We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent but not for the less able bodied”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chy Mena

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Agnes, Truro District, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jeff_Surr...
Surrey, UK
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent but not for the less able bodied”
Reviewed June 2, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Not for wheelchair users or the less able bodied. Just about manageable for the grossly unfit like myself. It is set up a steep slopped driveway and then up a path that was also quite steep and very slippery whilst we were there. However, that being said it is a beautiful lodge with good view out from the very welcome hot tub. The lodge itself is a goody size. Nice practical kitchen area, good bedrooms with comfy beds and an excellent bathroom. A great place to be based for trips out from south Bodmin all the way down to Lands End.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarabell...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow !!!”
Reviewed May 8, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Just stayed in Chy Mena over the bank holiday weekend to celebrate friends birthday. The lodge is beautiful and well equipped. The huge and powerful hot tub is a bonus to this. It has got a large patio to enjoy the bbq. I can't wait to return !! Thank you Si for your hospitality. We loved the lodge so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
85Wilmaaa...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely quiet place to relax and chill out”
Reviewed April 23, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We stayed at Chy Mena for 2 weeks over Easter. The lodge is in a lovely tranquil and peaceful surroundings. Just a 10-15 minute walk to the fab beach depending on how long your kids legs are! Caves and rock pools to explore at low tide. We witnessed the very bizarre dog racing on Easter Sunday - if you stay at Easter, go and check it out! Dogs of all breeds chasing a rather large human sized rabbit! Hilarious! Schooners restaurant overlooking the beach has gorgeous food as does Taste in the village - they do the best mussels I've ever had!

Chy Mena is a really nice lodge. There is plenty of space for a family of 4 and all the gadgets kept the kids and the husband happy! The Wifi was great and the connection speed fast - essential if you need to do a bit of work while away. If I'm being a bit picky, the knives could do with sharpening and one or two more non stick pans would be good. I burnt my scrambled eggs on a couple of occasions! Apart from that, everything we needed was in the kitchen.

The hot tub was fab! The kids loved it as did we. It's huge! It was a nice treat to come back after a day out to chill and relax, or get pummeled - you can turn up some of the jets so they're really strong - bliss!

With a 11 and 9 year old, our favourite days out were Hidden Valley in Launceston, football golf (a mix of crazy golf and football) in St Austell, Lizard point for the views (we had a glorious day to appreciate them), Wheal Cotes tin mine for exploring, Fistral beach (another glorious day topped by sunburn!) and Tamar Otter and Wildlife Sanctuary which has free roaming chickens, deer and wallabies as well as loads of cute otters!

We all enjoyed our stay at Chy Mena - thank you Simon for letting us stay and for quickly sorting out the minor issues we had promptly, not that you could do anything about the brief power cut!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2018
Many thanks for the lovely detailed review. Much appreciated and we hope to see you again sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarredfam...
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect tree top retreat so secluded and peaceful.”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week at the start of the summer holidays, having glamped for several years with children it was a very welcome change to have a gorgeous big lodge with a tv in every room, a powerful shower and a kitchen. The technology is quite impressive, mood lighting and a gorgeous BIG hot tub. Great value quite frankly .

The beds are all comfortable too and as a side sleeper that is not often the case.

The contemporary styling was practical as well as good to look at.

The climb up to the lodge is not for the feint hearted or those with mobility issues, but well worth it as you are then at tree level with complete privacy and can sit on the decking or in the hot tub with a glass of fizz and you could be anywhere - total bliss.

If anything does happen - we had a warning light on the hot tub as the water level had dropped - the owner is on hand, responds straight away and sorts issues out with no fuss.

The lodge is well equipped and I truly miss the speed of the convection electric cooker ! Yes there could be more glasses but these are the hardest to keep on top off and probably the most often replaced.

I would recommend this for families in school holidays and also couples looking for an off season romantic break. The lodge is very warm and cosy when cold and great for storm watching being so high up.

The local beach is great for surfing and rock pooling and quieter than nearby Perranporth. The fact you can walk to an amazing pub, local brewery take away shop and a great chippy are just the icing on the cake. One of the even closer tea shops also does sundown cocktails. The village centre and the beach are both an easy walking distance.

We have already rebooked both lodges for next year and are taking more family with us next time.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alimac654...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful place”
Reviewed July 7, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Chy Mena is a great place to stay in St Agnes.
It is very modern and uncluttered, with smart TV's and good wi fi.
The hot tub is fab, and St Agnes is a great wee village with lots of great pubs, beaches, walks etc.
We will be back.
Thanks, Simon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safari683...
1 review
“Great location.”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely location very private. The lodge was very comfortable and everything that you could want we really enjoyed our holiday and would happily stay there's again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 May 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really appreciate it and we are glad you had a great holiday. We look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing