We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Our Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1840 Guest House B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Merrickville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2016

We have just returned from a one-night stay at 1840 Guest House and wish we could have stayed longer. From the beautifully appointed room, to the very gracious hosts, it was a perfect stay. "Pristine" is the word my husband used to describe the cleanliness, and we enjoyed all the amenities in our suite. The continental breakfast was very good and prepared in a manner that showed attention to detail. This B & B rivals 5-star hotels for pampering guests. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All the suites are beautiful, but the ones nearest the Rideau have a gorgeous view.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank candyp776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

Describing our B&B as having "pristine" cleanliness is a wonderful compliment for any B&B! We appreciated your "5 star" guest rating and are glad you had "a perfect stay". We enjoyed your company and look forward to having you both as our guests in the future.
Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for 1840 Guest House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2016

I would highly recommend this B&B to everyone. Loved the place. Rooms were very clean and beautifully decorated. Had our own bathroom, TV with Netflix, WiFi and fireplace. Bed was very comfortable. Mike was a great host and very knowledgeable about the area. Would love to go back in the summer as the view from room overlooking the Rideau would be beautiful.
Liz

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizj59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

Thank you for the wonderful "5 star" recommendation of your stay at the 1840 Guest House B&B! As you stated, having a clean, comfortable room that is beautifully decorated with all the amenities ensures a relaxing, enjoyable stay. We hope you do return in the summer to enjoy watching the boats on the Canal from our second storey balcony. We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to your return visit
Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Mike was a great host and tended to our every needs. The rooms were spacious, sparkling clean and had all the enmities you'd expect from a 5 star hotel room. From free Wi-Fi and Netflix to a cozy fireplace. I would recommend this B&B to everyone!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view. There are only 2
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2016

Thank you for your recommendation of our 1840 Guest House B&B and your 5 star guest rating.
I'm glad your stay was comfortable, cozy and enjoyable and that you felt that we were able to meet your needs and expectations.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to you will stay with us again soon.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2015

Booked an over nite stay and were totally blown away by the location, right on the Rideau River in the historic village of Merrickville. Walking distance to eateries, shops and LCBO. Room had private bathroom, beautiful furniture and decorations. Access to fridge. Couldn't ask for more! Property was clean, down right spotless.

And our host , Mike was so friendly and welcoming. Had everything at his finger tips. Menus from local eateries, points of interest, discounts at some of the local retail establishments and intimate knowledge of the area.

My husband gave this a 14 out of 10 and I totally agree.

Room Tip: Both back rooms overlook beautiful view of River.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2016

We very much appreciate your "5 star" rated guest review of the 1840 Guest House B&B. We strive to provide a comfortable, enjoyable stay for our guests and your wonderful comments make it all worthwhile. As you stated, our location on the Rideau River, within walking distance to Merrickville's artisan shops is very convenient. Our free parking, unlimited beverages (tea, coffee orange juice), continental breakfast and local area knowledge is all part of the B&B experience we provide to make you sty memorable. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2015 via mobile

We have stayed here several times at Christmas and holidays for one or two nights. Always great, we really enjoy the ambience and friendliness of Mike and Dawn. The continental breakfast is just right. A great 'deal' compared to others in the vicinity.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank eat-hearty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2015 via mobile

Excellent service and very warm accommodations! Clean, comfortable and inviting. The continental breakfast was nice and we loved the view from our room. We had a wonderful stay and didn't want to leave. We look forward to coming back again in the spring!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
Thank alex7654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2015

Hello Alex, Thank you for the wonderful 5 star guest review!
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at the 1840 Guest House B&B and loved your comment that "you didn't want to leave"!
We strive to provide a warm, comfortable B&B experience for our guests and look forward to seeing you next year.
Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015

My husband and I had an opportunity to stay at this B&B a couple of weeks ago. My husband was reluctant to stay at a B&B - this was his first stay at a B&B. What a fantastic B&B - the rooms are beautifully appointed with quilts, the bed is ultra comfortable, the rooms are meticulous and the hospitality from Mike and his wife were out of this world. The rooms are located upstairs - very private - you do not feel as though you are encroaching on the owners. The location is walking distance to great shopping and restaurants. The continental breakfast and the selection of coffees and teas was abundant. The true testament to our experience is the fact that my husband wants to return - in fact we've already booked our next visit. We are looking forward to our room facing the Rideau.

Room Tip: Room #1 and #2 have the view of the Rideau Canal.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bopey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2015

Thank you for your guest review. We were very proud to offer you free accommodations during our "B&B For Vets" event for armed forces personnel to commemorate Remembrance Day.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and got to explore all the artisan shops and unique businesses in Merrickville.
Thank you for staying with us and hopefully you will come visit us again.
Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merrickville
18.9 km away
Kemptville Suites
Kemptville Suites
#1 of 3 in Kemptville
77 reviews
15.1 km away
Best Western Smiths Falls Hotel
14.3 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in Smiths Falls
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Merrickville Guest Suites
Merrickville Guest Suites
#3 of 5 in Merrickville
67 reviews
16.1 km away
Abbott Road Suites
Abbott Road Suites
#1 of 5 in Kemptville
37 reviews
32.5 km away
Perth Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1840 Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840 Guest House B&B

Address: 223 Main Street West | PO Box 452, Merrickville, Ontario K0G 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Merrickville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Merrickville
Price Range: $115 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 1840 Guest House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern B&B accommodations overlooking the Rideau Canal, easy walking distance to Merrickville's "artisans" shops, fine restaurants, galleries and historic Rideau Canal and Museum. Entire second floor is dedicated to the comfort of our guests with four modern, clean, bright, spacious, air conditioned rooms with private ensuite, queen size bed, WiFi, satellite TV, NETFLIX movies, terry cloth bathrobes, desk and comfortable chairs. Common sitting / coffee area with Kuerig Coffee machine, fridge, microwave, tables and chairs and a balcony with a scenic view of the Rideau River/Canal. Hand sewn quilts, creative glass panels and antique furniture decorate rooms and guest areas. Continental breakfast supplied. Full breakfast available at excellent restaurant within easy walking distance (open 7:00AM). Bicycle friendly with locked storage area. Private free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your 1840 Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1840 Guest House B&B Merrickville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing