We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Facilities need updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballina Beach Village
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ballina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Facilities need updating”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My family stayed here 4 nights for the school holidays. Our pitch was good (powered tent) and the park is located in a good position. Although we were disappointed with the amenities. They need updating & repairing. With a park as big as this there should be more toilets/showers & cooking facilities. Definitely not enough, how does it cope when its full..... Both my daughters would not use the showers behind the pitches as it was plagued with moths lots of them. We found the toilets were dirty, in both blocks. In the block by the pool the toilet doors were broke.
Most nights we went down to the camp kitchen area by the reception area & had to wait ages as it was always full.
We also would like to see more items in the shop & prices bit lower...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Love2campers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Village, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear guests, please review our photos of camp kitchen and facilities. My apologies to these guests if they found anything below standard. The repairs to the toilet door was done the next day and we are always happy to re-clean or rectify anything that our attention is brought too. The cleaning schedule is twice per day midweek, and 3 times a day weekends, and 4 times a day peak period. However, this sometimes still isn’t adequate for the large amount of traffic. But to clean anymore than this is very disruptive as people can’t use the facilities while they are being cleaned. So it is a bit of trade off. Sorry about the moths. It is moth migration time!! The camp kitchen is huge (3 bbqs, 1 cook top, microwave, sinks, fridges, all free) it seats 80 people, but even outside of school holidays we maintain a very brisk trade – so yes sometimes there is a communal cue. Apologies. We will look at putting in more facilities in the future. Our little shop provides essentials, but we can’t compete on prices with supermarkets. However we are only 4.9 kms to the nearest large supermarket and Dan Murphys!!!. Thank you for your review. It is much appreciated. Rikki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    74
    29
    7
    25
See reviews for
125
54
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deception Bay, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We had to cut our camping holiday in Queensland short due to shocking weather, and were very excited to see Ballina Beach Village appear on our internet search. We booked a last minute break with our labrador pup, who had been somewhat miserable with constant rain & storms up north, and decided to go for a cabin - we were so over the whole camping lark! They describe themselves as the most pet friendly village in Australia - a big statement to live up to - and they certainly did! Pets are allowed in ALL their cabins, which was the real selling point for us. It meant that the cheeky pup could be safely out of the way of bugs & wildlife, & wouldn't annoy anyone else with his ridiculously loud snoring!

On our first morning, whilst walking Barney around the camp ground, we were confronted by a very intimidating dog running loose. Soon after, we raised our concerns with Rikki, who could not apologise enough, then immediately went to speak to the dog owner to re-iterate the rules of the park. The following morning she asked us how things were going, we said that we had not had any more encounters with the dog in question, but we had seen it almost knock someone off their bike the previous evening. When we later went to get a coffee from the kiosk, she was just about to head into town to purchase a new leash for the owner, to ensure that his dog would be under control at all times. Seriously, this lady is so committed to making sure her guests enjoy their stay - nothing is too much trouble.

The park is set in such a beautiful location, and although the beach in front of the park is not pet friendly, there is a lovely beach a few km's down the road where Barney loved to play. There are sandy walking tracks around the park where dogs are allowed to run off-leash, and you can sit & eat at the picnic tables outside the cafe with your furry friends. A fantastic few days, made perfect by the local knowledge and can-do attitude of the staff. Rikki - we'll definately be back again! Nicky, Dawn & Barney

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Village, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
This is a very lovely review. The guest in question was a 'special needs guest' with a companion animal who was very, very boisterous but harmless. This wasn't a big ask to support this guest in having a holiday and it was our pleasure to do so. Such is life. Thank you for your review. You were great guests to have with us and very understanding of the situation which was a little unusual. With thanks and kindest regards, Rikki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Love this camping ground. 3-4 min walk to superb ocean/beach/fishing. Swimming pool and awsome cooking/bbq facilities. Management and staff are very kind, considerate and accomodating. Saturday night easy breezy entertainment and dining facilities if required at the timber-decked camping cafe. Toilet and washing facilites are clean and well maintained. Games, bikes etc for hire. Beaut outdoor Balinese inspired camp kitchen with gas BBQ, sinks and fridge.This camping ground is NOT in the middle of a business district it is lovely and peaceful although you can catch a ferry across to Ballina town if you must.Allow at least an hour each way if you want to walk.

Room Tip: If you have younger children would recommend paying a little extra for powered sites or cabins as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceceliaflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Village, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
This is a great review, as it gives me an opportunity to display pricing. First I would like to say that as an eco wilderness destination, with 'excellent' facilities - every time you flush a loo, take a shower, dip in the pool, recharge your phone, use our superb camp kitchen to cook meals for your family you are using our gasl and/or electricity - the cost of which is now in the six figure mark. We do not have any Council services and all sewerage and water is handled on site. Because we want to run a facility of excellence wel also have 23 staff, many of whom work on the weekend which attracts a time and a half, double and up to quadruple time over peak periods. You should see our wages bill. So even though you are camping on a powered site please remember that you all bring lots of gadgets that you run off our power - even fridge and blow me down airconditions! The base price for a powered site is $38 (i.e. $19 per person per night), extra guests are $8 for children to the age of 11 years, and $16 for 12 years and older. No charge of infants. I have reviewed the prices of competitiors in the area and beyond and fine that for comparable properties we are on a par - sometimes lower, someties a dollar to two higher. No big difference. There are cheaper properties, but they do not have the same star rating, facilities etc and are cheaper for that reason (though they probably provide good value for money). Anyway, I know we must be doing something very right as we are full every weekend, have a fantastic mid week trade, and most of our business is word of mouth. One person brings 20 sort of thing. Indeed this is how this guest came to stay with us. His friends who are regulars invited them to come camping with them. So many blessings and no doubt we will welcome you back soon. Rikki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The place, facilities, service, location and camp sites are all great. We were charged 140 dollars for 2 nights for me, my wife and my 13,12 and 8 year old kids which is a rip off for staying in a bloody tent. Charging certain aged children as adults is a taking the micky too. Shame on you. I could have stayed at a hotel front wotif for that. Lovely staff though.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David_UKandOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Village, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
This is a great review, as it gives me an opportunity to display pricing. First I would like to say that as an eco wilderness destination, with 'excellent' facilities - every time you flush a loo, take a shower, dip in the pool, recharge your phone, use our superb camp kitchen to cook meals for your family you are using our gasl and/or electricity - the cost of which is now in the six figure mark. We do not have any Council services and all sewerage and water is handled on site. Because we want to run a facility of excellence we also have up to 23 staff, many of whom work on the weekend which attracts a time and a half, double and up to quadruple time over peak periods – typically hauling away rubbish left by campers and mowing, mowing, mowing so that your beautiful camping site is just wonderful for you stay on. So even though you are camping on a powered site please remember that you all bring lots of gadgets that you run off our power - even fridges and blow me down air conditioners! The base price (non peak period) for a powered site is $38 (i.e. $19 per person per night), extra guests are $8 for children to the age of 11 years, and $16 for 12 years and older or $32 for unpowered. No charge for infants. I have reviewed the prices of competitors in the area and beyond and find that for comparable properties we are on a par Anyway, I know we must be doing something very right as we are full every weekend, have a fantastic mid week trade, and most of our business is word of mouth. One person brings 20 sort of thing. Indeed this is how you came to stay with us. Your friends who are regulars invited you to come camping with them. So many blessings and no doubt we will welcome you back soon. Rikki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I've been here before and again like last time was very impressed. We were here late last year and camped for a night. We had that good of a time we decided to return but stay in a cabin this time. We stayed in the cheapest cabins, I think they're called fisherman cabins. They are extremely basic, no toilets, just one small room but that is all we wanted. It was very clean and the toilet facilities at the village are one of the cleanest we have used before. Again the pool area was great and the beach was also another highlight. We also absolutely loved the camp kitchen, its never busy or crowded and its a great place to eat and spend the night chatting away. We will definitely be back again in a few months.

Room Tip: If you're just after something cheap and basic get the cheaper cabins. They are still a great wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayer_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I recently went to the 4-day Yoga Retreat at Ballina. It was wonderful.. not only did I have new experiences of trying Laughing Yoga, Hula-Hooping, African drumming and Chanting, the food was delicious too.
I was very relaxed in the environment with friendly people and beautiful open beaches. The cabin was clean and lovely and was suprisingly bigger than I thought. I can't wait to return again and hope to bring my family along this time:o)
The staff were very friendly and helpful.. 'thank-you' to those who helped make my stay enjoyable.
Looking forward to seeing you again... soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2012

My partner and I spent a lovely handful of days relaxing in one of the Beach Village cabins. We wanted a quite, no-fuss holiday and that's exactly what we got. We spent most of our time relaxing, reading and walking on the beach.

Facilities were clean and in great working order, staff were freindly and courteous, and a great bonus that your best canine friends are welcome.

Thanks, will visit again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skye K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballina hotels
1.5 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
2.6 km away
Comfort Inn All Seasons
Comfort Inn All Seasons
#7 of 20 in Ballina
176 reviews
1.6 km away
Ballina Travellers Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort
2.5 km away
Discovery Parks - Ballina
4.0 km away
Fun 'n' Sun Motel
Fun 'n' Sun Motel
#13 of 20 in Ballina
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballina Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballina Beach Village

Property: Ballina Beach Village
Address: 440 South Ballina Beach Rd | South Ballina, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballina Beach Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Ballina Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing