We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
138
18
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
18
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrideau canalyogurtcontinental breakfastbeautiful quiltshost mikestained glassfree wifigreat place to staywould definitely stay here againbottled waterrooms are spaciousself servemain streetwithin walking distancea lovely staylocal historymike's wife
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 157 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2015

Mike and Dawn are very hospitable hosts of this very charming B & B. They helped us find things to do in the area, the suggestions were very helpful. The accomodations were spacious, clean and neat. The modern full ensuite bathroom was a very nice added touch to our room. Our room had a view of the canal, something we enjoyed further by sitting on the second floor common balcony. A very nice destination to relax in after a full day of exploring the locks on the Rideau Canal.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank crostrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2015

On July 20, 2015 I had a last minute late night request for a place to stay while on business in the area and Mike was very gracious and accommodating. It is a beautiful building with a convenient set up - four guest rooms on the spacious 2nd floor with a lovely balcony overlooking the Rideau. The room itself was luxurious with a very comfortable bed, lovely white duvet, and a good selection of toiletries. The self serve breakfast had a wide variety of coffees, fruits, cereals and other tasty items. I will definitely stay here again when I return. Thanks Mike.

Room Tip: All four rooms are beautiful, comfortable, private and quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2015

Thank you for you wonderful 5 star guest review. I'm glad your stay was memorable and that you enjoyed the scenic Rideau River view form our second storey balcony. We make every effort to make sure our rooms are well appointed and comfortable so guests have a relaxing enjoyable stay. Thank you again for your wonderful recommendation. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2015

We had cycled from Ottawa to Merrickville to celebrate our 49th anniversary and found our first stay at the 1840 Guest House to be pretty much perfect. The room, "with a view" was terrific with big windows, furnished beautifully, lovely big bathroom, totally comfortable. The breakfast was great and we ate it out on the deck overlooking the canal. Mike and Dawn were very helpful and suggested a very nice place for dinner and directions for a evening walk beside the canal we would not have found alone. Highly recommended. Jim and Maureen Ramsay

Room Tip: front bedrooms have the best view
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2015

Stayed here during a recent boating trip on the Rideau. Dawn welcomed us and showed us around, made sure that we were comfortable and felt at home. Met Mike later in the day and he proudly told us about Merrickville, what do to, where to shop and places to eat. The room was spacious and very comfortable. We will certainly stay here again.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank buka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2015

Mike the Innkeeper was very helpful. His charming welcome and helpful hints were the highlight of our stay at the 1840 House Inn. The inn is very new and delightfully clean. We strolled about the village and the locks, had a glass of wine in the courtyard at the Baldecchin and dinner at the Gad's Hill Place Restaurant - not very good. Mike suggested a visit to the Rideau Ramble Garden which turned out to be a charming way to spend a couple of hours while waiting for the temperature to warm up so we could continue our cycling trip to Brockville and Gananoque. I highly recommend the 1840 House Inn and Mike the Innkeeper!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a river view
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Suzie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2015

We very much appreciate your guest review of your stay at the 1840 Guest House B&B on your recent bicycle tour. We're glad we were able to make your bike tour an enjoyable one and provided interesting places to see and do around the wonderful village of Merrickville. Being a "bicycle friendly" B&B, located midway between Ottawa and Kingston, we have made every effort to support bicycle touring for enthusiasts like yourselves by providing secure bike storage, touring maps, repair assistance and local area knowledge. We hope you will make our B&B a part of your next bicycle tour and that you will bring others to enjoy Merrickville. Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews