We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way”
Review of Seavista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seavista
Ranked #1 of 7 Mawgan Porth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We were looking for somewhere to stay near Newquay airport for a few days before flying to the Scilly Isles. A friend recommended a well known hotel but we wanted something smaller and more personal. From the moment we arrived we knew we had made the correct decision.
The views are stunning, the breakfasts were excellent and Kate and the rest of her team could not have been more helpful.
If you are looking for somewhere to stay in the Mawgan Porth area - don't bother looking elsewhere!

Room Tip: Choose one with a sea view - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BertandJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate P, Owner at Seavista, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2016

Thank you so much for your wonderfully kind review we are so glad you stayed with us as it was so lovely meeting you both - thank you so much for the photography tips! I have already posted a few on Facebook to a great response ;-) Hope the Scilly Isles are amazing for you both! Really hope to see you both again soon
Love Kate
x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

It took us a long time to find a b&b in Cornwall that was not too expensive but also one that ticked all the boxes. Initially it was a toss up between about 5 different b&bs in different areas of Cornwall.I just kept going back to Seavista. Even when I thought I chose a good hotel in Newquay,I kept thinking about Seavista and the good reviews.I do not think I have ever seen so many excellent reviews... all those people can't be wrong and the beautiful pictures enticed me even more. The pictures of the decor and the clean,b&b. Comments about Kate and how welcoming she is and deep down I knew we would be stupid not to book Seavista,so I immediately cancelled the other hotel in Newquay& booked Seavista.
I didn't feel a bit nervous about staying there like I normally do with hotels. I knew it would be perfect.
Soon after booking we received a few emails off Kate....which was reassuring and very kind. She asked if there was any special dietry needs etc...
We explained we would arrive not at 4pm but at about 12 ish and she was surprisingly ok with us being so early....even though it was many hours earlier than the check in time, this was so so kind.
We had free parking and was shown to our room by a friendly young lady who explained everything to us about time of breakfast and about the WiFi etc. WiFi was free.
Adored the view from the room... it over-looked glorious views of the farms and fields.Amazing. ..esp because I am from a town which is quite loud with all the cars going past, so it was such a refreshing change hearing nothing but the odd cow mooing in the farm land....I adored this!!
While eating breakfast....we could see the sea,if you had a seat by the window.
The breakast was delightful...lots and lots of freshly cooked food. I tried the Welsh breakfast the one day and it was delicious but I am trying to go vegetarian so I tried the vegetarian on the second morning and that was delicious too!!! Very filling!!! We had coffee each morning and I had the Apple juice.Enjoyed the breakfast. There was an honestly bar which was a lovely idea. We enjoyed a few drinks together in the lounge area on the first night and it felt like home. Very cosy and relaxing.
Lots of walking can be done in this area. We walked lots. The beach is just a 5 minute walk down the road. We liked to see the sun come up each morning. A cute shop called 'Bettys' down by the beach as well as a few restaurants and another shop which name escapes me but it sold delicious pasties/pizzas and everything really. Cute shop and you must try the pasties and the pizza too.
There was cake in the room on arrival....feel bad that we didn't get chance to eat the cakes but we were always so stuffed after over eating most days but they looked so good. ...I wish I had space to eat them.
The decor of the b&b was so so cool!!!Cosy wall paper and the choice of colours leave you just gazing at the decor in amazement and the colours just blow you away and cheer you up.
It does not matter if the sun is shining or whether it's raining. ...it's always sunny in the b&b.Gorgeous colours.
Kate's warm personality shines through and we enjoyed this place so much!!!
Only wish we could have stayed longer.
The beach is so amazing...so beautiful. Newquay is less than 15 mins in the car. St. Ives is one hour in car and Padstow about 20 minutes.
A wonderful place to stay and we would love to return.
Oh Kate knocks and gives you a few chocolates and fresh milk each evening which was unbelievably sweet.
All b&bs should be this spectacular.....
It was spotlessly clean and smelt wonderful.... the organic shower gels/ etc were a wonderful touch and I do get allergies to a lot of allergies but this was so perfect for me!
Thank you Kate,Oz and the friendly staff.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank 575Booboo575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate P, Owner at Seavista, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Wow, thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your stay with us!! We are so looking forward to hopefully welcoming you both here again!
Lots of love
Kate
x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Seavista while our daughter was at Boardmasters music festival so we could be nearby in case of any problems. Needless to say we didn't hear a peep from her for the whole 5 days! While the weather wasn't great, we had a lovely break with lots of coastal walks and visits to lovely local restaurants.

The B&B is located just a few minutes walk up the hill from the beach and minutes from the coastal path with fantastic views across to Watergate Bay.

Kate and her team were incredibly welcoming and the breakfasts were wonderful - we were completely spoilt for choice with the selection and opted for different options every day. The evening turndown service complete with handmade chocolates was a lovely extra.

We would definitely recommend!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Fionask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate P, Owner at Seavista, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are quite often the base for parents keeping an eye on their children at Boardmasters ;-) Close enough but far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet!
We really hope to see you again soon!
Lots of love
Kate
xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

We arrived to Seavista after a 5 hour journey from Derbyshire with a lot of traffic and stress! Kate greeted us as we got out of our car and took us up to the loft apartment to show us around. All I can say is WOW, just WOW!!!! I will attach some pictures to show you! Decorated perfectly, absolutely spotless with 2 homemade flapjacks next to the kettle, fresh eggs, milk, butter and even some dog treats for Ralph. As our stay was completely self catering we had little to do with the main hotel as we made our own breakfast, lunch and dinner however we did have a little peak downstairs to ask a few questions about local fish and chip shops and we were very pleased with the recommendation! All I can say is the stay was perfect, the location was perfect, the apartment was perfect, the personal touches were perfect so overall ... PERFECT!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank SophieJayne894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate P, Owner at Seavista, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Thank you for your wonderful review of our Loft! We are so pleased the stress wore off straight away and that you loved our decor - i certainly enjoyed putting it all together with the help of my gorgeous interior designer friend! I am addicted to decorating! ;-)

We really hope to welcome you here again soon!
Lots of love

Kate
x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Really appreciated to email received after my booking. I came in after a long hard day on the Coastal Path and I got a sense that this B&B does things with a genuine intention of making your stay comfortable and relaxing. My room was clean, well prepared and the instructions given a detailed fashion. After a wet day on the path, I was offered coffee/tea but my plan was to enjoy a warm bath in a very clean bathroom with everything I needed. And when I learned that I had forgotten my glasses in the previous B&B I stayed, guess what? The very nice lady who had checked me in offered me a lift to go and get them. Saved me a lot of trouble! That's what I call going the extra mile. I definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank martgoyette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate P, Owner at Seavista, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We genuinely do want our guests to have the best stay with us as possible and that is fantastic you found this to be true during your brief stay with us.
we hope you onwards journey was a little less soggy! The sun is shining today!

Love Kate
x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

We simply loved this place, the very comfortable room with the view, delicious breakfasts freshly prepared and Kate and her staff who were very helpful and friendly!!
The scenic sandy beach was just a 10 minute walk away with a choice of places to eat. Thank you, we hope to stay again someday!!
Ann & Richard

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank luvpubgrub633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate P, Owner at Seavista, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Thank you Ann and Richard for your lovely review! We so enjoyed having you both to stay.

We really hope to welcome you both here again soon!

Love Kate
xxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

This was our fifth stay at Seavista and it was absolutely fantastic, as usual! The breakfast is without doubt the best that we've ever had, and the menu has grown since our first visit (I recommend the homemade waffles!). I loved the newly decorated lounge area, I've come away with a few new interior design ideas! Thanks to Kate and the rest of the Seavista team for being fab, it's always so hard to leave when the holiday is over!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate P, Owner at Seavista, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Ahhh it is always so lovely seeing you both here! We are so delighted you keep coming back and can't wait to see you both again!
So happy to hear you loved the lounge! we are so pleased with it!

Love Kate
xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.9 km away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,246 reviews
0.7 km away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,611 reviews
7.7 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
4.8 km away
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
0.6 km away
Trevarrian Lodge
Trevarrian Lodge
#3 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seavista

Address: Mawgan Porth TR8 4AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mawgan Porth
Price Range: $125 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seavista 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seavista is a family run, luxury Bed and Breakfast. It stands on the hillside of Mawgan Porth with breathtaking sea views and across the beautiful valley of St Mawgan. All seven of our rooms are individually designed with tasteful decor throughout. Each room is fitted with a luxury bathroom suite including a rain fall shower in most of our rooms. We have a breakfast terrace where you can start your morning the right way with our renowned Cornish breakfast, spend your afternoons in our lounge enjoying the view and finish your day on the patio with a drink from our honesty bar watching the sunset over the ocean. Close to many restaurants, including Jamie Oliver's Fifteen just a few miles away at Watergate Bay and Rick Stein's famous seafood restaurant in Padstow which is approximately 8 miles away. With Newquay Airport only a few minutes away, we are ideally placed to explore all that Cornwall has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Seavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seavista Cornwall/Mawgan Porth, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing