We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable Base for exploring, 5 Star”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dolphin Rock

Exterior of Dolphin Rock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of Dolphin Rock
Double room with ensuite (1st floor) Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Exterior of Dolphin Rock
Double room with ensuite (1st floor)
Living Room
Double room with ensuite (1st floor)
Private garden and decked seating area
Charlestown harbour
Porthgwidden beach, St Ives
Dining room
2nd double room (top floor)
bedroom4
Kitchen
Single bedroom (1st floor)
Nearby Carlyon Bay
Charlestown harbour
Garden
Kitchen/kitchen diner
Garden
2nd double room (top floor)
Ensuite
Ensuite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
St Austell, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LindseyLu...
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable Base for exploring, 5 Star”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A relatively last minute booking for our party of 6- Mum,Dad,3 kids and Grandmother, and of course Huggy - 1 year old French Bulldog.

Dolphin Rock is spacious- downstairs has plenty of room to spread out in lounge, a large modern kitchen with fridge/freezer/toaster etc, dining room (did not use) and a neat garden that allowed Huggy some space too.

The 5 bedrooms were perfect too, 2 doubles on 1st floor with en-suite and a single room, upstairs two more large doubles.Everyone really happy with their rooms and the shower was powerful and hot!.

Off street parking a bonus as road did get bust for parking even though it was off season.

The location was a major draw for us when booking and it proved to be spot on.Short drives to The Lost Gardens of Heligan and the Eden Project along with multiple beaches.Two great restaurants in Charles Town- Charlies Boathouse and Wreckers. Charlestown Harbour is a 10 minute walk away (as is residents beach) but it is uphill all the way back, we decided to drive (2 mins) as Grandmother would struggle with hill.(Note the residents beach involves a very steep walk back- again not suitable for elderly).A large car park at the harbour costs £2.50 for the day.

One change we would make is the mattresses - very lightweight and not comfortable.For anyone over 6 ft (me!) you may find the standard double a little small to share.

In summary a modern spacious perfectly located property.If you are looking to explore Cornwall then this is the place too stay- thank you Karen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and location
Liked least: Mattresses
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vclarke75
Bruton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation for my 40th Birthday”
Reviewed March 8, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This has to be one of the best places I have stayed self catering. it was my 40th Birthday and so wanted to celebrate it in style and with family & friends (7adults and one teenager). this house was PERFECT for us all, so much better than a hotel as we could relax, sleep and socialise all together in prefect settings. We had a party at Charlies Boathouse in Charlestown for my birthday and so this was a great location to get there.
Everything you need for a great weekend or longer if needed! We all wanted to stay longer and will definitely be coming back when we are back in Cornwall! Karen also gave us all the information we needed before the weekend.
Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and size of property
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukdesi
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Half Term Break”
Reviewed January 9, 2015 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We spent 4 nights at the end of Oct/ beginning of Nov and loved the place! Age range varied between 4 - 65, kids, parents and grand parents. We all loved Dolphin Rock, the place is very spacious modern and welcoming. Very close to shops, beaches, and loads of attractions including the Eden Project.
We will be returning here without any hesitation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April H
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great House, Lovely Location”
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The house looked even better is really life and very comfortably fitted nine people. There was a lot of facilities available in the house such as kitchen utensils, towels, boards games and DVDs that added that extra homely touch, there was even had a Christmas tree up during our new year break.

A short 5-10 min walk to Charlestown, I would recommend that a car would be required for this stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of property!
Liked least: The early check out time on the last day
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjyorkshi...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Early Bithday Party”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Just got back from a long weekend at Dolphin Rock with our family for my daughters birthday party. The house has certainly got the wow factor it has everything you need for a great breakaway its modern but very cosy with all the amenities you need. The beach is close & very nice. The owner of the house is very friendly & only a phone call away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Reviewed October 28, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor is fabulous
Liked least: Lack of showers and quite a hard mattress in my room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Mar 2013
Dolphin Rock now offers 2 showers since we aim at pleasing our guests! Hopefully this improvement will mean that guests enjoy a perfect stay at Dolphin Rock.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing