, the staff were fairly friendly, the evening meal on the first night was very poor, just a piece of chicken with some kind of herb on it it was bland, we had trifle which was served in a sundae dish, it was runny and sloppy, it didnt improve through the week either. chicken was served twice, bangers and mash were on the menu, ive never been served bangers and mash on any coach holiday, the manager was friendly, but this is the only real positive thing i can say, i will visit bridlington again but the monarch i will not.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wendWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We enjoyed staying at this hotel. Friendly service, great food, clean and comfy rooms. Close to town and lovely beach. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vancouver111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I stayed at the monarch for five days with my partner and four friends,the hotel is excellent.it is one of the cleanest places i have ever stayed,the staff were most helpful,nothing was too much trouble for any of them,one of our party is lactose intollerent and the manager went out especially to get lacto free milk for him and explained the menu every day so that our friend knew what he could have for dinner.the food was fab, good quality and plenty of it.lovley cooked breakfast in the morning and a four course dinner in the evening,great menu lots to choose from.entertainment was good.ten out of ten for the monarch,see you soon i hope.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cazcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We booked through Grand UK Holidays and stayed two nights. One room was a single room, with no single supplement to pay. Great food with lots of choices. Clean with always hot water in the bathroom. Only thing was it needs background muisc in the bar. But would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KatyGDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Like staying in a OAP's care home. Food awful smelt like a care home at meal time walked straight out and went Mc Donalds up the road it smelt that bad.

Breakfast cheap but edibly barely.

Rooms old decor but comfy apart from the tiny portable tv with snowy picture and the constant noise of the lift.

Very friendly and helpful staff but would'nt stay again

Room Tip: their isn't any
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank its_me17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
1.9 km away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
554 reviews
0.2 km away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 118 in Bridlington
396 reviews
0.1 km away
Spa View Guest House
Spa View Guest House
#53 of 118 in Bridlington
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Oakwell Guest House
Oakwell Guest House
#16 of 118 in Bridlington
222 reviews
3.6 km away
Manor Court Hotel
Manor Court Hotel
#23 of 118 in Bridlington
212 reviews
4.2 km away
Marton Grange Country House
Marton Grange Country House
#3 of 118 in Bridlington
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Hotel

Property: Monarch Hotel
Address: 28 South Marine Drive, Bridlington YO15 3BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Monarch Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Hotel Bridlington, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing