We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms and lovely meal at restaurant”
Review of Motel Gunning

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gunning
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Motel Gunning
Ranked #1 of 1 Gunning B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed at the Gunning Motel after reading previous ratings on Trip Advisor. I would agree with all of them. We had a room at the back as well. Nice and clean and warm as it was -5 outside but inside we were snug. After a few drinks at the publ we came back and had dinner at the motel. Elizabeth's menu choice is different. On Monday's they have snitzel and steak night and if you can't decide which to have you can have half and half. Either half snitzel and steak or half veal and half chicken snitzel. What a great idea and also the meal was lovely. Would definitely recommend this to other travellers

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jagphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

We had driven from Melbourne via Gippsland to drop a daughter in Canberra, then wanted to drive through Gundaroo, before going on down to home in Gerringong... as one does :-) ... and the big question was, is there somewhere worth staying in Gunning?

Indeed there was. The motel does not look encouraging from the road, but then we'd driven right through town and nothing else seemed on offer. We had not had recourse to other advice here about getting a room at the back. We were just given one. Such a wonderful change from city and coast to look straight through a fence at munching sheep, magpies and galahs, in the still of the summer-time early evening.

The room spotless and comfortable.

To eat? We were carrying nothing, it was 8pm - the advice was the trailer at the pub. A van parked in the side lane, offering schnitzel or fresh made pizza. We took a couple of excellent pizzas back to the motel to sit at a table on the grass outside our room, to commune with those aforesaid sheep and magpies and galahs. A wonderful wind-down after a couple of days of travel.

I'm marking this as excellent, can't fault it for what it sets out to be. The price modest, no pretentions to being city slick, every effort to be comfortable, clean, efficient and helpful. Gunning has a nice appeal, an attractive town of close-set colonial buildings and fringe of modest houses, happily bypassed by the trucks, set in a valley where the old highway crosses the Gunning Creek.

If you haven't shared the quiet of evenings in this part of Australia, you've missed something.

Oh and... very important.. the freeway is far enough away not to make a noise.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Nice place with good beds and nice shower. Clean suggest new building is worth the extra $5 and for $70 this is good value. Only critisim the BBQ did not work so we cooked breakfast across the road at the free camp site and free bbq

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kruiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Needed a stop over in the Goulburn area, looked and choose the motel at Gunning. Had a late arrival which was no issue at all.

Excellent price, good service, would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bam1748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I have used this motel on a reasonably regular business stop for over 20 years. I have found Peter , the owner, and his wife to supply a clean,quiet and comfortable motel. They are happy to accommodate late arrivals and always seem to find a room even at busy weekends. Ideal to explore the surrounding countryside or just an easy short diversion off the Hume Highway. Pets maybe accepted with prior arrangements. Always a quiet location andeasy walking distance to Chines at Hotel next door or a number of Cafe's only a few hundred metres. Locals always friendly also.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room in the back block and pay cash-cards are accepted
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RG500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Motel Gunning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Gunning

Address: 54 Yass St, Gunning, New South Wales 2581, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Gunning
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gunning
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing