We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
147
19
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
19
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rideau canal fruit stained glass continental breakfast beautiful quilts host mike great place to stay free wifi would definitely stay here again bottled water in town local history the location is perfect electric fireplace local restaurants rooms are spacious next morning
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 167 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2015 via mobile

After 145km of riding we arrived at the 1840. Great place to stay for weary cyclists. Wonderful accommodations. Everything within a ten minute walk. Safe place to lock up bikes.

As per the owners request, to make it more bike friendly I would suggest the following.
--a bike wash station. Soap,sponge,brush,water.
--basic tools for maintenance such as a bike stand, basic tools, lube, tire pump, patch kit, sell spare tubes, energy bars.

Thanks for the pleasant stay.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank goteeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2015

Thank you for the wonderful "5 Star" guest review! We have tried to make our B&B bicycle friendly by offering secure bike storage, bike tour maps and providing early morning breakfast for early bike tour risers. We can provide bike wash facilities and already offer bike maintenance and repair support. We appreciate your business and if you have another opportunity to visit Merrickville we would love to have you as our guest again! Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2015 via mobile

Excellent B&B! Great rooms each nicely appointed with ensuite bathrooms. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Perfect to size to accommodate our pack'n play for our son, and a bonus to have childproof outlets! The B&B offers a nice view of the river, lots of green park space right beside, and is very close to all village shops. Our host, Mike, was outstanding and attentive to all our needs. We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JennyJetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2015

A lovely, clean and comfortable BnB with an interesting history. Mike is very helpful and accommodating and gave us good options for visiting in and around town - all great! Full disclosure - we had read that there is a river view, but it was blocked by boy scout trailers. If this would bother you, ask whether they are currently camping on site during your visit. Honestly, upon our initial arrival, we were a little disconcerted. After a few hours in the BnB and some homemade ice cream in town, we were hooked. We had a wonderful stay- absolutely no complaints. We had wished we had a clear view of the river, but the BnB was so nice, as was our host, we left very happy and relaxed.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2015

Thank you for your wonderful 5 star guest review! We take great pride in providing a welcoming, comfortable and relaxing stay for our guests. As you mentioned, with our B&B located in the center of Merrickville, we are within a short 2 block walk to wonderful shops and restaurants. Our second storey balcony overlooks the scenic Rideau River / Canal Waterway and the Lion's Club Campground. As we are located above the Rideau Canal the overall view is very scenic.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the 1840 Guest House B&B and hope that you will be our guests again in the future. Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2015

Our family booked all four rooms at the 1840 Guest House for a three night stay in July. Everything was perfect from the time of booking to the end of our stay. Dawn and Mike have obviously put a lot of thought in to creating such a welcoming place.

The location is very convenient to shops, restaurants and the canal.

The layout of second floor of the Guest House was ideal for accommodating our group. We had the floor to ourselves and enjoyed the common area and balcony for visiting, and our private, well appointed rooms for quiet time. All four rooms are lovely. They are bright and airy, comfortable, spotless and spacious. We had everything we needed - lots of towels and pillows, Netflix, WiFi, breakfast goodies, bottled water, and a very helpful host and hostess.

The balcony overlooks the Rideau and we all found it a very peaceful spot to enjoy our morning coffee.

Dawn and Mike made us very welcome. Our stay in Merrickville at the beautiful 1840 Guest House was delightful and we would recommend it without hesitation.

Room tip: All four rooms are lovely.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MBL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our 1840 Guest House B&B. We appreciate the excellent 5 star rating and extensive write up you gave our B&B. We are glad you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay and that we were able to meet all your expectations. The view from the balcony of the Rideau river/canal is very scenic and we're glad you enjoyed having coffee while watching he boats go by. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you and your family will have an opportunity to stay with us again in the future. Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2015

Mike and Dawn are very hospitable hosts of this very charming B & B. They helped us find things to do in the area, the suggestions were very helpful. The accomodations were spacious, clean and neat. The modern full ensuite bathroom was a very nice added touch to our room. Our room had a view of the canal, something we enjoyed further by sitting on the second floor common balcony. A very nice destination to relax in after a full day of exploring the locks on the Rideau Canal.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank crostrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews