We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Emms Cottage
Nearby Hotels
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carlyon Bay(St Austell)
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel(St Austell)(Great Value!)
US$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Hart(St Austell)
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Fowey Hall(Fowey)
US$212
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$156
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
17
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
5
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 23 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2016

Had a recent overnight stay at Emms Cottage on the way into deeper Cornwall after a day at the Eden Project. We were greeted by a very warm welcome from Pam and Vic - the start of a most comfortable and enjoyable stay. The accommodation is comfortable and homely and the Cornish Breakfast was superb. Pam and Vic were really helpful in lots of ways, including booking a table at the Brittania Restaurant and getting a discount off the bill. Some others have mentioned the parking. I have a Citroen Picasso - slightly larger than an average car - and did not find the parking to be difficult. Certainly recommend this as a good place to stay. A lovely place with lovely hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulUK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmscot, Owner at Emms Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2016

Thank you Paul for your lovely comments, always welcome Pam & Vic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

We spent a lovely week at emms cottage. What a lovely place to stay and nothing was too much trouble. Ideal location for the Eden project and local attractions. The owners pam and vic were so helpful and friendly would definitely recommend if you want to stay in Cornwall.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmscot, Owner at Emms Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2016

Thank you so much Sue & Paul. We enjoyed having you stay x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2015 via mobile

Had the pleasure of a recent overnight stay at Emms Cottage. Both Pam and Vic extended us a warm welcome and went out of their way to make us feel at home. The bed was extremely comfortable, just what we needed after a week camping!
Breakfast was also delicious; highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2015

Pam and Vic went out of their way to be incredibly helpful, picking us up at the train station when we arrived, dropping us off at the Britannia Inn for dinner, driving us to the Eden Project, and dropping us off at the train station when we left. They went above and beyond what is expected of a B&B host. There is no bus service near the cottage so we were dependent on taxis for the other excursions we made and the two for-hire taxi companies had very different price ranges. Ask for a price when you call to reserve and compare the prices.

The top-of-the-stairs twin room was as advertised on Emms Cottage website. Bathroom was down the hall. But it's an old house and the floors creaked with every step we took and sound carried through the floors. We were treated well, the room was clean, the beds were comfy. But if we returned to the Eden Project again, we would probably stay in a B&B in St Austell and use the bus service to get around rather than hire taxis.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trippinhippies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmscot, Owner at Emms Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2015

I would like to point out we are 100 meters of bus stops to St.Austell & Mevagissy & in the opposite direction to Fowey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2014

This is a quaint cottage with a beautiful garden, close to Eden Project and the sea. It was spotlessly clean and comfortable. No problem with getting Wi-Fi. Had a superb breakfast. Excellent, friendly service from Pam and Vic, particularly in relation to getting to Eden Project (they even provided us with a home-produced print out).
Slight downsides are that the off-road parking is quite tight - we only had a small car, so not a problem, but I wouldn't fancy getting a large people carrier down the drive! Also, the cottage is on a main road so there is some road noise (although not enough to disturb our sleep).

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DoreenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmscot, Owner at Emms Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2016

Would like to add we do offer free parking although tight, but there is a small car park 100 metres away

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews