We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$117
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldachin Inn(Merrickville)
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Smiths Falls)
Book now, pay at stay
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Inn Motel(Smiths Falls)(Great Value!)
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kemptville Suites(Kemptville)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aquarius Motel(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
7 West Motel(Carleton Place)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
130
16
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
16
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrideau canalyogurtbeautiful quiltshost mikecontinental breakfaststained glassfree wifia great place to staygranola barsbottled waterwould definitely stay here againself servehis wiferooms are spaciouslocal historythe location is perfectannual trip
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 147 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2015

Stayed here during a recent boating trip on the Rideau. Dawn welcomed us and showed us around, made sure that we were comfortable and felt at home. Met Mike later in the day and he proudly told us about Merrickville, what do to, where to shop and places to eat. The room was spacious and very comfortable. We will certainly stay here again.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank buka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2015

Mike the Innkeeper was very helpful. His charming welcome and helpful hints were the highlight of our stay at the 1840 House Inn. The inn is very new and delightfully clean. We strolled about the village and the locks, had a glass of wine in the courtyard at the Baldecchin and dinner at the Gad's Hill Place Restaurant - not very good. Mike suggested a visit to the Rideau Ramble Garden which turned out to be a charming way to spend a couple of hours while waiting for the temperature to warm up so we could continue our cycling trip to Brockville and Gananoque. I highly recommend the 1840 House Inn and Mike the Innkeeper!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a river view
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Suzie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2015

We very much appreciate your guest review of your stay at the 1840 Guest House B&B on your recent bicycle tour. We're glad we were able to make your bike tour an enjoyable one and provided interesting places to see and do around the wonderful village of Merrickville. Being a "bicycle friendly" B&B, located midway between Ottawa and Kingston, we have made every effort to support bicycle touring for enthusiasts like yourselves by providing secure bike storage, touring maps, repair assistance and local area knowledge. We hope you will make our B&B a part of your next bicycle tour and that you will bring others to enjoy Merrickville. Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2015 via mobile

A very comfortable and clean B and B. MIKE offered us information about local places of interest. Even though we are from Brockville, not far away, we did not know about them. Lots of scenic views and history very close by. Enjoy.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank byron1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2015

The owners, Mike and Dawn, of this establishment were so friendly and helpful. Mike gave us a tour of the B&B and then brought us to our room. The walls are covered with beautiful quilts hand made by Dawn. The room was airy and fresh with a lovely view of the Rideau. Everything is new. The bedroom was tastefully decorated and the bathroom spacious and clean. Great water pressure.
We settled in and Mike gave us many suggestions on what to do and see in Merrickville. He gave us a map and explained how to find our way around.
We so enjoyed our night there and will be back very soon.
If you are headed that way I highly recommend you stay at this Guest house!!
Debbie Warren

Room Tip: Room 2 has the best view
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2015

Thank you for your wonderful five star guest review. We are glad you enjoyed our decor with our hand sewn quilts in all the guest rooms and common area, stained glass panels and antique furniture. We have designed our B&B to provide a comfortable, enjoyable and restful experience for our guests. We hope you will stay with us again in the future. Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2015

My wife and I set out for a 180 km weekend bike trip from Gatineau to Merrickville (https://goo.gl/Vsf5gF) with another couple. We got to the B&B around 5pm. We could use a locked shed to store our bikes for the night.

Our rooms (#1 and #2 overlooking the Rideau river) we ready and Mike was an excellent host to show us around. The rooms very new and extremely clean. Each room has an en-suite, walk in closet, free WiFi, TV, Netflix, comfy chairs, etc... The beds are also very comfortable. There is a 2nd floor patio (accessible from the common space between rooms 1 and 2) with chairs for the guests. This prove to be an excellent spot to relax after spending 6hrs on a bike. Breakfast consisted of muffins, cereal, coffee, fruit, granola bars and yogurt. There are a couple other spots close by where you can get something more elaborate but we didn't feel the need after finishing our breakfast.

Before leaving the next morning we had a bit of maintenance/adjusting to do on some bikes and Mike was really kind and offered his tools to help.

I would recommend this place to everyone! I'll definitely stay there again in the future if I happen to be in Merrickville for an overnight.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 1 and 2. They were excellent. I'm sure rooms 3 and 4 are as well but I didn't see them.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TA-JB87878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2015

We very much appreciate your wonderful guest review of our 1840 Guest House B&B. We have tried to make our B&B "bicycle friendly" by offering bicycle tour maps, locked bike storage area, trail advice and bicycle maintenance support tools. We even have recommendations for our businesses that can supply picnic lunches. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our B&B and got to visit the historic village of Merrickville. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews