We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must stay in Merrickville” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millisle Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merrickville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Millisle Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Merrickville B&B and Inns
Picton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must stay in Merrickville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Hugh and Debra made us feel like family with a lovely welcoming home and great attention to detail. Our room was comfortable and pretty. The bathroom was small and the shower was really tiny but it would be hard to make it bigger when renovating an old house.
On our second night we had dinner there and it was one of the best meals we have ever had. Debra is a wonderful chef.
The dining room is beautiful and the breakfast sooo good.
If you are in the area this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    6
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
15
61
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

This was an overnight thing for my wife and I just to get away. Very friendly service. Rooms are old but well appointed and full of character. The antiques in this place must be worth a fortune!! The best part of the stay was the breakfast. This was no ordinary bacon, eggs and toast breakfast. We were offered three gourmet breakfast choices which were absolutely fantastic! Hugh was a great conversationalist and seemed to have something relevant to talk about with each individual at breakfast. My only disappointment was that there was no lock on the door to my room. But, a very nice stay and ranks among the top B&Bs I have stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDDDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

The Millisle does B&B right. The rooms are unique, the house feels warm and welcoming and the food is great, not to mention the friendly service. It's easily my first choice when getting away for the weekend.
Starting with THE ROOMS, you notice from the BBCanada website that they have 5 rooms. A few more than some of the other high end B&B's in Merrickville, so it's more likely that you'll get in here anyway. They each have unique features and amenities so no two rooms are alike. You'll have to pay attention to what kind of bathroom you have as they are all fairly different. I was in the Canadiana room which is on the top floor. This creates some interesting angles since you're ceiling is the roof. This one does not have a stand up shower but has a beautiful tub. The bathroom is ensuite but due to the roof it has a very low ceiling. If you're anywhere near 6 feet tall and especially if you're a man you may struggle with it a bit (standing up to pee is basically impossible), but if you're only there for a night or two it shouldn't be an issue. This room usually has curtains over the window, it didn't when I was there (good thing Merrickville's a quiet town) but they should be back up shortly.
THE HOUSE itself is very comfortable and the sitting areas are nice to relax in. The fireplace being lit most of the time was a nice touch, and the kitchen looks amazing (very jealous).
THE FOOD in the morning was perfect. It's not just a normal breakfast service either, it's more like a first class dinner service (except it's breakfast). It's basically a 3 course meal starting with a fruit dish, then baked goods, ending with your choice of delicious breakfast dishes prepared to order. And did I mention the mimosas???
Lastly, THE SERVICE is top notch. Exactly what you want from a B&B. You feel like you're visiting an old friend as soon as you arrive. After being shown around the house we were offered refreshments like tea, coffee, wine or beer (Mill St was a nice surprise). Debra and Hugh are perfect hosts and will go out of their way to make sure you're comfortable.

Room Tip: Pay attention to the BBCanada.com website or just ask Hugh yourself. Each room offers different furn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Our accommodation was clean and roomy in this beautiful, historic home located within walking distance to Merrickville. Hugh and Debra made us feel welcome and offered spot-on suggestions for our stay. Debra is a professional chef and her breakfast offerings were nicely portioned, beautifully presented and delicious. We were here for three nights and we are eager to return when we will be sure to arrange for a dinner in.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobndeeusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

What a beautiful, inviting, oozing with heritage B&B right on the Rideau Canal in Merrickville. I stayed in the Empire Room with a big decadent bed (I slept like a log) and a bathroom with a huge blue-tiled tub/jacuzzi with a stained glass window on the ceiling and a cathedral window to boot. My favourite, though, was the salon with its lovely fire that took the chill off the October day. I kept thinking I'd look up and the Bronte sisters would be there reading or needle-pointing. Hosts Debra and Hugh are warm and welcoming, interesting to talk to and just all round lovely. Next time I will be more organized and have dinner in with Debra as chef. I highly recommend this B&B!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

A taste of history and taste of a 5-star culinary experience! It's all in the details, and our hosts Hugh and Debra made our B&B experience one we want to share with everyone! From the exquisitely manicured lawns, stylishly period appointed rooms and immaculate heritage vibe that can be felt throughout their lovingly maintained main floor and guest rooms, we could not wish for a better experience, better dining, or better hosts! Thank you!!!

Room Tip: Follow your heart!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouLouttre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

As others have written before.... this is a must on your way through Merrickville. Deb and Hugh friendly dispositions make you feel so very welcomed. Breakfast is like no other I've had during stop overs in 5 star accommodations. You have the choice of sitting out on the spacious Victorian veranda or in the lovely dinning room surrounded by period decor. All the while Deb and Hugh go to great lengths to meet all your needs and or requests. We were also fortunate to have a fabulous dinner pared with very nice wines and lots of laughter with other guests. Look forward to returning on our next trip through Merrickville.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YD1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merrickville
18.6 km away
Kemptville Suites
Kemptville Suites
#1 of 3 in Kemptville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
15.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Colonel By Inn
BEST WESTERN Colonel By Inn
#1 of 4 in Smiths Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
32.8 km away
The Best Western Plus Perth Parkside Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
1840 Guest House B&B
1840 Guest House B&B
#1 of 5 in Merrickville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.4 km away
Merrickville Guest Suites
Merrickville Guest Suites
#3 of 5 in Merrickville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
15.8 km away
Abbott Road Suites
Abbott Road Suites
#1 of 5 in Kemptville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millisle Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millisle Bed and Breakfast

Property: Millisle Bed and Breakfast
Address: 205 Mill Street | PO Box 341, Merrickville, Ontario K0G 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Merrickville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Merrickville
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Millisle Bed And Breakfast Merrickville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing