We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Overnight at the 1840 Guest House.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1840 Guest House B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Merrickville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We had cycled from Ottawa to Merrickville to celebrate our 49th anniversary and found our first stay at the 1840 Guest House to be pretty much perfect. The room, "with a view" was terrific with big windows, furnished beautifully, lovely big bathroom, totally comfortable. The breakfast was great and we ate it out on the deck overlooking the canal. Mike and Dawn were very helpful and suggested a very nice place for dinner and directions for a evening walk beside the canal we would not have found alone. Highly recommended. Jim and Maureen Ramsay

Room Tip: front bedrooms have the best view
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for 1840 Guest House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2015

Stayed here during a recent boating trip on the Rideau. Dawn welcomed us and showed us around, made sure that we were comfortable and felt at home. Met Mike later in the day and he proudly told us about Merrickville, what do to, where to shop and places to eat. The room was spacious and very comfortable. We will certainly stay here again.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank buka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015

Mike the Innkeeper was very helpful. His charming welcome and helpful hints were the highlight of our stay at the 1840 House Inn. The inn is very new and delightfully clean. We strolled about the village and the locks, had a glass of wine in the courtyard at the Baldecchin and dinner at the Gad's Hill Place Restaurant - not very good. Mike suggested a visit to the Rideau Ramble Garden which turned out to be a charming way to spend a couple of hours while waiting for the temperature to warm up so we could continue our cycling trip to Brockville and Gananoque. I highly recommend the 1840 House Inn and Mike the Innkeeper!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a river view
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Suzie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2015

We very much appreciate your guest review of your stay at the 1840 Guest House B&B on your recent bicycle tour. We're glad we were able to make your bike tour an enjoyable one and provided interesting places to see and do around the wonderful village of Merrickville. Being a "bicycle friendly" B&B, located midway between Ottawa and Kingston, we have made every effort to support bicycle touring for enthusiasts like yourselves by providing secure bike storage, touring maps, repair assistance and local area knowledge. We hope you will make our B&B a part of your next bicycle tour and that you will bring others to enjoy Merrickville. Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

A very comfortable and clean B and B. MIKE offered us information about local places of interest. Even though we are from Brockville, not far away, we did not know about them. Lots of scenic views and history very close by. Enjoy.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank byron1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015

The owners, Mike and Dawn, of this establishment were so friendly and helpful. Mike gave us a tour of the B&B and then brought us to our room. The walls are covered with beautiful quilts hand made by Dawn. The room was airy and fresh with a lovely view of the Rideau. Everything is new. The bedroom was tastefully decorated and the bathroom spacious and clean. Great water pressure.
We settled in and Mike gave us many suggestions on what to do and see in Merrickville. He gave us a map and explained how to find our way around.
We so enjoyed our night there and will be back very soon.
If you are headed that way I highly recommend you stay at this Guest house!!
Debbie Warren

Room Tip: Room 2 has the best view
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2015

Thank you for your wonderful five star guest review. We are glad you enjoyed our decor with our hand sewn quilts in all the guest rooms and common area, stained glass panels and antique furniture. We have designed our B&B to provide a comfortable, enjoyable and restful experience for our guests. We hope you will stay with us again in the future. Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2015

My wife and I set out for a 180 km weekend bike trip from Gatineau to Merrickville (https://goo.gl/Vsf5gF) with another couple. We got to the B&B around 5pm. We could use a locked shed to store our bikes for the night.

Our rooms (#1 and #2 overlooking the Rideau river) we ready and Mike was an excellent host to show us around. The rooms very new and extremely clean. Each room has an en-suite, walk in closet, free WiFi, TV, Netflix, comfy chairs, etc... The beds are also very comfortable. There is a 2nd floor patio (accessible from the common space between rooms 1 and 2) with chairs for the guests. This prove to be an excellent spot to relax after spending 6hrs on a bike. Breakfast consisted of muffins, cereal, coffee, fruit, granola bars and yogurt. There are a couple other spots close by where you can get something more elaborate but we didn't feel the need after finishing our breakfast.

Before leaving the next morning we had a bit of maintenance/adjusting to do on some bikes and Mike was really kind and offered his tools to help.

I would recommend this place to everyone! I'll definitely stay there again in the future if I happen to be in Merrickville for an overnight.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 1 and 2. They were excellent. I'm sure rooms 3 and 4 are as well but I didn...
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TA-JB87878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2015

We very much appreciate your wonderful guest review of our 1840 Guest House B&B. We have tried to make our B&B "bicycle friendly" by offering bicycle tour maps, locked bike storage area, trail advice and bicycle maintenance support tools. We even have recommendations for our businesses that can supply picnic lunches. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our B&B and got to visit the historic village of Merrickville. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2015

We are boaters and stayed at 1840 BB for one night . The place is very clean, walking distances from restaurants and the rideau canal . Mike is a real human library , gives good information . I would go back anytime .

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lucien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2015

Thank you for the excellent guest review of the 1840 Guest House B&B. As you mentioned "we are a good place for boaters" as we are located in the village and overlook the Rideau Canal. We offer modern, clean B&B accommodations and free pickup at the dock for boaters. We are also bicycle friendly and offer free bike locked storage during your stay. We appreciate your 5 star rating and hope you will stay with us again in the future. Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merrickville
18.9 km away
Kemptville Suites
Kemptville Suites
#1 of 3 in Kemptville
77 reviews
15.1 km away
Best Western Smiths Falls Hotel
14.3 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in Smiths Falls
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Merrickville Guest Suites
Merrickville Guest Suites
#3 of 5 in Merrickville
67 reviews
16.1 km away
Abbott Road Suites
Abbott Road Suites
#1 of 5 in Kemptville
37 reviews
32.5 km away
Perth Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1840 Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840 Guest House B&B

Address: 223 Main Street West | PO Box 452, Merrickville, Ontario K0G 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Merrickville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Merrickville
Price Range: $115 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 1840 Guest House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern B&B accommodations overlooking the Rideau Canal, easy walking distance to Merrickville's "artisans" shops, fine restaurants, galleries and historic Rideau Canal and Museum. Entire second floor is dedicated to the comfort of our guests with four modern, clean, bright, spacious, air conditioned rooms with private ensuite, queen size bed, WiFi, satellite TV, NETFLIX movies, terry cloth bathrobes, desk and comfortable chairs. Common sitting / coffee area with Kuerig Coffee machine, fridge, microwave, tables and chairs and a balcony with a scenic view of the Rideau River/Canal. Hand sewn quilts, creative glass panels and antique furniture decorate rooms and guest areas. Continental breakfast supplied. Full breakfast available at excellent restaurant within easy walking distance (open 7:00AM). Bicycle friendly with locked storage area. Private free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your 1840 Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1840 Guest House B&B Merrickville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing