We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
144
19
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
19
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rideau canal yogurt continental breakfast beautiful quilts host mike stained glass free wifi great place to stay would definitely stay here again bottled water rooms are spacious self serve main street within walking distance a lovely stay local history mike's wife
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 164 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2015

Booked an over nite stay and were totally blown away by the location, right on the Rideau River in the historic village of Merrickville. Walking distance to eateries, shops and LCBO. Room had private bathroom, beautiful furniture and decorations. Access to fridge. Couldn't ask for more! Property was clean, down right spotless.

And our host , Mike was so friendly and welcoming. Had everything at his finger tips. Menus from local eateries, points of interest, discounts at some of the local retail establishments and intimate knowledge of the area.

My husband gave this a 14 out of 10 and I totally agree.

Room Tip: Both back rooms overlook beautiful view of River.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2016

We very much appreciate your "5 star" rated guest review of the 1840 Guest House B&B. We strive to provide a comfortable, enjoyable stay for our guests and your wonderful comments make it all worthwhile. As you stated, our location on the Rideau River, within walking distance to Merrickville's artisan shops is very convenient. Our free parking, unlimited beverages (tea, coffee orange juice), continental breakfast and local area knowledge is all part of the B&B experience we provide to make you sty memorable. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 25, 2015 via mobile

We have stayed here several times at Christmas and holidays for one or two nights. Always great, we really enjoy the ambience and friendliness of Mike and Dawn. The continental breakfast is just right. A great 'deal' compared to others in the vicinity.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2015 via mobile

Excellent service and very warm accommodations! Clean, comfortable and inviting. The continental breakfast was nice and we loved the view from our room. We had a wonderful stay and didn't want to leave. We look forward to coming back again in the spring!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
Thank alex7654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2015

Hello Alex, Thank you for the wonderful 5 star guest review!
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at the 1840 Guest House B&B and loved your comment that "you didn't want to leave"!
We strive to provide a warm, comfortable B&B experience for our guests and look forward to seeing you next year.
Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2015

My husband and I had an opportunity to stay at this B&B a couple of weeks ago. My husband was reluctant to stay at a B&B - this was his first stay at a B&B. What a fantastic B&B - the rooms are beautifully appointed with quilts, the bed is ultra comfortable, the rooms are meticulous and the hospitality from Mike and his wife were out of this world. The rooms are located upstairs - very private - you do not feel as though you are encroaching on the owners. The location is walking distance to great shopping and restaurants. The continental breakfast and the selection of coffees and teas was abundant. The true testament to our experience is the fact that my husband wants to return - in fact we've already booked our next visit. We are looking forward to our room facing the Rideau.

Room Tip: Room #1 and #2 have the view of the Rideau Canal.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bopey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2015

Thank you for your guest review. We were very proud to offer you free accommodations during our "B&B For Vets" event for armed forces personnel to commemorate Remembrance Day.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and got to explore all the artisan shops and unique businesses in Merrickville.
Thank you for staying with us and hopefully you will come visit us again.
Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 22, 2015

My wife and I stayed one night at this terrific "getaway" location. Mike and Dawn have obviously invested a lot into creating a "home-away-from-home" atmosphere. If you are looking for a VERY affordable, spotless, tranquil location within a few steps of charming Merrickville and the town's specialty shops then this is a place you must consider. The things that most people look for waiting for you: the bed was very comfortable, the room we had (Number 2) was spacious, the room and ensuite were spotless. The owners set up a "continental breakfast" just outside the rooms and provide a suggestion for a local restaurant should you be inclined to have a full breakfast. This aspect goes a long way to making this experience so affordable! We will be returning with the intention to stay two nights and indulge in the "spa package". We will add our vote to those who have already left their reviews- Two Thumbs Up!! Steven and Lynn, Bainsville, Ont.

Room Tip: We were given Room 2 which apparently is the largest and has a view of the famous Rideau Canal.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alpha-Blondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2015

Thank you for your excellent review comments.
We take great pride in providing an affordable, enjoyable getaway for our guests and we very much appreciated your "home away from home atmosphere" comment.
As you mentioned, Merrickville is indeed a "charming" village to visit and has many unique shops and businesses to explore.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you return on our "SPA Getaway For Two" discount package.
Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews