We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Guest House in Merrickville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1840 Guest House B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Merrickville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Our family booked all four rooms at the 1840 Guest House for a three night stay in July. Everything was perfect from the time of booking to the end of our stay. Dawn and Mike have obviously put a lot of thought in to creating such a welcoming place.

The location is very convenient to shops, restaurants and the canal.

The layout of second floor of the Guest House was ideal for accommodating our group. We had the floor to ourselves and enjoyed the common area and balcony for visiting, and our private, well appointed rooms for quiet time. All four rooms are lovely. They are bright and airy, comfortable, spotless and spacious. We had everything we needed - lots of towels and pillows, Netflix, WiFi, breakfast goodies, bottled water, and a very helpful host and hostess.

The balcony overlooks the Rideau and we all found it a very peaceful spot to enjoy our morning coffee.

Dawn and Mike made us very welcome. Our stay in Merrickville at the beautiful 1840 Guest House was delightful and we would recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: All four rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MBL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our 1840 Guest House B&B. We appreciate the excellent 5 star rating and extensive write up you gave our B&B. We are glad you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay and that we were able to meet all your expectations. The view from the balcony of the Rideau river/canal is very scenic and we're glad you enjoyed having coffee while watching he boats go by. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you and your family will have an opportunity to stay with us again in the future. Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2015

Mike and Dawn are very hospitable hosts of this very charming B & B. They helped us find things to do in the area, the suggestions were very helpful. The accomodations were spacious, clean and neat. The modern full ensuite bathroom was a very nice added touch to our room. Our room had a view of the canal, something we enjoyed further by sitting on the second floor common balcony. A very nice destination to relax in after a full day of exploring the locks on the Rideau Canal.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank crostrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015

On July 20, 2015 I had a last minute late night request for a place to stay while on business in the area and Mike was very gracious and accommodating. It is a beautiful building with a convenient set up - four guest rooms on the spacious 2nd floor with a lovely balcony overlooking the Rideau. The room itself was luxurious with a very comfortable bed, lovely white duvet, and a good selection of toiletries. The self serve breakfast had a wide variety of coffees, fruits, cereals and other tasty items. I will definitely stay here again when I return. Thanks Mike.

Room Tip: All four rooms are beautiful, comfortable, private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2015

Thank you for you wonderful 5 star guest review. I'm glad your stay was memorable and that you enjoyed the scenic Rideau River view form our second storey balcony. We make every effort to make sure our rooms are well appointed and comfortable so guests have a relaxing enjoyable stay. Thank you again for your wonderful recommendation. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We had cycled from Ottawa to Merrickville to celebrate our 49th anniversary and found our first stay at the 1840 Guest House to be pretty much perfect. The room, "with a view" was terrific with big windows, furnished beautifully, lovely big bathroom, totally comfortable. The breakfast was great and we ate it out on the deck overlooking the canal. Mike and Dawn were very helpful and suggested a very nice place for dinner and directions for a evening walk beside the canal we would not have found alone. Highly recommended. Jim and Maureen Ramsay

Room Tip: front bedrooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Stayed here during a recent boating trip on the Rideau. Dawn welcomed us and showed us around, made sure that we were comfortable and felt at home. Met Mike later in the day and he proudly told us about Merrickville, what do to, where to shop and places to eat. The room was spacious and very comfortable. We will certainly stay here again.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank buka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015

Mike the Innkeeper was very helpful. His charming welcome and helpful hints were the highlight of our stay at the 1840 House Inn. The inn is very new and delightfully clean. We strolled about the village and the locks, had a glass of wine in the courtyard at the Baldecchin and dinner at the Gad's Hill Place Restaurant - not very good. Mike suggested a visit to the Rideau Ramble Garden which turned out to be a charming way to spend a couple of hours while waiting for the temperature to warm up so we could continue our cycling trip to Brockville and Gananoque. I highly recommend the 1840 House Inn and Mike the Innkeeper!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Suzie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2015

We very much appreciate your guest review of your stay at the 1840 Guest House B&B on your recent bicycle tour. We're glad we were able to make your bike tour an enjoyable one and provided interesting places to see and do around the wonderful village of Merrickville. Being a "bicycle friendly" B&B, located midway between Ottawa and Kingston, we have made every effort to support bicycle touring for enthusiasts like yourselves by providing secure bike storage, touring maps, repair assistance and local area knowledge. We hope you will make our B&B a part of your next bicycle tour and that you will bring others to enjoy Merrickville. Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

A very comfortable and clean B and B. MIKE offered us information about local places of interest. Even though we are from Brockville, not far away, we did not know about them. Lots of scenic views and history very close by. Enjoy.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank byron1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merrickville
15.1 km away
Best Western Smiths Falls Hotel
0.3 km away
Merrickville Guest Suites
Merrickville Guest Suites
#3 of 5 in Merrickville
71 reviews
38.4 km away
Sir Isaac Brock B&B Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.5 km away
Perth Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices

Been to 1840 Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840 Guest House B&B

Address: 223 Main Street West | PO Box 452, Merrickville, Ontario K0G 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Merrickville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Merrickville
Price Range: $115 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 1840 Guest House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern B&B accommodations overlooking the Rideau Canal, easy walking distance to Merrickville's "artisans" shops, fine restaurants, galleries and historic Rideau Canal and Museum. Entire second floor is dedicated to the comfort of our guests with four modern, clean, bright, spacious, air conditioned rooms with private ensuite, queen size bed, WiFi, satellite TV, NETFLIX movies, terry cloth bathrobes, desk and comfortable chairs. Common sitting / coffee area with Kuerig Coffee machine, fridge, microwave, tables and chairs and a balcony with a scenic view of the Rideau River/Canal. Hand sewn quilts, creative glass panels and antique furniture decorate rooms and guest areas. Continental breakfast supplied. Full breakfast available at excellent restaurant within easy walking distance (open 7:00AM). Bicycle friendly with locked storage area. Private free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your 1840 Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1840 Guest House B&B Merrickville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing