We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ocean View

Amazing views of the Cornish coastline
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Amazing views of the Cornish coastline
Ocean View Cabin Al Fresco dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Amazing views of the Cornish coastline
Ocean View Cabin
Al Fresco dining area
Welcome tray including wine, Cornish fare, coffe and a selection of teas.
Fridge will be stocked with Milk, Mineral Water, Juice,Spread , jam, marmalade &  Eggs
Modern well appointed Ktchen  Dining Area together with a breakfast bar
Attractive Lounge with a sea view. Relax &  enjoy the comfortable seating area.
Flat screen TV/DVD unit, cd/radio. Books DVD & CD's; &  games for your enjoyment. Electric Fire.
Lounge bay window with wide coastal views
Attractive cosy bedroom with double bed, storage. All Bed Linen provided
Well appointed shower room & wc. All Towels provided together with a hair dryer.
Utility area complete with a washing machine, Ironing board, Tourist information leaflets.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St Austell, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
123kevin
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

we were greeted by Tom and Marilyn and taken behind their home to a private log cabin that had a sea view.
the cabin had everything you could need, was cosy and decorated lovely through out. A welcome pack which was coffee. tea and sugar. red and white wine as well as drinking chocolate was on show as we entered the kitchen. In the fridge was milk and butter. The food cupboard also had oil, bread, cereal and jam in.
It has instant hot water in the shower which was en-suite and in the kitchen.
In the shower room were clean towels (lots)and even a flannel, toothpaste and brushes
The out- house is equipped with washer and all you needed including wash tablets to do your washing and information leaflets are at hand.
Tom and Marilyn have thought of everything to make your holiday perfect. They are so friendly and will help when ever they are needed as you are given all the privacy you want.
I would recommend staying here to everyone it is so nice. (I didn't want to leave)
Thank- you for making our stay so lovely !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Many thanks for your positive review.We look forward to seeing you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ollie G
2 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Ocean View is a fantastic place with stunning sea views. Tom and Marilyn are amazing hosts and give complete privacy throughout your stay. The lodge is equipment with everything you require and more! I will definitely be returning to Ocean View in the future and would recommend is to anyone.
Thanks Tom and Marilyn

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: i ran out of beer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
Thank you for your positive review.
We both look forward to seeing you in the future.
Kind Regards
Marilyn & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessie092...
Greater Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful cabin, perfect location.”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Thanks Marilyn and Tom
We had a lovely stay in your beautiful cabin, you thought of everything to make our stay just perfect. Would gladly recommend this cabin to everyone already told family and friends how good our stay was
Many thanks
Miriam and Brian Newman

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
Many thanks for your positive review. (PS the trees have now gone!)
Kind Regards
Marilyn & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuluHSydn...
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely place to stay, with perfect hosts.”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The cabin was very well equipped with an excellent assortment of kitchenware and plenty of fluffy towels in the bathroom. The Welcome Basket of Goodies was amazing and lasted all week.
The wild life over the back fence i.e. Rabbits, foxes,many varieties of birds, the stunning sea scape all added to the enjoyment of staying in "Ocean View".
It was quite close to the town and the shops as well, if had a car.
Marilyn and Tom were very helpful from Day 1, without being intrusive. We can't thank them emough for giving us such a great holiday. Very private. Great value for the money it cost.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness and privacy.
Liked least: The bed.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2015
Thank you for your very positive review.
We look forward to meeting you in the future.

Kind Regards

Marilyn & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyball1...
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The perfect place for 2 people in St Austell.”
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This self catering unit is completely private despite being located at the bottom of the owners home. There is a wonderful view of St Austell Bay. You have your own garden, and lots of outside furniture. You will find everything you need here. Tom and Marilyn have thoughtfully provide lots of extras to make your first few days shopping free, milk, bread, cereals, jam, fruit, and all sorts of treats. They also provide books, DVD's, games, barbeque, toiletries, you name it, they have thought of everything! We picked this place because of it's location, it is ideally placed for visiting The Eden Project and Lost Gardens of Heligan. We also visited St Austell Pinetum and Pine Lodges. We had 2 days walking some of the SW Coastal Path, and walked in the beautiful Luxulyan Valley, yet we never travelled more than 30 minutes from Ocean View. I would highly recommend staying here, the cabin is small but perfectly formed and has everything you need for a relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location. View. Privacy.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
Thanks for your positive review.
We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Kind Regards
Marilyn & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quaint and Quiet”
Reviewed June 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Thank you very much for our stay here. We loved it!

It was exactly what we wanted, good central location in Cornwall to get everywhere but also gave us the privacy we wanted. No task was too much for the owners and we felt very welcomed. The view was lovely, the surroundings peaceful and the cabin had everything you needed and more.

Only issue we had was that the pillows were a little uncomfortable. Everything else perfect.

I would recommend this cabin to any potential guests.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for your positive comments. We are glad that you had an enjoyable time at Ocean View.
Kind Regards
Tom & Marilyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malc1005
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Awesome with a Capital A”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

On holiday we normally stay at a hotel, but decided we would try something different, and my partner found this gem. On arrival we were met by Tom and Marilyn, and shown around, they have put a lot of thought and care into this venture, and we were blown away, by the detail, you want for nothing, from Toothbrushes and tooth paste, to a fully stocked fridge, wine, tea, coffee etc, A lovely selection of books, and DVD,s, and a view to die for. The cabin is very homely, and was the perfect and ideal hub, for our travels in Cornwall. We could not think of anything, they had not already thought of, and provided. We would highly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2015
Thank you for your very positive review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Ocean View and hope that you will return.
Many Thanks
Marilyn & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing