We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Thee most amazing hotel EVER!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Scarlet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Thee most amazing hotel EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

My fiancé and I have just returned from a truly STUNNING 3 day stay. Words truly fail me to really explain just how brilliant it was!

First impressions of the hotel blow you away even as you enter the reception which it's floor to ceiling windows overlooking the beach...the decor and calmness of the place instantly hits you! The staff are fabulous and will go out of thier way to ensure you are really looked after, the tall blonde chap was very helpful bringing us coffee each morning and generally being a very happy chappy!

We stayed in room 6 which is the Indulgent Suite....indulgent is exactly what it is!!! Luxury beyond luxury! With its open plan bath in the middle of the room, to the open shower overlooking the beach..definetley not a hotel you would stay in with someone you aren't close to..!! But why would you, as this place just oozes romance and freedom!

The facilities are beautiful, the pool and relaxation room are beautiful and the spa really did meet very high expectations! I had a hot stone poulstice massage with Katerina which was top notch!

Difinetley recommend the seaweed hot tub experience at sunset....

All in all, a really really luxurious, relaxed, place to spoil yourselves in and waste the days in beautiful surroundings.

We WILL be back!

Laura and Rob

(also, dont forget to ask to take the resident hotel dog, Jasper, for walkies! My god can that little thing run!!!)

Room Tip: Room 6 was heaven!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveroftheSunLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such fabulous review and its really good to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and you paint a lovely picture of your favourite moments – we all look forward to having you back to stay soon – David (tall blonde chap) and Katerina were very pleased to read your comments too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,155
    217
    71
    17
    12
See reviews for
68
1,164
39
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

This hotel is faultless in every way. An Eco type hotel but it is far superior to many top flight hotels ive stayed in. The room we stayed in was Eden ( lying writing this in our own personal snug with a view of the sea) and indeed it felt like it...from the sublime toiletries to the fantastically comfortable bed I really loved this place. Be sure to experience the cupshaped hot tub outside...bliss. staff were really friendly and casual making us feel relaxed from the minute wwe arrived. The location is stunning is quiet. Luckily families with kids go to the sister hotel up the road so the environment is scream free. There is absolutely nothing that can be improved on in this hotel..nothing!! My only complaint was that it wasn't long enough but we will be back.

Room Tip: Eden...one of the individually designed rooms with its own upstairs chill out area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittyirvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
So glad you had such an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for sharing your lovely sounding holiday moments with an amazing review – we look forward to seeing you again when you return, hopefully for longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

A beautiful location without doubt. A very attractive and modern hotel, however the interior designers clearly controlled the owners when it came to room design. We weren't sure whether the bed was located in the bathroom or the bath (at the end of the bed) and shower were in the bedroom. Unfortunately or fortunately not all of us were brought up in a happy clappy world of non privacy when it comes to showering or using the bath, so if with a new or old partner be aware! Parking is lacking and although there's probably a space for every car, it's like a jigsaw to get them in, so expect a regular call to move your car. A lovely indoor pool and overall a relaxing if slightly overpopulated hotel. We're not returning though - my wife pulled a black hair 14" long from her jam at breakfast. The waitress apologised, but frankly in a hotel of this advertised standard, such an incident should never occur. Talking of jam and marmalade at breakfast, the kitchen was obviously always under stocked as only a tiny amount was served each morning. We move onto something better in Yountville, California next month and are hoping for a non stomach turning review on our return!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MWLANDSVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
I was horrified to read this review of your recent stay with us. I totally agree that the incident at breakfast should never occur and am sorry we were not able to make amends for this whilst you were here. We collect car keys from guests on arrival and have valet parking insurance to move their cars so guests should not be disturbed at all. Whilst there were aspects of the design of the hotel that were not to your liking, if you do feel a conversation with me may be helpful please email nikki.broom@scarlethotel.co.uk to arrange a convenient time to talk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

It's quite a trick to get this close to perfect but we think the Scarlet have pulled it off. From the friendly staff to the excellent facilities and breathtaking views it's a lovely place to spend a few days. And the food is really top notch - a creative blend of fresh local produce and a well judged wine list make for excellent meals.

We spent a fair amount of time in the spa areas - the indoor and outdoor pool are both fab and the relaxation room with full sea views and comfy chairs is a great touch.

A great place to stay and overall really good value. Our new favourite english hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for the ‘close to perfect’ review! Really lovely to hear how much you enjoyed The Scarlet, especially your enjoyment of the spa pools and the food. Really look forward to welcoming you back in the future for more!

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

We visited the Scarlet spa on a day pakage which included use of facilities, two course lunch, seaweed hot tub and rassoul treatment for two for £75 each. We arrived at 10am and didnt leave till 5pm and felt we had a good relaxing day. The treatments were great, the food good, service friendly. Only down sides were that relaxing area could be noisy with through traffic - staff carrying trays of drinks through etc and there was a mix up with our bill at the end - which wasn't the most relaxing end to the day!
That said I would definitley go again, for a day. A great way to spend time with a partner or friend

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Popocatepetl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
It was good to read that you had a such a good time on the spa day package its good to get away and escape for a day! Hopefully we will be able to see you around the spa and lunching with us again in the future.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed for two nights in early May in a ‘spacious’ room on the top floor which had absolutely stunning views of Mawgan Porth beach and the sea. The room was fitted out to a very high quality – we loved the open plan feel to the room. It was wonderful to draw back the glass doors to the balcony and since we were lucky to have excellent weather, we spent some time sitting in the sun on the balcony relaxing and taking in the views. You can order complimentary tea and coffee to the room which is a nice touch. O2 just worked on the top floor. Wifi was good in the room but didn’t work in the restaurant. The food was excellent, although perhaps not quite exceptional as we were expecting (very small portions for our starters and steak a little tough). Staff very attentive throughout. We booked the outdoor hot tub one afternoon which was a unique experience (including a dip in the reed pool afterwards!). The situation of the hotel, the décor and the overall experience made it a truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moretona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and so glad you had such a good stay with us, it sounds like you some good sunshine on your balcony! And you are to be comended for taking a swim in the outdoor pool, you must have been one of the first this year! We look forward to seeing you again and hopefully adding some more good memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Best first - the location is an absolut stunner. They build the hotel in a way that you only sea the beach and the sea and do not sea anything of Mawgan Porth. There is a direct access to the beach from the hotel.
The breakfast is very nice as you order from the menue and they slighlty change it from day to day.

Unfortunately this is where it ends to be a top hotel which is asking for top prices. The room is very small and actually you do not want to stay here for anything else than sleeping. The much criticised construction of the washroom is really annoying as you hear every single human sound.
The room cleaning is rather adding dirt than removing it.
Why on earth somebody comes up with the idea of having a hotel without a reception - I do not get it. Whereas I have to admit they are quick to welcome you. But once you have been shown around your welcome host magically disappears and will never show up again, even if you asked for some extras.
The spa, pool, relaxing area is a bit small for the size of the hotel. More than two people can not be in the pool at the same time. For the time we have been there nobody came to collect empty bottles that have been left by some guests. Being in the relaxing area you hear every single step from the restaurant above as it seems they are missing an extra layer insulation.
Parking is limited and requieres quiet some acrobatic skills to enter or exit your car depending on the spot you park on.
Wifi is free, but does not work everywhere and even in the room it is rather slow. As mentioned by fellow commentators there is no mobile coverage and none means absolutely none.
Last but not least I wonder why you pay top rates and in then end you have to pay for your daily neswpaper, too. Nobody told us before and at check out it has been quietly added to the bill. It is not about the amount payable it is about the gesture and the general lack of service awareness. It is a good example for what they is lacking.
Would I recommend the hotel, rather not, the location and views are fantastic, no question about it, but it comes with a hefty price tag and therefore the overall service is too low. Value for money is very, very low.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Rouwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of the Scarlet. My team and I appreciate all feedback and will use yours to investigate what went wrong in terms of service, as the standards you experienced were not the norm. Clearly there were some aspects of our design & build that didn’t suit you and I am sorry that this is likely to mean that you will not be staying with us again. However if you do feel a conversation with me may be helpful please email nikki.broom@scarlethotel.co.uk to arrange a convenient time to talk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.2 km away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
8.3 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
7.1 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.9 km away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
35.6 km away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
34.4 km away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#2 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Property: The Scarlet Hotel
Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Cornwall/Mawgan Porth, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing