We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
227
36
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
36
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews huge lounge split level eden project local knowledge local area places to visit comfortable bed guest house sky tv town centre on arrival tea coffee facilities full english friendly owners lost gardens of heligan every morning own bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 265 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2017

I stayed here for just the one night. It's a lovely place, my only suggestion is a new mattress in room 1. It seemed old and not the most comfortable for a good nights sleep.

Greg was the perfect host and breakfast was fantastic. Frankie the cat is very friendly which was an added bonus! The whole property was clean and well maintained.

I would stay here again but would request a different room purely due to the mattress.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VirtualBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razzer7, Owner at Topos Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2017

Hi glad you enjoyed your stay and would come back. I am not too sure when you stayed but we replaced that mattress 2 weeks ago
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2017

We stayed here for three nights earlier this month, and there's no doubt we'll be returning again on future visits to Cornwall. The room itself was excellent, including a good en-suite bathroom, and the addition of the bar and lounge area that is available to use was a nice added bonus. A full breakfast each morning is included. The property, a few minutes walk from St Austell town centre, is well located - a 15 minute drive to the Eden Project, 30 minutes from Newquay airport, and an hour and a half from Lands End and Porthcurno. We received a warm welcome from the owners, who couldn't do enough to help throughout our stay. If there is something about Cornwall which Greg doesn't know, it's probably not worth knowing!

Thanks for the excellent Cornish hospitality - we can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DP85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razzer7, Owner at Topos Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2017

Hi Guys it is really great when guests have had a good time in our home. We try to make everyones stay enjoyable and make the most of Cornwall.
Love to see you both again
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2017

We stayed 2 nights at Guest House Topos and were greeted on arrival by Greg, who showed us to a very pleasant room down a spiral staircase and helped me carry the suitcase down. The room was spacious and very up to date with a large picture window overlooking the garden and nicely co-ordinated furnishings. The property is very large and spreads over 3 floors all of which are clean and nicely decorated, including a lounge and gallery of books and a beautiful chandelier. The bathroom contained a shower etc. and was very clean with soap, and shampoo provided. There was a kettle with tea, coffee, chocolate provided together with a TV, hairdryer and comfortable bed. A cooked breakfast was available in the bright dining room along with cereals, tea, coffee, fruit juice and everything you could want, accompanied by Frankie the pretty cat. Lynda and Greg were most helpful in advising of local restaurants and places of interest, and limited on site car parking was usefully available. Topos Guest House is a little way outside St. Austell and in a very hilly area, so a car is necessary to get around, but the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan are both within short driving distances. There was at least one bedroom, possibly more, on the ground floor for those with mobility problems. Whilst the location may seem to be a little remote, all the places of interest are within easy reach by car.

Room Tip: The downstairs room is lovely and quiet but much cooler than the other rooms
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GopherSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2017 via mobile

The wall in the ensuite was VERY mouldy with a VERY rusty shelf for shower products.

The bed mattress was so old it has collapsed on one side!

The whole place need to be refreshed and properly clean and well aired

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2017 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for three nights to celebrate our anniversary and we are so happy we chose this B&B to stay in. Excellently located, with easy access to everything we planned on doing during our trip. Greg's local knowledge was a great help when it came to where to go for food and even the best way to get there to avoid the traffic! Breakfast got better and better every morning and we had a very welcome and enjoyable stay here. Only slight negative was the wifi signal in our room, which kept dropping out. But at the end of the day it wasn't a massive issue as we were there to explore, not sit on our phones! Thanks to Greg and Lynda for making our stay as enjoyable as it was!

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Tomwwww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razzer7, Owner at Topos Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2017

Hi guys
glad you enjoyed your stay with us, come back and see us again soon.
Since you left our phone line has gone down, The telephone engineers came out and laid all new cable and were surprised we had any signal at all, as the cable was rusted through. That is why you had a bad signal, but all is well now.
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews