We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Cottage with lovely grounds”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallows Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Master bedroom with king-size bed
Twin bedroom
Family bathroom with shower over the bathtub
Table tennis table/games room
Badminton court and swingball
Private garden/patio area
communal football pitch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Helston, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Martin L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Cottage with lovely grounds”
Reviewed August 12, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

This is the fourth time we have stayed at Swallow Cottage, we had a fantastic stay again lovely arrival touch in cottage of fresh scones, clotted cream and jam along with flowers. Patrick and Tracey are lovely owners, and were really great with our two daughters taking them to see their chickens, and the dogs Alfie and Herbie and Nev the cat which made our daughters holiday as they love animals. Swallow Cottage is in a great location, not far from atrractions like Flambards, Porthleven, Pendennis Castle, St Michaels Mount, Newquay etc. The cottage has a homely feel with a lovely bright interior and furnishings along with simple touches showing the local area, look forward to returning to the cottage again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithlea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed July 11, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Communication in response to all queries before arrival informative and quick. Owners went out of their way to ensure cottage was available for us to check in 4 hours early which was great after a 7hr drive with two young children. Thoughtful delicious scones, and jam and clotted cream on arrival as well as some milk. Cottage had everything we needed for a self catering stay. Gardens beautiful with so much safe space. Our three year old really enjoyed playing football and riding his bike. Badminton net also there to use. No need to bring your own sports equipment as it's available there to borrow. They even had children's toys there to use. Owners very nice in lending us their national trust membership cards for our days out. Excellent location close by to St Michael's Mount, Penzance, lizard point, kynance cove, flambards, praa sands etc. Would have loved to have stayed longer. If visiting that area again would love to come back and stay. Lovely to have holiday let owners so passionate and caring about their holiday let business. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola300...
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage with lots of outside space for the kids to play.”
Reviewed June 1, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Lovely rural location but within easy drive of numerous beaches and attractions. Our kids loved being able to play football in the garden. The owners were very welcoming and shared lots of suggestions for places to visit locally. We’d happily return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidrbat...
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Swallows Cottage”
Reviewed May 7, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Beautiful cottage in a lovely peaceful setting
Patrick and Tracey were the perfect hosts
Will return one day

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisesar...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great winter escape!”
Reviewed March 18, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great winter break in Swallow cottage. The peaceful setting was just what we wanted for our relaxing week away. The cottage was lovely and clean with a spacious lounge/kitchen diner. On arrival we had homemade scones and clotted cream waiting for us along with fresh eggs from the friendly hen. The hosts Tracey and Patrick were kind enough to help out with some sight seeing top tips and were very friendly throughout our stay. This is a great place to stay as it is within a 30 minute drive from most of the major attractions within the area....such as Lizard point, Minack Theatre and Land End. Would highly recommend a visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clowne22
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, great little cottage”
Reviewed September 16, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Great location within easy reach of major attractions. The cottage is set in great grounds, situated up a small lane away from all roads. Excellent get away from it all. Really good activities for kids if you have them.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleanor B
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed June 20, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

What a wonderful stay we had. We travelled down with our 2 children, 4 and 2. Upon arrival Patrick the barn owner was very hospitable, offering advice on places to visit whilst in Cornwall. The cottage came equipt with all mod cons and our hosts had left a handy information sheet listing places of interest etc. The cottage itself has a spacious feel due to the vaulted ceiling and extensive outdoor space. Our boys loved adventuring in the garden, playing hide and seek and football, not to mention the swing set.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Swallows Cottage and do hope to stay again in the future. It's perfectly situated for exploring Cornwall and we discovered some wonderful places.

Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing