We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
3
5
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
5
1
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 12 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2017

I was booked in for Primrose Cottage to find on arrival we were moved to Brambles cottage due to maintainence. I then saw people in Primrose that night.This was not a 4* property and not good value for price paid.
Washing m/c was needing replaced tumble dryer not working, no hot water unless you put c/h on, bathroom tiles cracked and shower unit was mouldy and creaking floors on the upper level so creeping about at nighttime.
The only way you could get free wifi was by going to the pub on site.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie R, General Manager at Juliots Well Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Dear Mr S

Thank you for your feedback although we are obviously disappointed to read your comments. In order to respond to each in turn I list our replies below:

1. I can assure you Juliots Well are graded annually by Quality in Tourism and we have been awarded 4 stars.

2. As our letter to you on arrival explained, we had a maintenance issue earlier in the week in Primrose and we had to relocate guests to Bramble Cottage (since the spare boiler part could not be obtained that day). We take bookings with any day arrivals and we have been very busy this season meaning that such a move has a knock on effect with future bookings also needing to be switched between the two cottages until there is either a gap in bookings or until the changeover days are the same in both cottages. This explains why clients were in Primrose on the evening of your arrival. We apologise for any inconvenience but unfortunately maintenance issues can sometimes arise which necessitate cottage moves. All our 5 cottages are to the same standard.

3. We have noted the problems with the washer dryer and a replacement is awaiting delivery. We apologise for any inconvenience and we would have offered to dry your washing if you had made us aware the dryer function was not working during your stay.

4. You spoke to me during your stay to report the hot water not coming through unless the central heating was on. You'll be aware that I immediately arranged for our maintenance man to call around and he tried to repeat the issue but could not. Hot water came through whether the central heating was off or on. This I explained to you over the phone and I asked if it happened again to let us know. After you checked out we made our cleaners aware of a possible problem in case it happened while they were there but it did not. Subsequent to this, another guest reported the same issue as yourself and we called an emergency heating engineer who traced the intermittent fault. It is now fixed and we apologise for any inconvenience caused. It's always very difficult to pinpoint intermittent faults.

5. Regarding the bathroom, we are aware there are a couple of cracked tiles in Bramble Cottage. The bathrooms are due to be refurbished this winter and it is unfortunately not possible to source the original tiles as a temporary replacement. We refute that the shower unit was mouldy. Our cleaners have high standards and we are often complimented on the cleanliness of the cottages.

6. Thank you for making us aware of creaking floor boards. This will be addressed when the cottage is empty and we are able to lift the carpets.

7. We do not advertise wifi as being free. Wifi is available but at a small charge payable directly to the holiday park's wifi provider, WifiSparks. However, this winter we do plan to install free wifi. I am sorry free wifi was not available during your stay unless you used it when inside the on site pub.

Lastly you state that the cottage was not good value for the price paid. This is interesting as we note that you paid the equivalent of £11.75 per person per night for the cottage, a price which we believe to be very good value for money.

Yours sincerely
Tracy Kirton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2017

We went to this cottage for 3 nights in June and found the cottage was really nice with all the facilities required in it.
The strange thing was the camp site, the pub was run separately from it and the camp site was really quite. it was great for a quite few days away and close to other places to visit.
The pub on site wasn't open all day it only opened at 3pm.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarknTrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2017 via mobile

We had a short weekend away for Mother's Day. The house had everything you would ever want.

We would highly recommend these holiday homes.

Only half an hour from Padstow.

The house was very warm and cosy. (Home from home).

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank MWR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyStAgnes, Owner at Juliots Well Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

Thank you so much for your 5 star review. We are pleased everything was to your satisfaction and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2016

We stayed in one of these lovely cottages in August for a few days. The cottage was very clean and well equipped. The outdoor swimming pool and small play area entertained our 2 small children well and the cottage was well located with easy access to lots of exciting local attractions. A lovely stay and we hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmilward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2016

We stayed at Juliots Well cottage with 4 adults over the Easter holidays , visiting family in the area.
Comfortable and cozy cottage well equipped with all you need.
1 double bed and 2 twin beds , small garden out the back with a bench table.

Stayed: April 2016
1  Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews