We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
138
18
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
18
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrideau canalyogurtcontinental breakfastbeautiful quiltshost mikestained glassfree wifigreat place to staywould definitely stay here againbottled waterrooms are spaciousself servemain streetwithin walking distancea lovely staylocal historymike's wife
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 157 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2016

Four of us stayed for 2 nights in this comfortable and spotless B&B. Dawn greeted us and showed us to our rooms and shared space. Mike was very kind to fill us in about local sites and history. We were able to help ourselves to fruit, coffee, tea, juices, muffins, and cereal bars. Definitely look this B&B up if you are going to be in the Ottawa area!
Janie & Peter Moore

Room Tip: The room so at the front are quieter - horseshoe pits at the back/Local Legion next door.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2016

Mike and Dawn are perfect hosts for this spotless well appointed b nb Continental breakfast was lots for a good start to a day of strolling this historic village.Very friendly with lots of ideas for great visit. Everything you need is easy walking from here.We have never stayed anywhere cleaner or nicer!!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Davlin48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2016

We enjoyed the B&B in Merrickville. It was a lovely new facility. The hosts Mike and Dawn were very approachable. The building also has an interesting history as a school and Canadian Legion. It now houses a naturopath/yoga studio.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank br00kechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2016

Great place to stay. Large bedrooms and bathrooms and nice view of the canal and river. There is a nice balcony and eating area beautifully furnished and decorated with artwork done by the owner(quilts and stained glass).
The hospitality was great. Couldn't ask for a better location in town- walking distance to everything.
Hope to come back in the summer.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2016

Wow, thank you for the wonderful "5 Star" review!qa
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take in some of the great Merrickville artisans shops that are located nearby.
We enjoyed discussing some of the local attractions with you and hope you have another opportunity to come back when the award winning Rideau Woodland Ramble gardens is in full bloom.
We look forward to having you both stay with us again.
Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2016 via mobile

This bed-and-breakfast has to be rated number one as first class. Everything was excellent the host went out of his way to help my husband. They offer a lovely morning breakfast Bar with assorted cold foods and snacks even available all day. Our room was beautiful with gorgeous linens fireplace and modern and spotless. A gem found in merrickville right down in the shopping district.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank Lizzy4589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2016

Thank you for your wonderful "5 Star" review and " a gem found in Merrickville" comment of our 1840 Guest House B&B.
We really appreciate knowing that you had a "first class" stay in our modern, "home away from home" B&B!
It is very rewarding to hear that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our modern accommodations, complimentary beverages, continental breakfast and helpful service.
As you mentioned, our B&B's location in Merrickville's shopping district means you are just steps from local artisans shops, restaurants, galleries and the Rideau Canal.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will be our guests again in the future.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews