We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
147
19
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
19
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rideau canal fruit stained glass continental breakfast beautiful quilts host mike great place to stay free wifi would definitely stay here again bottled water in town local history the location is perfect electric fireplace local restaurants rooms are spacious next morning
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 167 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2016

I would highly recommend this B&B to everyone. Loved the place. Rooms were very clean and beautifully decorated. Had our own bathroom, TV with Netflix, WiFi and fireplace. Bed was very comfortable. Mike was a great host and very knowledgeable about the area. Would love to go back in the summer as the view from room overlooking the Rideau would be beautiful.
Liz

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizj59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2016

Thank you for the wonderful "5 star" recommendation of your stay at the 1840 Guest House B&B! As you stated, having a clean, comfortable room that is beautifully decorated with all the amenities ensures a relaxing, enjoyable stay. We hope you do return in the summer to enjoy watching the boats on the Canal from our second storey balcony. We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to your return visit
Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2016

Mike was a great host and tended to our every needs. The rooms were spacious, sparkling clean and had all the enmities you'd expect from a 5 star hotel room. From free Wi-Fi and Netflix to a cozy fireplace. I would recommend this B&B to everyone!

Room tip: Ask for a room with a river view. There are only 2
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2016

Thank you for your recommendation of our 1840 Guest House B&B and your 5 star guest rating.
I'm glad your stay was comfortable, cozy and enjoyable and that you felt that we were able to meet your needs and expectations.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to you will stay with us again soon.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2015

Booked an over nite stay and were totally blown away by the location, right on the Rideau River in the historic village of Merrickville. Walking distance to eateries, shops and LCBO. Room had private bathroom, beautiful furniture and decorations. Access to fridge. Couldn't ask for more! Property was clean, down right spotless.

And our host , Mike was so friendly and welcoming. Had everything at his finger tips. Menus from local eateries, points of interest, discounts at some of the local retail establishments and intimate knowledge of the area.

My husband gave this a 14 out of 10 and I totally agree.

Room tip: Both back rooms overlook beautiful view of River.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2016

We very much appreciate your "5 star" rated guest review of the 1840 Guest House B&B. We strive to provide a comfortable, enjoyable stay for our guests and your wonderful comments make it all worthwhile. As you stated, our location on the Rideau River, within walking distance to Merrickville's artisan shops is very convenient. Our free parking, unlimited beverages (tea, coffee orange juice), continental breakfast and local area knowledge is all part of the B&B experience we provide to make you sty memorable. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 25, 2015 via mobile

We have stayed here several times at Christmas and holidays for one or two nights. Always great, we really enjoy the ambience and friendliness of Mike and Dawn. The continental breakfast is just right. A great 'deal' compared to others in the vicinity.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2015 via mobile

Excellent service and very warm accommodations! Clean, comfortable and inviting. The continental breakfast was nice and we loved the view from our room. We had a wonderful stay and didn't want to leave. We look forward to coming back again in the spring!

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank alex7654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2015

Hello Alex, Thank you for the wonderful 5 star guest review!
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at the 1840 Guest House B&B and loved your comment that "you didn't want to leave"!
We strive to provide a warm, comfortable B&B experience for our guests and look forward to seeing you next year.
Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews