We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1840 Guest House B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Merrickville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Mike and Dawn are lovely hosts of this beautiful B&B! The rooms are spacious and luxurious and very comfortable. Rooms have WIFI, Netflix, fireplaces ... everything you would need if you didnt want to ever leave your room! Beautiful shared balcony with a nice view of the river. I highly recommend the 1840 Guest House in Merrickville!

Room Tip: All four rooms are great!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J9Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Your "A Beautiful Escape" guest review is wonderful! Thank you for your 5 star rating.
We strive to make our guests stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.
As you mentioned, the scenic view of the Rideau River and excellent location easy walking distance to the local villages artisan shops makes for a great escape. Thank you for staying with us and hopefully you will have another opportunity to visit Merrickville and stay at the 1840 Guest House B&B again.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for 1840 Guest House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2016

My cousin was visiting from Arizona and we wanted to have a night away, we were greeted by Mike ( owner with his wife Dawn), given a full tour of the B and B and explained thoroughly anything we needed to know. Mike gave many suggestions of places to eat and visit while in Merrickville. The rooms are very spacious, extremely clean and we were fortunate to have the upstairs balcony ( with a great view) to ourselves, drinks and even had dinner out there as it was such a beautiful evening. I would recommend that anyone looking for lodging in Merrickville or just want to get away for an evening or weekend they definitely should check into 1840 Guest House. looking forward to my next booking!!!!

Room Tip: Room was quiet and great location would rent the same room again
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marilyn Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

I'm glad your stay at the 1840 Guest House B&B was enjoyable! We very much appreciate your 5 star review comments.
Having supper on the balcony, overlooking the Rideau River, makes for a memorable evening! We can't guarantee this for everyone, as it's dependent on other guests but I'm glad you had a wonderful experience.
Thank you for excellent guest review. We look forward to having you as our guests again in the future.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

You need to stay at this Bed and Breakfast, what a beautiful place and highly recommended! We stayed July 1st for 1 night as we were heading to Ottawa for the fireworks at Parliament Hill. The room was incredibly clean, quiet, nice floor plan and had a gorgeous private bathroom. The owners Mike and Dawn were exceptionally sweet, welcomed us with genuine smiles and provided us with so much information about Merrickville.

Staying here, you are within walking distance to everything: bakery, ice cream shop, the canal, dining, sightseeing & tourist exhibits. The continental breakfast was lovely, nothing beats having my cup of coffee while overlooking the river in the morning. My boyfriend and I can hardly wait to return....see you in the fall 1840 Guest House :)

Room Tip: Ask for Room #1 or 2 as they have the river view
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janelle_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Thank you for your "What a Gem" "5 star" guest review!
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and very much appreciate your recommendation.
A number of our guests have mentioned that "the best part of their vacation was just sitting on our balcony, drinking wine or coffee and enjoying the scenic view of the boats on the Rideau Canal". I'm glad you thought so too.
My wife Dawn and I look forward to having you both as our guests again in the fall when the trees are in their fall colors.
Regards, Mike


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016

What a great find - an excellent B&B. Spotless accommodation with delightful hosts. We would recommend this B&B 100%. Super comfortable beds and refreshments always available. Lovely location with beautiful views of the canal.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 have views of the canal.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank renebrenda2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016

The rooms at this guest house are very comfortable and spacious, opt for a canal view if you can, it's worth it! Mike provides useful advice about the area, we liked visiting the nearby gardens. Merrickville is a pretty little town with nice shopping.
Breakfast is continental and not homemade, the buffet is served in the hall to access the bedrooms, and the first guests to have breakfast are sure to wake up the others.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchLIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the 1840 Guest House B&B.
We strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible and love to provide local area knowledge of attractions and events.
As for the breakfast noise, we would hope that our guests would be respective of the other sleeping guests but unfortunately that is not always the case.
One solution for guests who would like a quieter room is to book guest rooms #3 and #4 which are further away from the breakfast area.
Thanks you for for providing us with your feedback. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016

I'm about to stay at the 1840 for the 3rd time and I'm really looking forward to it.

The rooms are large, comfortable, and feature the amenities of any modern hotel.
The decor is charming and I've found experience relaxing and private.
I will continue to stay here any time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: If you prefer to sleep later, ask for a room away from the breakfast/dining nook.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

We very much appreciate your wonderful "5 star" guest review and that you have again returned to stay at the 1840 Guest House B&B during your visit to Merrickville.
We value our guest comments and strive to make their stay relaxing and comfortable.
Although all of our rooms are built with noise reducing insulation, you are correct that guest rooms #3 and #4 are quieter and we normally recommend them for guests requiring a quiet stay.
Thank you for your continued business and we hope we can be of service again in the future.
Regards, Mike and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Our family stayed in two rooms (#1 and #4) while attending a wedding in Merrickville. Mike was so friendly and accommodating leading up to our stay and even more so in person! The house has been recently renovated and the modernness of the rooms have been warmed up with Dawn's lovely handmade quilts. The back sitting area overlooks the Rideau Canal and riverside camping ground.
Having the breakfast in the main hallway outside the bedrooms is convenient but can be a bit noisy for sleeping in. The big, bright windows give lovely views of the Rideau or Main Street, depending on your room. Comfy beds and little touches such as face cleansing cloths made for a very enjoyable and relaxing stay!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Kdewitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike Z, Owner at 1840 Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

We are glad to have helped we a small way to make your stay in Merrickville during the wedding enjoyable.
We appreciate your taking the time to review our 1840 Guest House B&B and thank you for the excellent "5 star" rating you have given us.
You are correct that although the front guest rooms 1 and 2 have a scenic Rideau River view, they are closer to the balcony and breakfast area so are noisier. We therefor refer guests who would prefer a quieter room to guest rooms 3 and 4.
Thank you for staying with us and hopefully you will have another opportunity to visit Merrickville again and stay at the 1840 Guest House B&B.
Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merrickville
18.9 km away
Kemptville Suites
Kemptville Suites
#1 of 3 in Kemptville
77 reviews
15.1 km away
Best Western Smiths Falls Hotel
14.3 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in Smiths Falls
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Merrickville Guest Suites
Merrickville Guest Suites
#3 of 5 in Merrickville
67 reviews
16.1 km away
Abbott Road Suites
Abbott Road Suites
#1 of 5 in Kemptville
37 reviews
32.5 km away
Perth Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1840 Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840 Guest House B&B

Address: 223 Main Street West | PO Box 452, Merrickville, Ontario K0G 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Merrickville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Merrickville
Price Range: $115 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 1840 Guest House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern B&B accommodations overlooking the Rideau Canal, easy walking distance to Merrickville's "artisans" shops, fine restaurants, galleries and historic Rideau Canal and Museum. Entire second floor is dedicated to the comfort of our guests with four modern, clean, bright, spacious, air conditioned rooms with private ensuite, queen size bed, WiFi, satellite TV, NETFLIX movies, terry cloth bathrobes, desk and comfortable chairs. Common sitting / coffee area with Kuerig Coffee machine, fridge, microwave, tables and chairs and a balcony with a scenic view of the Rideau River/Canal. Hand sewn quilts, creative glass panels and antique furniture decorate rooms and guest areas. Continental breakfast supplied. Full breakfast available at excellent restaurant within easy walking distance (open 7:00AM). Bicycle friendly with locked storage area. Private free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your 1840 Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1840 Guest House B&B Merrickville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing