We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
138
18
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
18
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrideau canalyogurtcontinental breakfastbeautiful quiltshost mikestained glassfree wifigreat place to staywould definitely stay here againbottled waterrooms are spaciousself servemain streetwithin walking distancea lovely staylocal historymike's wife
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 157 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2015

We spent one night in the 1840 Guest House B&B on our boat trip on the Rideau. We docked the boat in Merrickville, just a short walk from the B&B. Mike was a great host, very informative and welcoming. Our room had a view of the canal and it was spotlessly clean, including the ensuite bath. The bed was comfortable and the room was very quiet. The do-it-yourself continental breakfast was more than adequate. We would highly recommend the 1840 Guest House B&B to anyone looking for a clean, comfortable and affordable place to stay in Merrrickville.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Traveler22011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2015

Gorgeous B&B, Mike is a very welcoming and accommodating host. We stayed one night as part of a paddling trip on the Rideau. I would recommend the 1840 to all paddlers, looking for good accommodations.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2015

Thank you for your wonderful 5 star guest review. As you stated, we are located on the Rideau Canal Waterway and offer our paddling guests easy access to our B&B from the waterway.
Being paddler friendly, and located beside the Rideau Canal Waterway, we provide easy B&B access and have secure canoe and kayak parking and a secure lockup storage areas to put away paddling accessories. We would love to have you and other paddlers stay with us again, perhaps during the fall when the autumn leaves are beautiful along the river.
Happy paddling! Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2015

My husband and I had cycled in from Ottawa on a very hot summer day. We had set out early to beat the heat so we arrived just after the previous guests had checked out. We were nonetheless welcomed by our hosts who were extremely accommodating. They let us enjoy refreshing drinks on the patio while they immediately made up our room for us.

The room itself was spacious and spotlessly clean. The bed was oh-so-comfortable and we were so impressed by the beautiful quilts that decorated the B&B. I liked how breakfast items were set out in the common area the night before and we were able to help ourselves the next morning. This was great for us since we were up fairly early to get back on our bikes.

The guesthouse is close to Merrickville's many quaint artisanal shops and the area is great for cycling.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review of our B&B. We very much appreciate your 5 star ranking! We are a bicycle friendly B&B and do our very best to ensure our guests have a comfortable and relaxing stay especially after a long cycle trip! We appreciate knowing that our self serving continental breakfast (that is set up the evening before) worked for your early bike tour start. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future. Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2015 via mobile

After 145km of riding we arrived at the 1840. Great place to stay for weary cyclists. Wonderful accommodations. Everything within a ten minute walk. Safe place to lock up bikes.

As per the owners request, to make it more bike friendly I would suggest the following.
--a bike wash station. Soap,sponge,brush,water.
--basic tools for maintenance such as a bike stand, basic tools, lube, tire pump, patch kit, sell spare tubes, energy bars.

Thanks for the pleasant stay.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank goteeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2015

Thank you for the wonderful "5 Star" guest review! We have tried to make our B&B bicycle friendly by offering secure bike storage, bike tour maps and providing early morning breakfast for early bike tour risers. We can provide bike wash facilities and already offer bike maintenance and repair support. We appreciate your business and if you have another opportunity to visit Merrickville we would love to have you as our guest again! Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2015 via mobile

Excellent B&B! Great rooms each nicely appointed with ensuite bathrooms. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Perfect to size to accommodate our pack'n play for our son, and a bonus to have childproof outlets! The B&B offers a nice view of the river, lots of green park space right beside, and is very close to all village shops. Our host, Mike, was outstanding and attentive to all our needs. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank JennyJetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews