We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location”
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Scarlet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Just returned from a lovely romantic, relaxing break here.
Very many reasons to recommend this hotel: stunning location near a beautiful bay, beautifully designed and finished, lovely spa especially the cliff top hot tubs, good wine list, very good food especially breakfast which changes daily, friendly service, adults only. It really feels like a luxurious escape.

The only criticism I would make is the service could be sharpened up a bit: long waits for room service sometimes, and the kitchen had run out of several ingredients in the 'special of the day' salad it was marketing. Housekeeping was also a bit sloppy: toiletries not replenished and floor not swept for our entire four night stay.

However overall I would recommend this hotel and would return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abidavis86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Scarlet here on Tripadvisor. I was sorry to hear that we let you down in a few areas, certainly not our usual standard and I would like to reassure you that we take all feedback back to our teams to ensure any similar mistakes can be avoided in the future.

I do hope you will return.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,188
    226
    72
    17
    14
See reviews for
71
1,203
39
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Perfect. Just got back from a weekend stay and we cannot think of a single improvement they could make. The staff are all very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The food is amazing and changes daily. The spa is so relaxing and well worth booking a treatment. We stayed in the 'just right' room and it really is just that, perfect for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for this lovely review and score. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. I do hope we will see you again soon.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford on Avon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I do not usually like modern hotels. Why do I love the Scarlet? It is so,so, stylish,yet timeless.They have rediscovered old fashioned Hospitality. The attention to detail is amazing. They serve Tregothnan Tea from the UK's only tea plantation. The salt dishes were made by the Manager, Nikki, because she could not find anything suitable. The food, the bedrooms, the pool, the views, the walks. Just go there. You wont be disappointed. Trust me!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manager_Moonraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for posting this wonderful reccommendation of the Hotel and my salt pots! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in our modern hotel. I do hope you visit again.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, Devon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Scarlet Hotel for a two night break. It was a wonderful romantic retreat that I'd recommend for anyone who can afford it :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merc_girl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this brief but poitive review of our Hotel.

I hope you choose us the next time you feel in need of a little Romance.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The service at the hotel is second to none. From the welcome at the open plan reception through to the service in the spa, bar & restaurant we could not have asked and experienced an better. Our room had the most fantastic sea view over looking the beach. It was an amazing experience to wake up in the morning and watching and hearing the waves break onto the beach. Our dinner's were excellent and the breakfasts equally superb. Yes, the hotel is not cheap but its worth ever penny if you want to relax, have world class service and exceptional food. We will return

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am so pleased to hear the hotel had the desired effect for you.

I do hope you will choose to slow down and relax with us again soon.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

we came here to unwind and relax for a long weekend, and it was purely amazing from the warm welcome, friendliness of staff in general, luxurious rooms, and amenities (spa definitely recommendable). The food was also lovely although we only had dinner in the restaurant once as also tried Jamie's fifteen, only being 5 car minutes away. Nice breakfast every morning with so many nice little touches. Even the weather was gorgeous so we could go for long beach/ coastal walks. Will definitely be back for more relaxation hopefully in the summer when we are able to use the outdoor chairs/ sunbeds.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 33 (had little patio) with direct access to garden/ beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am so glad you enjoyed your romantic break with us. I do hope we see you again soon.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

i have been to this hotel a few times with my husband, and still cannot find fault with it. the food is always amazing and inspiring, the service is friendly and relaxed (a difficult combination to get right), and the rooms are luxurious and just as they should be for the price. there's nothing like sleeping to the sound of waves crashing. beautiful location, even on a grey cold day!

a real treat for special occasions or when you really feel the need to unwind, relax and pamper yourself.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.2 km away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
7.1 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
8.2 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.9 km away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
35.7 km away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
34.4 km away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Property: The Scarlet Hotel
Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Cornwall/Mawgan Porth, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing