We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Stay”
Review of Emms Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Emms Cottage
Ranked #11 of 16 Par B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Had a recent overnight stay at Emms Cottage on the way into deeper Cornwall after a day at the Eden Project. We were greeted by a very warm welcome from Pam and Vic - the start of a most comfortable and enjoyable stay. The accommodation is comfortable and homely and the Cornish Breakfast was superb. Pam and Vic were really helpful in lots of ways, including booking a table at the Brittania Restaurant and getting a discount off the bill. Some others have mentioned the parking. I have a Citroen Picasso - slightly larger than an average car - and did not find the parking to be difficult. Certainly recommend this as a good place to stay. A lovely place with lovely hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulUK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmscot, Owner at Emms Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you Paul for your lovely comments, always welcome Pam & Vic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

We spent a lovely week at emms cottage. What a lovely place to stay and nothing was too much trouble. Ideal location for the Eden project and local attractions. The owners pam and vic were so helpful and friendly would definitely recommend if you want to stay in Cornwall.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmscot, Owner at Emms Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2016

Thank you so much Sue & Paul. We enjoyed having you stay x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

Had the pleasure of a recent overnight stay at Emms Cottage. Both Pam and Vic extended us a warm welcome and went out of their way to make us feel at home. The bed was extremely comfortable, just what we needed after a week camping!
Breakfast was also delicious; highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2015

Pam and Vic went out of their way to be incredibly helpful, picking us up at the train station when we arrived, dropping us off at the Britannia Inn for dinner, driving us to the Eden Project, and dropping us off at the train station when we left. They went above and beyond what is expected of a B&B host. There is no bus service near the cottage so we were dependent on taxis for the other excursions we made and the two for-hire taxi companies had very different price ranges. Ask for a price when you call to reserve and compare the prices.

The top-of-the-stairs twin room was as advertised on Emms Cottage website. Bathroom was down the hall. But it's an old house and the floors creaked with every step we took and sound carried through the floors. We were treated well, the room was clean, the beds were comfy. But if we returned to the Eden Project again, we would probably stay in a B&B in St Austell and use the bus service to get around rather than hire taxis.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trippinhippies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmscot, Owner at Emms Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2015

I would like to point out we are 100 meters of bus stops to St.Austell & Mevagissy & in the opposite direction to Fowey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2014

This is a quaint cottage with a beautiful garden, close to Eden Project and the sea. It was spotlessly clean and comfortable. No problem with getting Wi-Fi. Had a superb breakfast. Excellent, friendly service from Pam and Vic, particularly in relation to getting to Eden Project (they even provided us with a home-produced print out).
Slight downsides are that the off-road parking is quite tight - we only had a small car, so not a problem, but I wouldn't fancy getting a large people carrier down the drive! Also, the cottage is on a main road so there is some road noise (although not enough to disturb our sleep).

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DoreenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmscot, Owner at Emms Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Would like to add we do offer free parking although tight, but there is a small car park 100 metres away

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2014

What a brilliant stay in this delightful bed and breakfast. Ideal location for the Eden Project, Par sands and other beautiful places of interest. Pam and Vic made us so welcome like visiting family. Extremely high standards of clean rooms with full English breakfast to die for, so yummy. Would highly recommend and we certinaly will go back again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Suzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Emms Cottage is in a great location to explore the area. The cottage is very homely
and Pam and Vic great hosts, their breatfast will set you up for the day.
The parking down the side of the cottage is a bit tight but a glass or two of wine sat outside in the garden or summer house was just right after a day out.

Room Tip: There is a double room, a single room and a shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Par hotels
4.2 km away
CLC Trenython Manor
0.9 km away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 16 in Par
109 reviews
2 km away
The Royal Inn
The Royal Inn
#2 of 16 in Par
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Penarth Guest House
1.9 km away
Ragstones B&B
Ragstones B&B
#1 of 16 in Par
187 reviews
3.4 km away
Green Acres Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emms Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emms Cottage

Address: 19 St. Austell Road | St Blazey Gate, Par, St Austell PL24 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Price Range: $123 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Emms Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emms Cottage is a small friendly B & B with a very pretty wildlife garden, within walking distance to the Eden Project. It is 200 plus years old so has the charm a quaint cottage holds, creaky floorboards & all. The sandy beach by car is just a few minutes away, 20 minutes to the Lost Gardens of Heligan. The breakfast concists of as much local produce as poss. Free range eggs, allergies catered for.Would like to add we are 100 metres between bus stops to St. Austell, Mevasissy & Fowey in the other direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Emms Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emms Cottage Par, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing