We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy New Year in Byron Bay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Byron Beachcomber Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Happy New Year in Byron Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Leanne and i arrived at Beachcomber and were warmly greeted by Leslie. We quickly made our way to room 3b on the ground floor next to bbq area and pool.
The rooms were well equiped, air con great to keep the room cool, full kitchen and comfy lounges. Bed was firm and comfortable.
The location is great - just a short walk to the beach and 5 min to town. All in all a very good and confortable place to stay whilst in Byron.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGabsterNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    58
    23
    8
    7
See reviews for
32
84
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ben Lomond NSW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

From the time of booking our accommodation via browsing the internet to a quick email response from Benn, the Manager, the Beachcomber Resort has been the best, and easiest, stay we have ever had in Byron Bay. Benn and Leslie the Managers at the Beachcomber, just keep doing more and more for us. The rooms are a good size (we have a studio room), the bedding is luxury with large bath towels and oh so beautiful pillows and sheets. Wardrobe and hanging space is provided with standard resort hangers ... table, chairs, TV, DVD and sitting areas are included. A standard kitchenette is very adequate especially as we can use the excellent BBQ facilities in the cabana...the bathroom has a large shower and is quite a large bathroom space with plenty of room for my cosmetics and a great mirror to do make up and hair...the courtyard is very private and it is where we spend our evenings relaxing. Of course, the pool and spa area is our favorite! I booked an hour massage for my husband which was in the bamboo hut next to the pool...just fantastic. There is direct beach access from the back of the building with security gates and a shower and tap for washing off the beach sand. Key security parking is a big plus +++...we feel very safe here especially as Benn and Leslie are available to discuss local attractions and local knowledge...they are very committed in making our stay a fantastic experience. If you need room service they will provide it for a small charge and we made our own bed...it took about 3 seconds to pull the sheets up and a few minutes to get organized for the day! Then it was into the spa and swimming pool, across to the beach for a few hours then a walk along the beach to the main shopping area for lunch and a short stroll back to our room... I could do all this even though I have a spinal injury disability and require a walking stick...The Beachcomber is a very clean, well appointed, very friendly and happy place to be in Byron Bay! Lots of extras, air con, large bathroom, large rooms, clean, very private, Thank You to Benn and Leslie for all your expert help!

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are quieter - Corner suites are large and sunny - Balcony rooms are upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Arrived at the beachcomber and the pictures were somewhat deceiving, the room we stayed in was heavily outdated and just tacky. There was no room service or cleaning which made me feel sick sleeping in a sandy bed after 3 days, couldnt even hang our clothes because they had safety attatchments so people cant steal them (whose going to steal coat hangers honestly?). We had two single beds in the room and only one pillow for each, a proper respectful hotel should supply
two per bed, the room didnt even come with tissues and only
had 2 toilet paper rolls for the week! ANIMALS!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

I was surprised by some of the reviews. I found the staff helpful from early arrival to sending lost stuff, the rooms are simple but big. Wasnt noisy on our stay so maybe we got lucky, the beaxh access was really handy

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megoaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

I stayed in August 2011 @ $120 p.n. (3 nts) in 1 brm apart. ground floor overlooking (compact) pool area. I had no noise problem during stay. Apart. had quite adequate self catering facilities. Large flat screen TV in lounge with Austar with movies (quite a change from just sport channels+fox at other places). Also TV in bedroom. Unit had airconditioning and was quite compact. It was cool and rainy for most of my stay so didn't use great beach (not patrolled) which is approx. 3 minute walk thru back fence of establishment. Undercover parking with lift access. Not a quick walk to shops as were most places along this strip, but easy parking at shops.
Didn't like: Very noisy extractor fan which started every time I turned on bathroom light.
Also the owner needs to whipper snipper a path to beach from back fence. It was overgrown when I was there.

Room Tip: I stayed ground floor overlooking pool (rear of property). Can recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerspice55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachcomberByronBay, Manager at Byron Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Sorry the weather was a little damp during your stay. I apologize for the back path being a little over grown but maybe you went the wrong way as most people manage to cover the 80mtrs in about 1 minute. I will also note that most of our guests describe the 5 minute walk to the shops as quick. I agree our bathroom fans are loud, we need powerful fans because of the high humidity here in Byron Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

Great location but the managers of this resort don't appear to care about groups that are extremely noisy and rude. We did not sleep til the party next door stopped at 4am. Also, don't expect to have your bed made or new towels supplied.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug_1283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachcomberByronBay, Manager at Byron Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Again I apologize for your poor nights sleep. If you had of let me know about the noise I would have done something about it. I had a similar problem with a group last weekend, I had a complaint at 4pm, I warned the group, and at 10pm I received another complaint. I evicted the group with no refund. EXCESSIVE NOISE WILL NOT BE TOLLIRATED AT THE BEACHCOMBER.
Unfortunately from time to time we do get disrespectful people staying with us. If I receive a noise complaint I take immediate action to resolve it. Putting up with the noise and then demanding a refund on check out is not a helpful solution for anyone.
Like most other properties in Byron Bay we offer a weekly service, daily services can be arranged at a small charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

For the money that I paid at this "resort", it wasnt worth it. I'm sure there are many better options available in Byron for the 150 a night i paid.

The room was big but very dated. The double bed was terrible.

Our balcony had a view of the hotel next door about 10m away.

The walls are quite thin so we could also hear what the neighbours were watching on TV.

Some positives are that the staff were friendly on check in/ out, the short walk to the beach and into town is great as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank THESHONKOFTONK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachcomberByronBay, Manager at Byron Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
I regret to hear this guest was unsatisfied with there stay here! I apologize for the poor sleep they had. We did have a few older beds left to be replaced but I'm happy to report that 3 months ago, they were all replaced and that all beds in the complex are no more than 1.5 years old. We have never had any double sized beds here, only king zip beds in our studio apartments. I'm sorry to hear that they were unhappy with their view...half the complex has pool views, and had we known about this, we would have happily moved them to one of these or offered some compensation for their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.6 km away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.6 km away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
2.4 km away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
0.4 km away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#27 of 32 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.6 km away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Beachcomber Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Beachcomber Resort

Property: Byron Beachcomber Resort
Address: 23 - 25 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Byron Beachcomber Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Byron Beachcomber Resort apartments in beautiful Byron Bay. We offer 34 spacious apartments suited to couples and singles alike. The property boasts a solar heated pool and spa, BBQ area and direct beach access to the pristine bay. It is also only a 5 minute walk to the heart of Byron where you can enjoy the cafes, shops, markets, main beach and all that this fabulous seaside town has to offer. The accommodation offers the best of both worlds as you can enjoy both relaxation and a chance to take in all the action. Make your next Byron Bay getaway a beachside escape at the Beachcomber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Byron Beachcomber Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Beachcomber Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing