We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super hideaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Barn Owl Cottage

Plenty of room to park
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Plenty of room to park
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Plenty of room to park
Family bathroom with shower over the bathtub
Private garden and picnic table for the cottage
Table tennis table/games room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Helston, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Edsix
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Super hideaway ”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Had a super week here with wife and dog. Owners couldn't be more helpful or nicer folk. Quiet location up a single track road but not far from a nice pub or the town of Helston and Porthleven.

Accommodation has everything you'll need and is set in large grounds with gardens and field. Great for kids and dogs to run around.

Great base for exploring Lizard Peninsula and points west to Lands End.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasa144
Slovenia
1 review
“This is the place to stay when in Cornwall”
Reviewed July 18, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We travelled a really long way to come to Cornwall and staying here was worth every mile. We come from Slovenia and are used to beautiful places :) but we definitely like it and recommend the place to everyone.
Acommodation offers more than you expect (wi-fi that our teenagers desparately needed worked perfectly), beautiful house, gardens, surroundings. The property is situated in the very vicinty of the places of interest. The hosts are the most welcoming and helpful. They know the region well and can suggest you where to go and what to do.
We will absolutely consider coming back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Countryside, accomodation, hosts
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona S
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We spent an amazing 12 days here. We were so comfortable and had everything we needed. We loved the touches of scones, jam and cream there on arrival and the flowers. The cottage was cosy and had a wonderful little garden where we sometimes had breakfast, and the extended garden was fantastic for our dog to explore. Patrick and Tracy were lovely and Patrick made great suggestions on places to visit. Eddie, our dog, is going to miss Alfie and Freddy and maybe even one if the cats. The cottage had a list of dog friendly beaches as we as lists of places to see. If you are taking a dog Cornwall seems to be the most dog friendly county we have ever seen. Thoroughly recommend this cottage and we hope to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurdy62
Worcester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm, friendly and very accommodating!”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

Stayed at Barn Owl Cottage for a week in October half term. We were greeted by the owner and wonderful home made scones, jam and clotted cream! We were showed around and made to feel very welcome with our teenagers even being offered the use of the ower's wifi - which cheered them up! The property is very well equipped, clean and cosy with everything you need for a comfortable relaxing stay. The properties are ideally placed to exploring the Lizard and farther afield if you wish. We visited Mullion, Cadgwith, Portleven and ventured down to St Ives, Sennen Cove and Lands End, There are no end of placed to visit in this area. The owners are very well informed and able to give advice on places to visits and walks that you might not otherwise find! I would not hesitate to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm, cosy and very welcomming
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC4317
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Stay at Barn Owl Cottage”
Reviewed February 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2014

Our family of four (children aged 6 and 3) enjoyed a weeks stay at Barn Owl Cottage. On arrival we received a warm welcome from the owners who did their upmost to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. They also The cottage had two great sized bedrooms and a kitchen/living/dining area. The cottage was a great base for exploring the area and the beaches are fantastic.
The cottage has lots of space for the children to play and explore and very private too. The owners have a badminton net/swing set and swing ball that the cottage occupants can use which was great.
All in all a fantastic stay - we would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing