We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Arches B&B(St Austell)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Hart(St Austell)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carlyon Bay(St Austell)
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Eden Project(St Austell)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Seaview Gorran Haven(St Austell)(Great Value!)
US$35
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$253
US$191
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park(St Austell)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
227
36
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
36
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuge loungesplit leveleden projectlocal knowledgelocal areaguest loungeplaces to visitcomfortable bedguest housesky tvtown centreon arrivaltea coffee facilitiesfull englishfriendly ownerslost gardens of heliganevery morning
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 264 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2017

We enjoyed our stay so much last July that we visited again for 5 nights. Nothing has changed, which is all to the good. Breakfast is still excellent and we had many interesting conversations with Greg, who must be one of the most friendly owners of all the Bed and Breakfast places in Cornwall. St. Austell is a very convenient place for touring Cornwall and Mevagiissey, which is a lovely little harbour village with really nice shops and views is nearby, as is Fowey. We had a lovely time, despite the unseasonal miserable weather. Thanks Greg!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wrinkly one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razzer7, Owner at Topos Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2017

Hi You two hope you made it home safe all the way to Devon, glad you had a good time with us it is always easy when you have nice guests. Love to see you both again
in the near future.Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2017

Had a lovely stay at topos last week Greg who did Breakfast full English with juice tea coffee toast bacon eggs nice room ground floor own bathroom very clean and quite
Not far from Eden and Lost gardens of Helgen lovely cat frankie was so friendly
Hope to return in the near future

Room Tip: Ground floor very quieter
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank maureenmalyan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razzer7, Owner at Topos Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2017

Hi Maureen
Hope you got back o.k. It was lovely to meet you and good you enjoyed your stay.Frankie said when are you comoing back as she likes it in your room
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2017

I stayed here for just the one night. It's a lovely place, my only suggestion is a new mattress in room 1. It seemed old and not the most comfortable for a good nights sleep.

Greg was the perfect host and breakfast was fantastic. Frankie the cat is very friendly which was an added bonus! The whole property was clean and well maintained.

I would stay here again but would request a different room purely due to the mattress.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VirtualBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razzer7, Owner at Topos Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2017

Hi glad you enjoyed your stay and would come back. I am not too sure when you stayed but we replaced that mattress 2 weeks ago
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2017

We stayed here for three nights earlier this month, and there's no doubt we'll be returning again on future visits to Cornwall. The room itself was excellent, including a good en-suite bathroom, and the addition of the bar and lounge area that is available to use was a nice added bonus. A full breakfast each morning is included. The property, a few minutes walk from St Austell town centre, is well located - a 15 minute drive to the Eden Project, 30 minutes from Newquay airport, and an hour and a half from Lands End and Porthcurno. We received a warm welcome from the owners, who couldn't do enough to help throughout our stay. If there is something about Cornwall which Greg doesn't know, it's probably not worth knowing!

Thanks for the excellent Cornish hospitality - we can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DP85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razzer7, Owner at Topos Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2017

Hi Guys it is really great when guests have had a good time in our home. We try to make everyones stay enjoyable and make the most of Cornwall.
Love to see you both again
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2017

We stayed 2 nights at Guest House Topos and were greeted on arrival by Greg, who showed us to a very pleasant room down a spiral staircase and helped me carry the suitcase down. The room was spacious and very up to date with a large picture window overlooking the garden and nicely co-ordinated furnishings. The property is very large and spreads over 3 floors all of which are clean and nicely decorated, including a lounge and gallery of books and a beautiful chandelier. The bathroom contained a shower etc. and was very clean with soap, and shampoo provided. There was a kettle with tea, coffee, chocolate provided together with a TV, hairdryer and comfortable bed. A cooked breakfast was available in the bright dining room along with cereals, tea, coffee, fruit juice and everything you could want, accompanied by Frankie the pretty cat. Lynda and Greg were most helpful in advising of local restaurants and places of interest, and limited on site car parking was usefully available. Topos Guest House is a little way outside St. Austell and in a very hilly area, so a car is necessary to get around, but the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan are both within short driving distances. There was at least one bedroom, possibly more, on the ground floor for those with mobility problems. Whilst the location may seem to be a little remote, all the places of interest are within easy reach by car.

Room Tip: The downstairs room is lovely and quiet but much cooler than the other rooms
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GopherSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews