We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
141
5
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
5
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade biscuits home grown steeped in history other guests fruit and veg viewing platform stunning gardens gooseberries grown food sat nav off the beaten track log burner welcoming hosts on arrival pudding local produce peaceful location
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 147 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2018

This B&B is steeped in history and upon arrival you can expect an interesting tour of the house and gardens. Both Chris and Sally are superb hosts and nothing is too much trouble. We stayed in Hardy's room which although the smallest of all rooms on offer, it is perfectly adequate.
Breakfast is a real treat and I just loved the local trout and free range eggs. A whole range of refreshments is available in the room and Sally's homemade shortbread is wonderful.
The house is not far from St Juliot church and a couple of miles outside of Boscastle. It is a rural setting that offers superb peace and tranquility - enjoy a tea or coffee in over 3 acres of garden. Both Sally and Chris made us feel part of their home and were on hand (without being intrusive) to offer advice and guidance on what to do and where to go if required. A whole range of maps and guide books are made available for your use during your stay. Suffice to say, we really were quite sad to leave after a wonderful week exploring the North West Coast of Cornwall. Thank you Chris and Sally.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but Hardy's is the smallest (cosy rather than small)
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Les G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2018

We stayed here for 3 nights last month while we were hiking bits of the South West Coast Path. The Old Rectory was our one luxury during our trip and every moment was completely worth it. Sally made us feel so very welcome -- and we loved the privacy we had staying in the little studio with the separate entrance. The Old Rectory is decorated with love and care -- and is also very welcoming if you want to put your feet up. One evening we stretched out on the sofas in the living room and read for an hour or so and felt right at home. Sally let us wander the gardens by ourselves and we had a great time meeting the resident chickens and ducks and being quite impressed by the vegetable gardens. What a wonderful time we had!

Room Tip: We loved having the little bit of extra room by staying in the little apartment on the side.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikrgirl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

We are four couples( friends since 1963) on our annual holiday. Walking together for 22 years, we have stayed all over the uk in all sorts of B and Bs . No where has ever been as fabulous as The Old Rectory. On arrival, after long journeys , we all had tea and biscuits on the terrace in warm sunshine. Heaven. 2 well behaved retrievers and Sally joined us,( and briefly her very new grand daughter,) with all the information on everything local. Everything that has been said before by others, we agree with and we imagine nothing much changes here. The same welcome, and immediate feeling feeling of home from home. We thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Liz090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2018

A wonderfully peaceful location in lovely grounds. Sally is a wonderful host and made us feel very welcome. Tea and homemade shortbread on arrival was very welcome.
Alfie,our dog, loved the garden and it was brilliant to have somewhere for last thing at night and early morning.
The breakfasts were delicious and meant we didn't need much to eat till dinner in the evening.
Thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gnj29653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2018 via mobile

Just want to thank Sally and Chris for a lovely few days away - our Christmas present to each other. And a very good present it was as well. Lovely friendly atmosphere in brilliant surroundings and a very interesting history involving Thomas Hardy and fighter pilots. All that and beautiful countryside. Alfie our dog loved it. Thanks again

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews