We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$117
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldachin Inn(Merrickville)
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Smiths Falls)
Book now, pay at stay
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Inn Motel(Smiths Falls)(Great Value!)
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kemptville Suites(Kemptville)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
130
16
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
16
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrideau canalyogurtbeautiful quiltshost mikecontinental breakfaststained glassfree wifia great place to staygranola barsbottled waterwould definitely stay here againself servehis wiferooms are spaciouslocal historythe location is perfectannual trip
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 147 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2015

I stayed 1 night here for work recently. Mike was very accommodating with our boat and trailer. He was also very knowledgeable about the local history. My room was spotless, and well appointed. Netflix and wireless are free, although I didn't have the occasion to use the Netflix as I was working in the evening. I wanted something a bit more filling than the fruit, cereal, and yogurt that was available for breakfast so I didn't eat breakfast at the B&B, but the choice and quality of the food appeared excellent. The last thing I'd mention is the cost. This is really an inexpensive option for the quality of the accommodation, especially considering its proximity to Ottawa. Don't hesitate to stay here.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms, so all are equally as great.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2015

Great B&B! – We’ve already reserved for next year!
Friendly, warm and accommodating hosts! Facilities are totally modern with recent renovations respecting the rich history of both the building and the community. Elegant decor is enhanced by the artwork of local artists, including quilts and glasswork crafted by one of the hosts. A porch in the common area provides great views of the Rideau Canal and River. This B&B is very conveniently located a block away from Merrickville’s main street with its exciting collection of artists, boutiques and restaurants. Also within very close walking distance are the Blockhouse museum, the Merrickville locks, the remains of an early industrial area and the many historic residences within the town. And yet, it is just far enough away to avoid traffic noise.
We enjoyed a very relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2015

My husband and I spent two nights at this brand new B&B built behind and over an original square historical 1840 building. The facility was built specifically as a B&B so each room is completely self contained and private. The rooms are charming and absolutely spotless with individual ensuites. A balcony offers a lovely view of a section of the Rideau Canal and the Rideau River.

Merrickville has consciously exploited its geographic location and historical context and therefore provides many interesting walks, shops and eateries.

Our host Mike was always on hand to offer help, advice and general hospitality as needed. The breakfast bar was thoughtfully supplied with basic breakfast fare although it would have been nice to have had an all bran type cereal and bakery fresh muffins and croissants.

Certainly this B&B offers excellent quality and value.

For out of province or out of country travellers it is worth noting that Merrickville is a short 45 minute drive to Ottawa

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a canal view. There are 4 rooms and two face the canal.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2015

Our first visit to Merrickville staying at the 1840 Guest House B&B and it won't be our last! It came highly recommended to us by another B&B in Kemptville. Upon our late arrival, Mike was quick to greet us with a warm welcome! We were showed to our room which over looked the canal and given a tour of our room. The room was beautiful and clean with modern amenities. He recommended a local restaurant called Main Street and we had a wonderful meal after many hours of travelling. The next morning included continental breakfast and a view that was very relaxing. Mike was very attentive to any needs we had and we would highly recommend the 1840 Guest House B&B to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2015

Thank you Lisa for your wonderful guest review of the 1840 Guest House B&B.
We really appreciate your excellent guest comment "to highly recommend" our B&B and for taking the time to write the guest review. As a first time visitor to Merrickville, we are very glad you enjoyed the village and your meals at the Mainstreet Restaurant. We hope in future you will have another opportunity to visit Merrickville and stay again at the 1840 Guest House B&B. Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2015

we are a group of friends walking parts of the Rideau Trails. After a day's walk we were greeted by Mike, the friendly owner. We enjoyed free coffee, water, and snacks. We put up our weary feet and enjoyed an amazing view of the Rideau Canal. What a great B&B!!

Room Tip: there are only 4 rooms and 2 have views of the Rideau canal.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2015

We are very glad you and your walking group had a comfortable, relaxing stay and enjoyed the scenic view from the balcony of the Rideau Canal Waterway! I hope the rest of your walking tour went well (aside from the thundershowers)! Please come again and enjoy Merrickville and our award winning Rideau Woodland Ramble gardens.
Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews