We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a wonderful stay at this B&B in Merrickville.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1840 Guest House B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Merrickville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2016

We had a wonderful stay at this B&B in Merrickville.

The hosts were friendly and shared the history of their home and its décor. The bedrooms and bathrooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable. The breakfast hall is set up for guests to use at any time of day or night.

It is conveniently located close to the river, the canal lock, the main streets, shopping and all amenities in Merrickville.

We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone intending to visit the area.

Thank you Mike and Dawn.

Room Tip: Book well in advance to be sure of a reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2016

Four of us stayed for 2 nights in this comfortable and spotless B&B. Dawn greeted us and showed us to our rooms and shared space. Mike was very kind to fill us in about local sites and history. We were able to help ourselves to fruit, coffee, tea, juices, muffins, and cereal bars. Definitely look this B&B up if you are going to be in the Ottawa area!
Janie & Peter Moore

Room Tip: The room so at the front are quieter - horseshoe pits at the back/Local Legion next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016

Mike and Dawn are perfect hosts for this spotless well appointed b nb Continental breakfast was lots for a good start to a day of strolling this historic village.Very friendly with lots of ideas for great visit. Everything you need is easy walking from here.We have never stayed anywhere cleaner or nicer!!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Davlin48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

We enjoyed the B&B in Merrickville. It was a lovely new facility. The hosts Mike and Dawn were very approachable. The building also has an interesting history as a school and Canadian Legion. It now houses a naturopath/yoga studio.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank br00kechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Great place to stay. Large bedrooms and bathrooms and nice view of the canal and river. There is a nice balcony and eating area beautifully furnished and decorated with artwork done by the owner(quilts and stained glass).
The hospitality was great. Couldn't ask for a better location in town- walking distance to everything.
Hope to come back in the summer.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Wow, thank you for the wonderful "5 Star" review!qa
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take in some of the great Merrickville artisans shops that are located nearby.
We enjoyed discussing some of the local attractions with you and hope you have another opportunity to come back when the award winning Rideau Woodland Ramble gardens is in full bloom.
We look forward to having you both stay with us again.
Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

This bed-and-breakfast has to be rated number one as first class. Everything was excellent the host went out of his way to help my husband. They offer a lovely morning breakfast Bar with assorted cold foods and snacks even available all day. Our room was beautiful with gorgeous linens fireplace and modern and spotless. A gem found in merrickville right down in the shopping district.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank Lizzy4589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2016

Thank you for your wonderful "5 Star" review and " a gem found in Merrickville" comment of our 1840 Guest House B&B.
We really appreciate knowing that you had a "first class" stay in our modern, "home away from home" B&B!
It is very rewarding to hear that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our modern accommodations, complimentary beverages, continental breakfast and helpful service.
As you mentioned, our B&B's location in Merrickville's shopping district means you are just steps from local artisans shops, restaurants, galleries and the Rideau Canal.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will be our guests again in the future.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

We have just returned from a one-night stay at 1840 Guest House and wish we could have stayed longer. From the beautifully appointed room, to the very gracious hosts, it was a perfect stay. "Pristine" is the word my husband used to describe the cleanliness, and we enjoyed all the amenities in our suite. The continental breakfast was very good and prepared in a manner that showed attention to detail. This B & B rivals 5-star hotels for pampering guests. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All the suites are beautiful, but the ones nearest the Rideau have a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank candyp776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

Describing our B&B as having "pristine" cleanliness is a wonderful compliment for any B&B! We appreciated your "5 star" guest rating and are glad you had "a perfect stay". We enjoyed your company and look forward to having you both as our guests in the future.
Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merrickville
15.1 km away
Best Western Smiths Falls Hotel
0.3 km away
Merrickville Guest Suites
Merrickville Guest Suites
#3 of 5 in Merrickville
71 reviews
38.4 km away
Sir Isaac Brock B&B Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.5 km away
Perth Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices

Been to 1840 Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840 Guest House B&B

Address: 223 Main Street West | PO Box 452, Merrickville, Ontario K0G 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Merrickville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Merrickville
Price Range: $115 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 1840 Guest House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern B&B accommodations overlooking the Rideau Canal, easy walking distance to Merrickville's "artisans" shops, fine restaurants, galleries and historic Rideau Canal and Museum. Entire second floor is dedicated to the comfort of our guests with four modern, clean, bright, spacious, air conditioned rooms with private ensuite, queen size bed, WiFi, satellite TV, NETFLIX movies, terry cloth bathrobes, desk and comfortable chairs. Common sitting / coffee area with Kuerig Coffee machine, fridge, microwave, tables and chairs and a balcony with a scenic view of the Rideau River/Canal. Hand sewn quilts, creative glass panels and antique furniture decorate rooms and guest areas. Continental breakfast supplied. Full breakfast available at excellent restaurant within easy walking distance (open 7:00AM). Bicycle friendly with locked storage area. Private free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your 1840 Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1840 Guest House B&B Merrickville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing