We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING find.............”

The Lost Gardens of Heligan
Ranked #6 of 54 things to do in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a lovely surprise on our return to Heligan. It was delightful in so many ways. Easy access for disabled people like myself. Beautiful weather helped.

Thank 653sylvia55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heligan G, Public Relations Manager at The Lost Gardens of Heligan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for coming to see us Sylvia and for your lovely review. Just to let you know that we’ve now got a mobility scooter for free hire and a second one arriving shortly. If you’d like to book one for your next visit, please do get in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"rope bridge"
in 650 reviews
"jungle area"
in 243 reviews
"eden project"
in 458 reviews
"italian garden"
in 104 reviews
"mud maid"
in 96 reviews
"formal gardens"
in 190 reviews
"farm shop"
in 155 reviews
"flower garden"
in 61 reviews
"stewards house"
in 68 reviews
"pineapple"
in 87 reviews
"bird hide"
in 64 reviews
"different areas"
in 91 reviews
"farm animals"
in 91 reviews
"den building"
in 63 reviews
"full bloom"
in 61 reviews
"woodland walk"
in 107 reviews
"every corner"
in 55 reviews
Filter

83 - 87 of 5,267 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went here with family from Australia. They loved the place. I visit very often with my 3 children and there's always something new to see and do. Highly recommend the lost gardens of heligan for a day out without the hustle and bustle of rides and attractions.

Thank Jemz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The story behind the re-discovery of the gardens and the work of two guys in particular was fascinating. An endeavour indeed but, that was some time ago. The formal gardens were interesting but hardly any plant colour at all. To be honest, all a bit barren. I can accept this in the middle of winter but this was June. Had to kind of use imagination as to what it may look like.

Some lovely hidden gardens on the various trails. Jungle and rope bridge were good. Rare livestock also to be seen. But, the hidden gardens appeared to have hidden the flowers.

Bit underwhelming really.

Thank Dillan1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heligan G, Public Relations Manager at The Lost Gardens of Heligan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

This year saw the first heavy snowfall in 10 years along with a very wet and cold start to the year.

We’re sorry that the gardens were not at their best at the time of your visit but do hope that you’re able to join us again soon. From wildflowers to formal gardens, the gardens are now looking beautiful set to the backdrop of clear blue skies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited shortly after it first opened and were delighted to be able to make a return visit. For us it had lost none of its magic and it was wonderful to see how much the gardens had grown now they are established. You certainly need to be aware there is a lot of walking to be done and some of the climbs are not for the faint hearted. However it is an exceptional good way to spend a few hours and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Everywhere is extremely dog friendly and they even provide a doggy treat and a poo bag when you arrive. Also there are lots of doggy poo bins around the site which are all marked on the site map you get at the entrance. We had a superb cream tea and a cider at the cafe which was excellent value for money. Onsite car parking was free. All the staff were extremely pleasant and no doubt we will return in the future.

Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heligan G, Public Relations Manager at The Lost Gardens of Heligan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

25 years seem to have flown by and we’re really pleased to learn that you have been able to join us for a return visit.

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your day with us and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We last visited Heligan 14 years ago with our American relatives. It was beautiful and we had such a lovely day. The gardens at that time really reflected the time before the tragic events that befell this lovely estate. We were more than disappointed this time that it had been changed to give children entertainment with animals, playgrounds and fast food. Imagine a burger station at Heligan. Also the odours that gives off in such a beautiful environment. Children don't need entertaining. They find adventure where ever they go if you let them as is the case at Trebah Gardens. Heligan has been totally spoilt and is moving if you are not careful into a theme park. How ghastly. We are more than sad.

2  Thank Lysias54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heligan G, Public Relations Manager at The Lost Gardens of Heligan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for coming back to visit The Lost Gardens of Heligan after a 14 year break. We’ve received many return visit reviews which have been very positive (you’ll find one directly above your review) so are sorry to learn of your disappointing return.

When Sir Tim Smit’s journey began, he arrived at Heligan with the intention of looking for some land to create a rare breeds’ farm. Little did he know what secrets were to be discovered amongst the brambles of time. 25 years later, we have gone full circle and are now a Rare Breeds Survival Trust certified rare breed farm park as well as BBC Countryfile Magazine’s ‘Garden of the Year’ 2018.

All play areas are in keeping with the Heligan Estate and are built using Heligan materials by our on-site team. You will also find play areas in Great Gardens of Cornwall such as Trebah Garden.

Once again, we are sorry that your return visit was not as you had hoped but do hope that you will return once again to see how we continue to grow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lost Gardens of Heligan also viewed

 
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to The Lost Gardens of Heligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing