We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“what a lovely place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Jacksons Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Beautiful views of Roughtor
A romantic sunset from Trebarwith Strand
The dramatic coastline in Tintagel
The unspoiled beach in Bossiney
The mystic St. Nectans Glen
Boscastle harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Camelford, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
jenny l
london
1 review
“what a lovely place to stay”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

great place on the edge of unpretentious Camelford to the north of Bodmin Moor with good walks on the moor just a stone's throw away. Easy to drive a short distance to the coast (Tintagel, Port Issac etc). Was great to find such a place to stay with a friend and 2 small dogs, with my partner being able to come and stay for some of the time within the week. Good farm shop near by, quirky couple of pubs in the town all in all a perfect place for a quiet visit to Cornwall while being near enough to the tourist attractions. Will definitely recommend and return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: combination of functionality and style
Liked least: not applicable - there was nothing I didn't like
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert l
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“A really good cottage.”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We expected to have a really good holiday through talking to Baz in booking the Barn. We arrived Saturday 10/08/13, We had a welcoming pack waiting for us. The Barn itself is well laid out and spotless, we could not complain about anything. Both Baz and Paola have worked very hard in rebuilding this Barn, and oh what a good job they've done. I would recommend this Barn to anyone who wants a quiet holiday, and would also recommend Paola's cooking, we had Lasagne and Ciabatta (Bellissimo). We have a country cottage holiday every year, but this year we have been spoilt. You can be sure that we will soon be back again.
Bob & Sandra

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Going Home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandra j
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect people, perfect location, perfect accomodation.”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We spent a week at Old Jacksons Barn, the kids (11 & 15) loved it, pure luxury after camping for the last few years, Wi-Fi to, so I-pods and x-box were available!!!
The area was fantastic, with great places like Boscastle, Tintagel, Port Isaac and even Plymouth not too far away.
Baz and Paulo were fantastic hosts, and have made a fantastic barn conversion, we wish them all the best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location to local places of interest.
Liked least: Washing-up!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matt b
london
2 reviews
“a home from home with amazing views!!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Amazing welcome received from the owners sincere and so helpful, old Jackson’s barn has everything that we could have wished for a week away, it really does feel like a home from home, great location, easy to get to any of the fantastic north Cornwall coast. The kids had a great time and didn’t stop smiling from the moment they woke to the moment their head hit the pillows.
The barn is well thought out and well furnished (none of the usual holiday rental furniture) the kitchen has all the things that you could need and the beds are so comfortable. If there’s one thing that I could change is the amount of time that we booked for 1 week just wasn’t enough!!! Can’t wait to rebook for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocketdog...
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful 10 days in Cornwall”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We have just returned from 10 days in Cornwall. We normally visit St Ives but decided on a change this year. We found Old Jacksons Barn in Camelford on the internet and decided it suited our needs, they also accepted dogs ( just because you have a pet it does not mean you wish to stop in substandard accomodation with mismatched furniture).

On our arrival we were met by Baz and Paola the owners who were very nice. They showed us round the accommodation which was excellent, they have spend the last few years converting the barn themselves and have made a wonderful job, it was a real home from home with everything you could need to have a really enjoyable holiday and the must have wifi for those that can not be parted from the internet. Paola is from Italy and left us with a Cornish hamper of local produce and some home made chocolates ( these did not last very long). It you don't want to cook you can order home cooked Italian meals that Paola prepares herself. I would suggest you order and have something waiting for you on arrival.

Camelford is a small village with plenty of local amenities. There are two pubs if you wish to venture, Fish & Chip shop which is excellent. It is also within easy distance to many coastal towns and villages. We visited all of these during our stay - the walk from Trebarwith Strand to Tintagel was well worth it once you get up the first hill.

We would like to wish Baz and Paola huge success in their venture,Old Jacksons Barn is a little gem and if you are thinking of visiting Cornwall I would highly recommend this as the place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul K
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
Thank you Paul, hope you will stay with us again.
Kindest Regards
Baz and Paola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing