We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$117
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldachin Inn(Merrickville)
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Smiths Falls)
Book now, pay at stay
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Inn Motel(Smiths Falls)(Great Value!)
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kemptville Suites(Kemptville)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aquarius Motel(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
7 West Motel(Carleton Place)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$67
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
130
16
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
16
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrideau canalyogurtbeautiful quiltshost mikecontinental breakfaststained glassfree wifia great place to staygranola barsbottled waterwould definitely stay here againself servehis wiferooms are spaciouslocal historythe location is perfectannual trip
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 147 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2016

What a great find - an excellent B&B. Spotless accommodation with delightful hosts. We would recommend this B&B 100%. Super comfortable beds and refreshments always available. Lovely location with beautiful views of the canal.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 have views of the canal.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank renebrenda2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2016

The rooms at this guest house are very comfortable and spacious, opt for a canal view if you can, it's worth it! Mike provides useful advice about the area, we liked visiting the nearby gardens. Merrickville is a pretty little town with nice shopping.
Breakfast is continental and not homemade, the buffet is served in the hall to access the bedrooms, and the first guests to have breakfast are sure to wake up the others.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchLIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2016

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the 1840 Guest House B&B.
We strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible and love to provide local area knowledge of attractions and events.
As for the breakfast noise, we would hope that our guests would be respective of the other sleeping guests but unfortunately that is not always the case.
One solution for guests who would like a quieter room is to book guest rooms #3 and #4 which are further away from the breakfast area.
Thanks you for for providing us with your feedback. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2016

I'm about to stay at the 1840 for the 3rd time and I'm really looking forward to it.

The rooms are large, comfortable, and feature the amenities of any modern hotel.
The decor is charming and I've found experience relaxing and private.
I will continue to stay here any time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: If you prefer to sleep later, ask for a room away from the breakfast/dining nook.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2016

We very much appreciate your wonderful "5 star" guest review and that you have again returned to stay at the 1840 Guest House B&B during your visit to Merrickville.
We value our guest comments and strive to make their stay relaxing and comfortable.
Although all of our rooms are built with noise reducing insulation, you are correct that guest rooms #3 and #4 are quieter and we normally recommend them for guests requiring a quiet stay.
Thank you for your continued business and we hope we can be of service again in the future.
Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

Our family stayed in two rooms (#1 and #4) while attending a wedding in Merrickville. Mike was so friendly and accommodating leading up to our stay and even more so in person! The house has been recently renovated and the modernness of the rooms have been warmed up with Dawn's lovely handmade quilts. The back sitting area overlooks the Rideau Canal and riverside camping ground.
Having the breakfast in the main hallway outside the bedrooms is convenient but can be a bit noisy for sleeping in. The big, bright windows give lovely views of the Rideau or Main Street, depending on your room. Comfy beds and little touches such as face cleansing cloths made for a very enjoyable and relaxing stay!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Kdewitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2016

We are glad to have helped we a small way to make your stay in Merrickville during the wedding enjoyable.
We appreciate your taking the time to review our 1840 Guest House B&B and thank you for the excellent "5 star" rating you have given us.
You are correct that although the front guest rooms 1 and 2 have a scenic Rideau River view, they are closer to the balcony and breakfast area so are noisier. We therefor refer guests who would prefer a quieter room to guest rooms 3 and 4.
Thank you for staying with us and hopefully you will have another opportunity to visit Merrickville again and stay at the 1840 Guest House B&B.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stumbled across this b&b and what a find. Mike our host was extremely welcoming and very polite, his knowledge of the town was very extensive. Our room was immaculately clean and well equipped and the best thing was the price! I highly recommend this home from home and cannot fault it in any way, just perfect.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank rackhams10t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2016

Thank you for your wonderful "5 Star" review.
We pride ourselves in offering great value for money and love to make our guests stay enjoyable by providing local knowledge of the village and its attractions.
We appreciate your recommendation and hope you will come stay with us again.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews