We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Topos Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Stayed for 4 nights to celebrate my 70th birthday and found the B&B a home from home. The house is a very unusual quirky design. The full English breakfasts cooked by Greg were delicious, there was also plenty of fruit juice, cereals and toast to choose from. All the decoration and furnishings were very tasteful and fitted well in their surroundings. The room was spotlessly clean with beautiful gleaming white bed linen, tv and video and a well appointed small bathroom with shower, There was a spacious bar area downstairs and also a large visitors lounge with comfy settees, a large sky tv, dozens of videos and cds to choose from and a vast selection of books on the mezanine floo Also if you can't live without it there is free wifi. There is also a sauna, which we did not use, and two decked areas with lots of chairs and cushions to sit and soak up the sun. Greg and Lynda did everything possible to make us feel welcome. As we did not have our car with us for a small fee to cover fuel Greg took us to The Lost Gardens of Heligan and the Eden Project and is happy to collect and return visitors to the bus or train station. Would definitely recommend Topos to anyone visiting the St Austell area.

Room Tip: Only tree rooms. All with views of the lower garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doreen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razzer7, Owner at Topos Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Hi Doreen
you obviously arrived home safely, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it is always good when we have nice people to stay. Hope to see you again but do not let Roger book a Taxi, (thanks for not mentioning the marmalade)


Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2017

We enjoyed our stay so much last July that we visited again for 5 nights. Nothing has changed, which is all to the good. Breakfast is still excellent and we had many interesting conversations with Greg, who must be one of the most friendly owners of all the Bed and Breakfast places in Cornwall. St. Austell is a very convenient place for touring Cornwall and Mevagiissey, which is a lovely little harbour village with really nice shops and views is nearby, as is Fowey. We had a lovely time, despite the unseasonal miserable weather. Thanks Greg!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wrinkly one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razzer7, Owner at Topos Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Hi You two hope you made it home safe all the way to Devon, glad you had a good time with us it is always easy when you have nice guests. Love to see you both again
in the near future.Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Had a lovely stay at topos last week Greg who did Breakfast full English with juice tea coffee toast bacon eggs nice room ground floor own bathroom very clean and quite
Not far from Eden and Lost gardens of Helgen lovely cat frankie was so friendly
Hope to return in the near future

Room Tip: Ground floor very quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank maureenmalyan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razzer7, Owner at Topos Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Hi Maureen
Hope you got back o.k. It was lovely to meet you and good you enjoyed your stay.Frankie said when are you comoing back as she likes it in your room
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

I stayed here for just the one night. It's a lovely place, my only suggestion is a new mattress in room 1. It seemed old and not the most comfortable for a good nights sleep.

Greg was the perfect host and breakfast was fantastic. Frankie the cat is very friendly which was an added bonus! The whole property was clean and well maintained.

I would stay here again but would request a different room purely due to the mattress.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VirtualBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razzer7, Owner at Topos Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Hi glad you enjoyed your stay and would come back. I am not too sure when you stayed but we replaced that mattress 2 weeks ago
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We stayed here for three nights earlier this month, and there's no doubt we'll be returning again on future visits to Cornwall. The room itself was excellent, including a good en-suite bathroom, and the addition of the bar and lounge area that is available to use was a nice added bonus. A full breakfast each morning is included. The property, a few minutes walk from St Austell town centre, is well located - a 15 minute drive to the Eden Project, 30 minutes from Newquay airport, and an hour and a half from Lands End and Porthcurno. We received a warm welcome from the owners, who couldn't do enough to help throughout our stay. If there is something about Cornwall which Greg doesn't know, it's probably not worth knowing!

Thanks for the excellent Cornish hospitality - we can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DP85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razzer7, Owner at Topos Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Hi Guys it is really great when guests have had a good time in our home. We try to make everyones stay enjoyable and make the most of Cornwall.
Love to see you both again
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

We stayed 2 nights at Guest House Topos and were greeted on arrival by Greg, who showed us to a very pleasant room down a spiral staircase and helped me carry the suitcase down. The room was spacious and very up to date with a large picture window overlooking the garden and nicely co-ordinated furnishings. The property is very large and spreads over 3 floors all of which are clean and nicely decorated, including a lounge and gallery of books and a beautiful chandelier. The bathroom contained a shower etc. and was very clean with soap, and shampoo provided. There was a kettle with tea, coffee, chocolate provided together with a TV, hairdryer and comfortable bed. A cooked breakfast was available in the bright dining room along with cereals, tea, coffee, fruit juice and everything you could want, accompanied by Frankie the pretty cat. Lynda and Greg were most helpful in advising of local restaurants and places of interest, and limited on site car parking was usefully available. Topos Guest House is a little way outside St. Austell and in a very hilly area, so a car is necessary to get around, but the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan are both within short driving distances. There was at least one bedroom, possibly more, on the ground floor for those with mobility problems. Whilst the location may seem to be a little remote, all the places of interest are within easy reach by car.

Room Tip: The downstairs room is lovely and quiet but much cooler than the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GopherSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

The wall in the ensuite was VERY mouldy with a VERY rusty shelf for shower products.

The bed mattress was so old it has collapsed on one side!

The whole place need to be refreshed and properly clean and well aired

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
3.3 km away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
533 reviews
0.3 km away
The Arches B&B
The Arches B&B
#11 of 97 in St Austell
230 reviews
1.9 km away
Duke Of Cornwall
Duke Of Cornwall
#58 of 97 in St Austell
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
The Chapel Guest House
The Chapel Guest House
#8 of 97 in St Austell
47 reviews
1.1 km away
Cooperage
Cooperage
#9 of 97 in St Austell
324 reviews
4.4 km away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topos Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topos Bed & Breakfast

Address: 7 Sparnon Close, St Austell PL25 5AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: $100 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Topos Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large detached house offering 2 lounges, 2 outside decking areas where you can BBQ. We also offer free Wifi. We are only a 12 minute walk to the town where you will find plenty of places to eat, cinema and bowling alley. The Eden project is only 15 minutes away and Lost Gardens of Heligan 20 minutes. If you come by train we will pick you up from St Austell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Topos Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topos Bed & Breakfast St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing