We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not return of recommend”
Review of Fishheads

Fishheads
Ranked #59 of 224 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Price range: US$7 - US$29
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Fishheads Restaurant & Takeaway is located on Main Beach just 20 metres from the Pacific Ocean over looking the mountains and our famous Cape Byron Light House. The restaurant, housed in the original Bathers Pavilion built in 1951, was refurbished most recently in 2003 and with the addition of the outdoor beachfront deck, is now one of Byron's best dining experiences. With a strong focus on fresh seafood and a commitment to sourcing local produce, its an obvious choice for both locals and tourist in the historic coastal town. Come in and let the Fishheads team treat you to an incredible experience by one of the worlds most iconic beaches.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Sadly I wouldn't recommend of return.
Overpriced for very small portions, they charge extra for ketchup, and what was most disappointing was the chips were floppy, dry, undercooked and stale.
Very disappointed. Not what I had in mind for fish and chips on the beach!

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Sian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Having visited a week ago I thought I would take my family. Food was good for 2 meals but poor for the 3rd meal but other than the young girl the other female staff really didn't want to be there and we not attentive nor happy. After a great meal a week ago this was rather disappointing

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank IanCardwell262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Byron beachfront views & by far the BEST seafood around, THIS IS THE PLACE! Lovely staff, incredible menu & the BEST CHEF IN TOWN! Highly recommend, Not to be missed! Has Gluten Free & Vegan options, authentic seafood and a wine list to match. Located at Main Beach, it was very easy to find with parking available close by. We spent the entire afternoon watching the sunset with a bottle of bubbles - Cannot fault. WILL BE BACK!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MitchDoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

We had delicious fish and chips here a few times on our last visit. Was fresh and tasty, takes a while to get but as it’s all fresh it’s worth the wait.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank traveller77722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

I found the manager to be quite rude with no people skills which was a shame as the food was lovely.
I had the mixed seafood grill which the chef did an amazing job with cooking the seafood to perfection. We had a great waitress Katie who was very friendly & recommended some great beers for me.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fishheads also viewed

Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Been to Fishheads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing