We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrific getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1840 Guest House B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Merrickville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2015

My wife and I stayed one night at this terrific "getaway" location. Mike and Dawn have obviously invested a lot into creating a "home-away-from-home" atmosphere. If you are looking for a VERY affordable, spotless, tranquil location within a few steps of charming Merrickville and the town's specialty shops then this is a place you must consider. The things that most people look for waiting for you: the bed was very comfortable, the room we had (Number 2) was spacious, the room and ensuite were spotless. The owners set up a "continental breakfast" just outside the rooms and provide a suggestion for a local restaurant should you be inclined to have a full breakfast. This aspect goes a long way to making this experience so affordable! We will be returning with the intention to stay two nights and indulge in the "spa package". We will add our vote to those who have already left their reviews- Two Thumbs Up!! Steven and Lynn, Bainsville, Ont.

Room Tip: We were given Room 2 which apparently is the largest and has a view of the famous Rideau Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alpha-Blondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2015

Thank you for your excellent review comments.
We take great pride in providing an affordable, enjoyable getaway for our guests and we very much appreciated your "home away from home atmosphere" comment.
As you mentioned, Merrickville is indeed a "charming" village to visit and has many unique shops and businesses to explore.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you return on our "SPA Getaway For Two" discount package.
Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2015

Very generous offering a free nights stay to Military or veterans on Remembrance Day. Extremely clean and comfortable rooms! Enjoyed our visit with Mike. Convenient location to wander around the village.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharelOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2015

Thank you for spending Remembrance day with us at the 1840 Guest House B&B.
Being involved in the "B&B's For Vets" program where we offer free accommodations for military personnel on Remembrance Day is our way to give back and show our appreciation to our Vets. This year we offered free accommodations to three military couples all of whom appreciated their mini vacation. We are glad you enjoyed your stay on this special day of remembrance.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2015

Stayed at the "1840" on Oct. 19th. This is a very welcoming, beautifully decorated,super place to stay. Host Mike was very friendly and accommodating. Self serve continental breakfast had great choices including fresh fruit. Location is right on the Rideau Canal- weather permitting you can have breakfast outdoors on the balcony. Would stay here again anytime. A home away from home - for sure!

Room Tip: Every room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gloria881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2015

Thank you for your wonderful "5 star" review of our 1840 Guest House B&B.
I'm glad your enjoyed your stay and the view of the Rideau River from our 2nd storey balcony. We have had a number of guests that commented they enjoyed their stay just relaxing with a glass of wine while watching the boats go by on the Rideau River.
We very much appreciate your referral for our B&B and would love you to stay with us again in the future. Thank you again.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

If you are planning a trip along 43 highway in eastern Ontario be sure to book a reservation at the 1840 Guest House in Merrickville. We had planned on one night and stayed three. Beautiful B&B, new, modern and spotless along with wonderful hosts. The town of Merrickville is a gem and Mike was a great help and kept us busy checking out the local points of interest. A very relaxing and enjoyable three days.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank ben46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Manager at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2015

We very much appreciate your "5 star" guest review of our 1840 Guest House B&B.
You are right that Merrickville is a wonderful historic 1800's village that has lots to see and do. Located in the center of Merrickville, our B&B is within walking distance to the historic Blockhouse Museum, Merrickville locks, artisan's shops, metal foundry, glass blowing and much more.
We are glad you enjoyed Merrickville and your stay at our B&B.
Hopefully you will have another opportunity to come and stay with us again in the future.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Host is very knowledgeable,friendly and courteous.My only comment is to let further guests know that you need cash or cheque to pay for your stay. Is close to everything. especiallly considering we were here for annual jazz festival and they use various places in the town.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Hello Mark,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the 1840 Guest House B&B during the Merrickville Jazz Festival!
To clarify, we do notify every guest that payment is by cash or cheque in the reservation confirmation Email that we send. We also indicate that credit cards are not accepted in our B&B website and in our Booking.com and Expedia reservation websites.
Not having credit card user fees allows us to pass on the savings to our guests in the form of lower room rates.
I'm very sorry for the payment confusion and regret any inconvenience this caused.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

The highlights of this wonderful B&B are the large, clean, airy rooms and Mike, the owner. Every amenity you could hope for in a room, including cable TV, Netflix, electric fireplace, clean/comfortable bed, free wifi, large/clean bathroom. The continental breakfast is served right outside your room door and is complete with muffins, cereal, yogurt and choices of teas and coffees. The rooms are all upstairs and there is a balcony off the common area that overlooks the river. Mike is so warm and friendly. He was very helpful in recommending several restaurants for dinner. He was also a wealth of information about the area and about the history of his home. The little town has several quaint shops and is a haven for artists, so you see a lot of original artwork. It was a perfect stop-over on our trip from Montreal to Niagara Falls!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side if you want that view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank missclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

We very much appreciate your excellent "5 star" review of our 1840 Guest House B&B!
We take great care to ensure that our guests have a comfortable, relaxing stay.
As you mentioned, we provide all the amenities i.e. Satellite TV, NETFLIX, private ensuite, free parking, free coffee and tea, etc. to ensure that your stay is enjoyable. We provide maps and local area knowledge so you can enjoy the many artisans shops, restaurants, gardens and local historic attractions around Merrickville.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will return to enjoy wonderful Merrickville soon.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Comfortable, clean and accommodating sums up our recent three day stay. Our host was full of knowledge about things to see and do in the area. Continental breakfast was simple yet offered a variety of choices. Being within a few minutes walk to the town and the Rideau Canal was a bonus.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank 17murielb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2015

Thank you for your "5 star" excellent guest review!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
As you mentioned, our location provides easy, walk-able access to the village business district, and overlooks the Rideau Canal Waterway enabling our guests to enjoy both the scenic beauty of the Rideau and the wonderful artisan shops and businesses.
We very much appreciate your staying with us and hope you will return to enjoy our wonderful village of Merrickville again in the future.
Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merrickville
15.1 km away
Best Western Smiths Falls Hotel
0.3 km away
Merrickville Guest Suites
Merrickville Guest Suites
#3 of 5 in Merrickville
71 reviews
38.4 km away
Sir Isaac Brock B&B Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.5 km away
Perth Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices

Been to 1840 Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840 Guest House B&B

Address: 223 Main Street West | PO Box 452, Merrickville, Ontario K0G 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Merrickville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Merrickville
Price Range: $115 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 1840 Guest House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern B&B accommodations overlooking the Rideau Canal, easy walking distance to Merrickville's "artisans" shops, fine restaurants, galleries and historic Rideau Canal and Museum. Entire second floor is dedicated to the comfort of our guests with four modern, clean, bright, spacious, air conditioned rooms with private ensuite, queen size bed, WiFi, satellite TV, NETFLIX movies, terry cloth bathrobes, desk and comfortable chairs. Common sitting / coffee area with Kuerig Coffee machine, fridge, microwave, tables and chairs and a balcony with a scenic view of the Rideau River/Canal. Hand sewn quilts, creative glass panels and antique furniture decorate rooms and guest areas. Continental breakfast supplied. Full breakfast available at excellent restaurant within easy walking distance (open 7:00AM). Bicycle friendly with locked storage area. Private free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your 1840 Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1840 Guest House B&B Merrickville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing