We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Used as our base for our sons wedding”

Review of Hampden House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Smithyoft...
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Used as our base for our sons wedding”
Reviewed November 1, 2018 for a stay in November 2018

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights recently. We arrived to a welcome of chocolates, wine and other gifts. This place was just beautiful to stay at. The accommodation is excellent, the pool is great and the location is beautiful with the river at the property edge. A short walk to the township. Thank you for making our sons wedding extra special and highly recommend this property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill A
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hampden House Fantastic”
Reviewed September 27, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

This is the third time we have stayed at Hampden House and it gets better every time. Champagne, Chocolates and home made cake greets the visitor. The property is on the river and what a wonderful spot for a picnic. The house is close to the village however with the ambience of Hampden House I am unable to understand why anybody would want to venture out. All in all a fantastic experience and I have no hesitation in recommending this wonderful property to any body looking for a great weekend away. Next time we are planning to stay for a week. Karen is a great host, nothing is too much trouble.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deemacvee
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Another wonderful weekend at Hampden House”
Reviewed November 20, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My wife and I had visited Hampden House before, returning with three first time couples. There is always the concern that they will like the house as much as we did. We need not have been concerned. They loved it. Why wouldn't they? Lovely historic house, beautiful grounds, amenities which lack nothing and some lovely touches left for guests by the owner, Karen. Perfect weather and a Saturday morning canoe trip from Hampden Bridge to Bendeela really topped off a fabulous weekend. We enjoyed a dip in the pool on a hot Friday followed by a BBQ. Dinner in town on Saturday night was a 10 minute stroll away. Only two hours from Sydney and a million miles from care.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Lovely grounds and pool on a hot day
Liked least: The bathrooms are rustic but it is an historic home.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyLenn...
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb Original House”
Reviewed June 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We came to Kangaroo Valley to attend a nearby wedding in June. The weather was quite cold but the house was cozy on our arrival. Karen had turned on the room heaters and prepared the wood fire ready for us to light as we needed. We also were so pleased to see gifts which added to the warmth of the welcome.
The house was original but updated to current standards, so we had the original nature of the place while maintaining modern conditions. The four bedrooms were extremely comfortable and everything was fresh and clean. For its age, we could not fault it.
The grounds included a heated swimming pool, fruit trees and a variety of other trees and plantings. I can imagine the colours in the autumn just before the trees lost their leaves.
And a the bottom of the grounds is the river which was quite spectacular.
Location was excellent. Although it is on the main road it is still quiet and just a short walk into the village.
There are so many delightful qualities that only a visit will satisfy. Highly recommended particularly if you are interested in history and want a stay with a lovely ambience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unique historical qualities
Liked least: Just one bathroom in the house although there are additional facilities in an adjoining external laundry
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2016
Len,
I am so happy that you were able to enjoy the charm of Hampden House and Kangaroo Valley.I hope that you will be able to come back for a longer stay. Yes the garden is spectacular in the autumn a few of the trees in the garden were planted by my great grandmother and as l have planted new trees ,l realise the joy of a plant is a gift to many generations .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill A
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed April 6, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at Hamden House and it exceeded all of our expectations, it is set in a rural environment and only minutes from the Kangaroo Village, with the river running past the boundary of the property. It is completely private with a heated pool. The house is over 100 years old and is in wonderful condition. Karen was a great host leaving a home baked cake and a bottle of wine for our enjoyment. We arrived after dark which was fine as all of the lights were on and we had no trouble orientating ourselves. We will be returning and hopefully for a longer stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and grounds
Liked least: Our stay was too short
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur L
Shoalhaven, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Romantic, tranquil, luxurious getaway. Perfect for couples, families and girls weekends.”
Reviewed March 26, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I celebrated my 10 year wedding anniversary at Hampden House and it exceeded all expectations. We were greeted with french champagne, gourmet chocolates, delicious homemade cake, Spanish liqueur, and the house had classical music playing and mood lighting on arrival. It felt so welcoming and Karen the host is a pleasure to deal with. The beds are comfortable with 5 star quality linen. We had our champagne on the back verandah overlooking the river before walking down to the village for dinner and ended the evening soaking in the claw foot bath. The next day breakfast was easy with the fresh eggs, local milk and yummy coffee provided for us. The pool is heated and has views overlooking the valley. The house is full of old world charm, with all the mod cons like wifi and aircon. The garden is breathtaking and must look amazing in spring. We didn't need the fireplace but I would love to come back in winter with the family or as a girls weekend. Thank you Karen, we will definitely be back. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great service, beautiful house, beautiful location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Hi Fleur
Thank you for choosing Hampden House to celebrate your wedding anniversary. I am so happy you had such a great getaway together.I will look forward to your return to Kangaroo Valley .You can keep up with the changing garden and events happening in KV on my Facebook page facebook.com/hampdenhouse.
Warm regards Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing