We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food and cocktail”
Review of Targa

Targa
Ranked #36 of 224 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Contemporary food in a classic setting. Our coffee, Genovese Super Brazil blend...Rich and flavoursome with caramel nut and vanilla notes.Our menu, inspired by the chef's travels through Italy, Spain, Portugal and France, using quality ingredients and local produce where possible. Escape and enjoy our spacious, corner-side restaurant with casual yet attentive service for breakfast lunch and dinner, 7 days. Or drop by for a cocktail or wine, licensed to serve beverages at all times without food.
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

Got a window seat with hubby. Had happy hour cocktail. Very nice and pretty. Food was quite nice as well although missing the wow factor. Great place for friends hangout or a couple date.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank iceys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 382 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2018

I wondered in on a Wednesday night, sat down in a comfortable corner and overheard a gentleman rave about the special that night, Kangaroo. Now I'm not a lover of eating kangaroo, although I ordered it based on the glowing compliment. I enjoyed every mouthful. It was sliced thinly and cooked to perfection! Topped with a delicious glass of Pinot Noir, then dessert the "Creme Bay" with stewed peaches, accompanied by a White tawny port.... Yum Yum. Excellent customer service.
I'll be back!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018

You can hear yourself think! And enjoy a menu that does shared food with big flavours and options for grazers and hearty eaters, with Mediterranean and Middle Eastern flavours without being achingly hip or try-hard groovy

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Caro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

Nice meal options
Italian influence Resturant
All meals nicely cooked
Wait staff could have been more efficient with taking our orders and keeping our water topped up.
Sirloin steak was great. Gnocchi was very tasty Risotto delicious.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank MichelleGrayOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2018

Targa has long been a favourite of mine for a quick, informal meal, but the recent menu change signals the emergence of a new business model which means less value for your money. The plates are bigger, but that fails to make the actual meals look anything but smaller.
$18 no longer fills the belly, and while the food is still good, there is hardly enough of it to call a Mains dish anything more than a generous Starter.
The service is as always very good, so kudos to the staff for their cheerful smiles, but a meal should be a meal, not an appetiser served on a plate big enough to impress a hungry person.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wardiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targabyronbay, Owner at Targa, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Hello Wardiew
Sorry to hear your belly was not filled
Any dish priced at $18 is considered an entree or light meal, consistent with our pricing in the last 4 years. Although the menu does not state tapas entree main, it is gradually listed in price per size
We hope you will visit again
Regards
Renee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Targa also viewed

 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Been to Targa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing