We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
147
19
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
19
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rideau canal fruit stained glass continental breakfast beautiful quilts host mike great place to stay free wifi would definitely stay here again bottled water in town local history the location is perfect electric fireplace local restaurants rooms are spacious next morning
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 167 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2015

We had a great time this past weekend at the 1840 Guest House B&B! Such a great place to stay. The owners are very welcoming and accommodating. They gave great advice about restaurants shops and near by bike routes. The room was very nice and clean. If you're planing a bike trip this is the perfect place to stay as they have a shed to lock bikes and provide local bike routes and maps. I would definitely stay here again! Thanks for the great Merrickville experience.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Krystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2015

Thank you for your wonderful 5 star guest review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at our 1840 Guest House B&B during your bicycle tour. We have tried very hard to provide a safe, bicycle friendly atmosphere at our B&B by providing locked bicycle storage, bicycle touring maps, info on area attractions, early morning breakfast and bike maintenance support. We hope you enjoyed the area bicycle routes along the Rideau Canal and will come to stay with us again in the future.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2015

Stayed one night on Labour Day weekend. The village was bustling, and only a few minutes walk away! Mike was a great host, rooms were modern and tasteful, beds very comfy! Breakfast was cold, simple and effective. Excellent value!

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2015

I really appreciate your guest review and the excellent 5 star rating you have given our B&B.
As you mentioned, being in the village, within walking distance of Merrickville's business district, we provide our guests easy access to our 1800's village with it's artisan shops, restaurants and historic lock / museum sites. By providing a village map and information on the village shops and attractions we hope you had a great time in Merrickville!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the 1840 Guest House B&B and appreciate your wonderful recommendation. Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2015

A group of six of us, including family and friends, stopped at the 1840 Guest House for an overnight stay during our kayaking trip from Jones Falls to Ottawa. We were impressed by the warm hospitality and friendliness of the hosts, Dawn and Mike. The rooms were clean and beautiful, with very comfortable beds. The location is within easy walking distance to the Rideau Canal and key amenities. We look forward to our next visit.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2015

Thank you for the wonderful "5 star" review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we very much appreciate your recommendation for other travelers to stay with us.
As you mentioned, our B&B location in the heart of Merrickville allows our guests to walk to all of the many artisan shops, galleries, restaurants and museums in our wonderful village.
We have easy access (less than 1 hour travel time) to many major cities including Ottawa, Kanata, Brockville, Kemptville, Smiths Falls.and highway 401.
We enjoyed discussing all the villages shops and the areas attractions.
We hope that you will come stay with us again in the future.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2015

We spent one night in the 1840 Guest House B&B on our boat trip on the Rideau. We docked the boat in Merrickville, just a short walk from the B&B. Mike was a great host, very informative and welcoming. Our room had a view of the canal and it was spotlessly clean, including the ensuite bath. The bed was comfortable and the room was very quiet. The do-it-yourself continental breakfast was more than adequate. We would highly recommend the 1840 Guest House B&B to anyone looking for a clean, comfortable and affordable place to stay in Merrrickville.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Traveler22011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2015

Gorgeous B&B, Mike is a very welcoming and accommodating host. We stayed one night as part of a paddling trip on the Rideau. I would recommend the 1840 to all paddlers, looking for good accommodations.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2015

Thank you for your wonderful 5 star guest review. As you stated, we are located on the Rideau Canal Waterway and offer our paddling guests easy access to our B&B from the waterway.
Being paddler friendly, and located beside the Rideau Canal Waterway, we provide easy B&B access and have secure canoe and kayak parking and a secure lockup storage areas to put away paddling accessories. We would love to have you and other paddlers stay with us again, perhaps during the fall when the autumn leaves are beautiful along the river.
Happy paddling! Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews