We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hollywood glamour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rae's on Wategos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Byron Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rae's on Wategos
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hollywood glamour”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

A great hotel that is private, unique & in a fab location! Food beautiful and rooms glorious! Waiting staff are energetic and helpful. Cleaning staff were also pleasant. Pool was a bit cold if you prefer a pool Swim over the beach. Front desk reception staff was a bit matriarch like and stiff but that didn't really affect our overall stay. I would definately stay here again and drink French champagne and enjoy more scrumptious food in the restaurant!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coco313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    30
    21
    14
    20
See reviews for
24
124
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We have been to Raes four or so times over the last ten years.
It is a very expensive option but one that we treat ourselves to once in a while.
Don't go if you are stretching the bucks to experience it or I think you will be dissappointed. We love the magical atmosphere of its location and this is why we come here, not for the hotel itself.
The rooms are lovely we have stayed in the Mirabella suite twice, the two bedroom oceanview once and another suite on the second level. All nice well furnished suites.
If you are wanting to feel and be treated special go somewhere else as no-one really does anything at check in that is very welcoming.
When we checked in we were very upbeat but check in was rather dismal and almost a hassle for the woman checking us in she even had to ask us how many where staying, come on there are only seven rooms in the hotel and I'm sure they wern't all checking in that day. We also told her this was our fourth stay, there was no cheery welcome back or a bottle of wine sent up as per the usual with any other accommodation at this level just a blank stare back. Another gripe of mine as with other reviewers is that a full breakfast isn't included in the rate just continental. we spent over $100 each morning for the "extras" ie hot dish plus some coffees and fresh juice all of which was very nice and plentiful. Not that much to pay I know but should be included with the hefty tarriff.
The restaurant is great we ate there twice and couln't fault it and staff down there very friendly. Don't think we'll go back again as we are a bit over it after this last visit. Go if you can afford it, if you can't spend your money somewhere else.

Room Tip: Only go if you get a suite with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pakaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Rae's is in a truly breathtaking location at Watego's Beach. It is the perfect place for a romantic getaway - a long weekend or a few days. It is close enough to Byron Bay for convenience but far enough to be more peaceful. The service is very good and very personal.

The room was enormous with a vast bathroom and gorgeous antique Asian furniture including a very comfy day bed.

Boogie boards, beach chairs, beach cricket, towels and surf boards are all ready to be taken to the beach...

Breakfast is fresh fruit, plunger coffee and breads and pastries. Eggs and other hot foods are available for an additional cost. The restaurant is good, the food was very good and the service excellent.

The criticisms are small. A full breakfast should be included when you are paying these kind of prices. The bathroom had an open window into the bedroom with a Venetian blind only. Fine if you have been together for 20 years but probably a little more confronting if it is your first weekend away together!!!

All in all it is a very lovely and luxurious place to spend a few days and the location can't be bettered.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mona Vale, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My Wife and i recently stayed at Raes. a stroll across the lawn and you were on the beach . the room was luxurious. the staff fantastic. when you were done with the beach there was the superb pool. The place was fully booked but you rarely spotted another guest. We ate at Raes fish resstaurant and enjoyed beautiful fresh seafood. We will be going back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We had a terribly disappointing experience at Raes. We paid for four nights ( $750 plus per night) our room flooded and was incredibly noisy with delivery vans arriving from 6am in the morning and a lot of road and customer noise. The room was dark and cold and the bathroom was tiny with a cloth door. We were moved to another room which flooded, our clothes were soaked. After two days we asked to check out, but were told we would have to pay for four nights. The Hotel Manager was unhelpful and very unreasonable. Eventually the owner stepped in but it was too little, too late. The whole stay was very disappointing, the worst we have experienced at a hotel, especially one which is supposed to be world class.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank georgia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Arrive at Rae's, open up the shutters for the duration of your stay and let the wind blow through... summer, winter, storms...it is all fantastic at Rae's. We have been every year for the last four and it's simply addictive! Wake up in the morning, stagger downstairs barefoot and fall into the ocean. Breakfast, then the entire morning walking to the the lighthouse, through the rainforest & along the beach stopping at every cafe and swimming at every beach along the way. We have never hired a car. Amazing food, surf and the simply the most beautiful location in the world. I am dreaming of our next stay !

Room Tip: Must have a room across the front with an ocean view, they are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2011

What a fun three days at Raes on Watego's, the charming atmosphere in idealic surroundings creates a sublime experience where you are transported away from everyday reality. The staff are very sophisticated and well trained, and wait on you hand and foot. Our room was a luxurious, tasteful, suite that created a haven of relaxation. The reasturant served the best green and red thai curries we have ever had, and believe me we know about good thai curry! It is almost impossible these days to walk out of your hotel onto a beach, not any ordinary beach, a paradise beach. This is the ultimate location, and it is easy to understand why this hotel is the chosen location for movie stars, and the rich and famous who want a sublime experience away from prying eyes. we loved it!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.9 km away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
181 reviews
4.7 km away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
304 reviews
0.1 km away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#14 of 32 in Byron Bay
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
0.2 km away
Watermark at Wategos
Watermark at Wategos
#26 of 32 in Byron Bay
20 reviews
2.0 km away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#3 of 32 in Byron Bay
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rae's on Wategos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rae's on Wategos

Property: Rae's on Wategos
Address: 6 - 8 Marine Pde, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Byron Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Byron Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rae's on Wategos in Byron Bay is Australia's most iconic boutique hotel. Voted one of the world's top 25 hotels by Conde Nast Traveller Magazine, Rae's offers a blissful and unforgettable Byron Bay experience. Our restaurant offers modern Australian cuisine catering for large functions or romantic moments. Our spa is a sacred space of healing at the hands of the highest calibre therapists. Calming curved walls, rich soothing decor, this is the most intimate getaway in a secluded corner of Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rae`s On Watego`s Hotel Byron Bay
Raes On Wategos Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing