We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
144
19
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
19
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rideau canal yogurt continental breakfast beautiful quilts host mike stained glass free wifi great place to stay would definitely stay here again bottled water rooms are spacious self serve main street within walking distance a lovely stay local history mike's wife
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 164 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2015

Very generous offering a free nights stay to Military or veterans on Remembrance Day. Extremely clean and comfortable rooms! Enjoyed our visit with Mike. Convenient location to wander around the village.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharelOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2015

Thank you for spending Remembrance day with us at the 1840 Guest House B&B.
Being involved in the "B&B's For Vets" program where we offer free accommodations for military personnel on Remembrance Day is our way to give back and show our appreciation to our Vets. This year we offered free accommodations to three military couples all of whom appreciated their mini vacation. We are glad you enjoyed your stay on this special day of remembrance.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2015

Stayed at the "1840" on Oct. 19th. This is a very welcoming, beautifully decorated,super place to stay. Host Mike was very friendly and accommodating. Self serve continental breakfast had great choices including fresh fruit. Location is right on the Rideau Canal- weather permitting you can have breakfast outdoors on the balcony. Would stay here again anytime. A home away from home - for sure!

Room Tip: Every room is lovely.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gloria881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2015

Thank you for your wonderful "5 star" review of our 1840 Guest House B&B.
I'm glad your enjoyed your stay and the view of the Rideau River from our 2nd storey balcony. We have had a number of guests that commented they enjoyed their stay just relaxing with a glass of wine while watching the boats go by on the Rideau River.
We very much appreciate your referral for our B&B and would love you to stay with us again in the future. Thank you again.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2015 via mobile

If you are planning a trip along 43 highway in eastern Ontario be sure to book a reservation at the 1840 Guest House in Merrickville. We had planned on one night and stayed three. Beautiful B&B, new, modern and spotless along with wonderful hosts. The town of Merrickville is a gem and Mike was a great help and kept us busy checking out the local points of interest. A very relaxing and enjoyable three days.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank ben46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Manager at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2015

We very much appreciate your "5 star" guest review of our 1840 Guest House B&B.
You are right that Merrickville is a wonderful historic 1800's village that has lots to see and do. Located in the center of Merrickville, our B&B is within walking distance to the historic Blockhouse Museum, Merrickville locks, artisan's shops, metal foundry, glass blowing and much more.
We are glad you enjoyed Merrickville and your stay at our B&B.
Hopefully you will have another opportunity to come and stay with us again in the future.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2015

Host is very knowledgeable,friendly and courteous.My only comment is to let further guests know that you need cash or cheque to pay for your stay. Is close to everything. especiallly considering we were here for annual jazz festival and they use various places in the town.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2015

Hello Mark,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the 1840 Guest House B&B during the Merrickville Jazz Festival!
To clarify, we do notify every guest that payment is by cash or cheque in the reservation confirmation Email that we send. We also indicate that credit cards are not accepted in our B&B website and in our Booking.com and Expedia reservation websites.
Not having credit card user fees allows us to pass on the savings to our guests in the form of lower room rates.
I'm very sorry for the payment confusion and regret any inconvenience this caused.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2015

The highlights of this wonderful B&B are the large, clean, airy rooms and Mike, the owner. Every amenity you could hope for in a room, including cable TV, Netflix, electric fireplace, clean/comfortable bed, free wifi, large/clean bathroom. The continental breakfast is served right outside your room door and is complete with muffins, cereal, yogurt and choices of teas and coffees. The rooms are all upstairs and there is a balcony off the common area that overlooks the river. Mike is so warm and friendly. He was very helpful in recommending several restaurants for dinner. He was also a wealth of information about the area and about the history of his home. The little town has several quaint shops and is a haven for artists, so you see a lot of original artwork. It was a perfect stop-over on our trip from Montreal to Niagara Falls!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side if you want that view.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2015

We very much appreciate your excellent "5 star" review of our 1840 Guest House B&B!
We take great care to ensure that our guests have a comfortable, relaxing stay.
As you mentioned, we provide all the amenities i.e. Satellite TV, NETFLIX, private ensuite, free parking, free coffee and tea, etc. to ensure that your stay is enjoyable. We provide maps and local area knowledge so you can enjoy the many artisans shops, restaurants, gardens and local historic attractions around Merrickville.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will return to enjoy wonderful Merrickville soon.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews