We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, fantastic service,”
Review of Duke Of Cornwall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Duke Of Cornwall
Ranked #55 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The hotel was spotless, the food was plentiful and fantastic. The staff were so helpful and friendly they couldnt do enough for us. Great location for visiting the Eden project, the only thing I found odd was the shared toilet. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kajboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

stayed 11th to 15th September.Accomodation was very comfortable even though we did not have a full en suite and shared the toilet in the main bathroom with one or two other rooms.The owners Debbie and Anthea and all their staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble, and my wife and I will definitely return. Thankyou all.
Nigel and Pat

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I must agree with Helen2502 the food/service in the establishment was absolutely Great, the Staff were extremely freindly and very welcoming as were the patrons, we stayed in the same B&B as Helen2502 so we also spent a considerable amount of time in the Duke of Cornwall for the very same reason. The Sunday Carvery was fantastic, all meals were very good value too. A Hearty Thank you to all the Staff for making us feel so comfortable.
I would also suggest putting the restaurant itself on Trip Advisor. Well worth visiting, you can't go wrong with this Place.

Room Tip: Unfortunately we did not stay here, wish we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Theworkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We did not stay here so I can't rate the accommodation, however it was the nearest pub to our B&B so we spent a fair bit of time in the bar. The staff were very friendly and hospitable. We ate in the restaurant on Saturday night and expected bog standard pub food but it was of a superb standard. The steaks were of excellent quality and the puddings were fantastic. I would suggest putting the restaurant separately from the B&B on Trip Advisor.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Helen2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Had a super stay...the bathroom is lush!!!
I think it has recently been decorated and very nice it is too.
Friendly bar staff and very helpfull.
Both landladies were very pleasant and happy to accommodate where they could.
Clean and tidy.
Will most certainly return again.
Well placed to use as a base for days out.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sararedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Arriving with my elderly mother for a 5 night stay, we were told that the booking had not been taken! Not to worry, Anthea and Debbie were more than accomodating and found us a twin room for our first night, a double for our second and back to the twin for the rest of the week - they were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble.
It is a busy pub / restaurant and we were made to feel very welcome - even when we brought 30 hungry dart players back with us one evening - they managed to feed them all with their lovely home cooked food.
We joined in with the quiz on mid week roast night - 2 courses for £6.95 and the Banoffee Brule was to die for (honestly).
Maybe the only downside is the location, the front rooms are quite noisy from traffic but I would definately return.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

The 'Duke' received no crown, worth the money, rooms could have been better equiped and maybe cleaner, staff your average run of the mill b&b.I did not like the breakfast, this is the first time I have ever stayed in a B&b and not enjoyed the breakfast.
Would I stay again, I don't know

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradley174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
1.1 km away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#3 of 9 in St Austell
396 reviews
5.5 km away
The Royal Inn
The Royal Inn
#2 of 16 in Par
299 reviews
1.9 km away
Topos Bed & Breakfast
Topos Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 97 in St Austell
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Bugle Inn
Bugle Inn
#54 of 97 in St Austell
89 reviews
2.6 km away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
2.7 km away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 16 in Par
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Of Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Of Cornwall

Address: 98 Victoria Road, St Austell PL25 4QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: $97 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Duke Of Cornwall 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Duke Of Cornwall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Cornwall St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing