We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Most boring hostel in oz” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Byron Bay YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Byron Bay YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Oswaldtwistle, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most boring hostel in oz”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

As a backpacker you hear lots about byron bay and how its the party spot of oz! I was so excited to get here and see if that was true. As a yha member I picked this hostel as I expected it to be of a high quality like other YHA's I'd stayed in. However it wasnt. Upon arriving you have to put a deposit down for your kitchen utensils!! These are supposed to stay in your room so they dont get pinched, not exactly ideal when you have to go back to your room everytime you need a knife or a cup! Theres absolutely no atmosphere in this hostel. There are signs all over saying nodrinking after 10pm which is fine because byrons all about going out but what the signs fail to say is no talking after 10pm. All the communal areas shut a t 10pm and there is nowhere in the hostel to go if you want to chill and talk but not go out. When we asked the staff where to go they directed us to a dark park across the road with no lighting....a bit dangerous i think! After a night out I was walking back to my room taliing to my friend and the night manager ran out of her room and starting shouting the odds saying we were taking the p**s for talking! I was going to my room and obviously wasnnt aware that there was a silence ban on the hostel! I always thought hostels were about travllers coming together and having a good time and as much as I understand that people need sleep and you need quiet after a certain time, this hostel took it to the extreme! If you want a good kip, silence and arent that bothered about meeting people stay here. If you like a bit of a chat go elsewhere!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tot87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    78
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
1
22
61
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kunming
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

This hostel was just awful in terms of sleep. It advertises itself as a quiet non-party hostel. It has signs everywhere saying no drinking after 10pm, no being in communal areas after 11pm etc which sounded great. And the manager really tried to keep to this, but the structure of the hotel made it impossible for the poor manager. The room walls are very thin, and the rooms are all located around large communal areas with tables/benches etc. We stayed on a Thursday night. Everyone in the hostel was drinking heavily (ignoring the no drinking games rules by drinking whenever the manager left the room). The manager cleared the communal areas of drinkers by 10pm, but this just meant they all went out to pubs/clubs and then came back throughout the night. there was a continual stream of very drunk people coming back to the hostel all night long. Each group naturally lingered noisily in the communal areas directly outside the rooms for 10-20 minutes until cleared by the manager. The continual stream of this meant that we literally did not get a minute of sleep until 5am, at which point we told the manager (who was very overworked trying to run a quiet hostel) that we would not be staying for the three nights booked. The manager was lovely, and not only did he refund us for the nights we did not stay, he also gave us a free refund for the night spent in the hostel. It seems really daft that the hostel advertises itself as a non-party hostel, when the basic layout does not lend itself to quiet. This means that people looking for a quiet night will be very disappointed, and people looking for a place to party late into the night will equally be frustrated. The hostel would do better changing to a party hostel. Feel very sorry for the hard working manager who tried hard.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KunmingPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We had plan a 3 or 4 night stay at Byron Bay after hearing all the ''good stories'' about sun, surf and nightlife. There was sun, there was surf, there was nightlife but the stay at YHA was not wat we expected. We had booked a 4 shared room but due to a fault in their system ( which they admitted ) we recieved a six shared room. ( and we had to pay the same amount (?)(?) )
We were there with 3 other friends, so ... no problem, one bed for someone we did not know, can be good to meet someone new ! Only... this guy was about 38 years old and layed in bed all evening and night with his girlfriend ( doing stuff you should not do in a shared room ) and this girlwas there illegally because she had no money for a room (!)
The room was dirrty, the matrasses stunk, there was molt and fungus on the walls. Cockroach in the kitchen....When I took a shower the bathroom was terrible and dirty. We decided to stay for just one night. That night we took in a lot of beers to forget the misery and I think that is the best state of mind you can be at for staying at this hostel.......

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marijke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

This hostel was a great place to stay. The staff were incredibly helpful with booking activities for us and advising our group about Byron Bay. The rooms are set up motel-style. They are clean but do lack ventilation (definitely hang your wet towel OUTSIDE after a day at the beach if you want it to dry). But otherwise no complaints about the building - very clean bathrooms and swimming pool (humorous to watch the scuba lessons taking place there during the day). Location was great - 2 minute walk from the beach/shops/bars but just far enough from the bars that the noise doesn't keep you up. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We were greated by the very helpful reception staff upon checking in. They took time to explain and answer the questions we had and during our stay and were always friendly and very helpful.
Our room (double ensuite) was clean and spacious and great for what we wanted. The wet room style bathroom was a bit different to what we are used to but fine all the same.
Its well located in quiet side street and as there is no late night drinking here you should be able to get a pretty good nights sleep here too.
One of the better YHA's we stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CAR_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Was greeted with a smile and some surfing advice by a blonde girl at the desk - and 30 minutes later was in the mix at the Pass, an ideal spot for beginners where waves constantly roll in off the headland.
My flight back to Sydney was booked by her colleague, a former Yorkshire citizen who also sorted my transfer to the airport and for whom nothing was too much trouble - including flipping pancakes one morning!
As for location you can walk anywhere you need to be within 10 minutes and be sipping Tooheys at Cheeky Monkey's backpacker haunt in five.
By contrast a mate stayed at a hostel on the beach but was further away from the spots which offer decent surfing or swimming.
Stoked, I say!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YunziesTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

This isn't a party hostel. There's no alcohol allowed after 10pm, so if you're up for continuing your night out when you get back then this isn't the place.

The rooms are a bit basic and quite dark.

The shared areas are good, loads of benches outside the big kitchen. There's a BBQ downstairs too. There's a nice pool and an internet room (global gossip).

The main town's just a few blocks away and there's a big supermarket just over the road.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellypaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.3 km away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#2 of 62 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.2 km away
Backpackers Holiday Village
0.9 km away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#34 of 62 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
2.0 km away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 62 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.9 km away
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Bay YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Bay YHA

Property: Byron Bay YHA
Address: 7 Carlyle St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Byron Bay YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byron Bay YHA backpackers hostel is in the centre of town, only 400m to the beach. The large comfy common areas and kitchen overlook a heated pool and BBQ. The hostel has both multi-share backpacker rooms, and twin/double rooms with fans. Large decks to relax on. Free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), TV room, locker room, surfboards, free tea/coffee. Hostel bikes and bodyboards available. YHA member discounts on backpacker tours and activities at hostel tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Byron Bay YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Bay Yha Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing