We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveller rating
330
166
44
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
166
44
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews turret room bar food mussels folk songs no lift booked a table great meal single room staff were so friendly open fire lovely hotel beer garden lovely food pudding visiting boscastle short break old building
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 566 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2018

A nice pub indeed. Recovered well from the floods and deserves to be a success.
Good food well-prepared! Carol and her helpful staff know their jobs well. Certainy worth a visit if needing sustenance. AND alcohol!! Rooms clean, tidy and spacious as well as quiet.

Had a lovely meal on Tuesday night (our 25th wed anniv), Will go back for sure. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

We visited this lovely looking hotel for a holiday lunch as we were by the sea we thought we’d order haddock & Chips what a bitter disappointment it looked delicious when it arrived but we soon both found that the batter had not only a strange taste but the batter wasn’t cooked on the inside no one came to check our meal was ok even though they were very quiet for a lunchtime we both removed all the batter and just ate the fish which could have been cooked more when the waitress came to collect our plates we told her of our disappointment she promised to tell the chef she returned a few minutes later and apologised and said both our meals would be taken off the bill we found this a very generous gesture but would rather have had an enjoyable meal possibly we were just very unlucky but we don’t feel inclined to return

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lindasargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan S, Owner at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I am very sorry that your meal was not to the level that you or we expect. I have discussed this with both the kitchen staff and the front of house team to make sure there is no repeat. If we had carried out our usual check with you and realised your dissatisfaction, we would of course have been able to rectify the position immediately rather than at the end of your meal. Hopefully, you can see from other reviews that we aim for a high standard with our food at all times. We would therefore very much like you to return to experience this for yourselves. Once again, many apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

We booked the 2 bedroom apartment which was immaculate and full of old mill charm, which was a great surprise considering we had 3 dogs with us! It's a perfect location just a minutes walk to the harbour in boscastle which thankfully still resembles an old Cornish fishing village and not covered in Champagne Oyster bars! The staff were super friendly, the restaurants superb and it was all a very reasonable price. Would highly recommend for a Cornish base, especially if you are bringing your dogs!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TTandDarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2018

We were only in Boscastle for four days but had two evening meals in the Wellington's dining room. I usually prefer not to eat in hotel dining rooms but the service and food here was exceptional. I highly recommend that you treat yourself to such a delicious and friendly experience.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank tuxedocat907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018

We chose the Wellington for a slightly late lunch as the Cobweb had stopped serving food at 2.20. There was a super terrace and chose to eat outside as it was a sunny afternoon. The pub inside looked a bit dark and dingy. My partner chose the BLT, which was very tasty and generous. I was very disappointed with my choice of crab sandwich, something I was looking forward to whilst I was in Cornwall. There was hardly any crab, thinned down with half a gallon of mayo and very over seasoned. You need to send your chef down to The Slipway in Port Isaac for some inspiration on how to make a crab sandwich. I was truly wowed by that.

Room Tip: Only ate at this hotel, did not stay over
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zfinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews