We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great family fun at Merimbula Beach resort.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NRMA Merimbula Beach Resort and Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
NRMA Merimbula Beach Resort and Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great family fun at Merimbula Beach resort.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

we have just rerurned from nearly 2 weeks at Merimbula Beach Resort and Holiday Park and we had the best time ever.
We have our own van and so we book a powered site and it is perfect for our needs.
We travelled with a 5 year old and a 14 year old. The park has excellent facilites for younger children including two pools, jumping castle, a well run kids club with movie nights and my daughter really loved the free face painting every morning.
The park has a games room, but be prepared to pay for everything in it. It also has a tv room. I feel there could be more offered for the teenage age group, maybe a later movie screening for their age group.
There are 3 toilet blocks in the park, one is very modern and clean, the older two however are in need of an update and need more attention when it comes to cleaning them, around the sinks in particular.
The park has a great tennis court which we made use of, and a very small playground, which could be improved.
My avorite part of the park was the pool and we used these everyday and it was here that we met a lot of lovely people and some new freinds.
The things I didnt like about the park was the road surface in some areas need to be improved .
The park also has a good cafe where the food seems very nice, and in the shop you cn buy drinks , icecreams and a few grocery itmes, but I feel more could be stocked in the shop to provide a better service to campers, partcuarly in the busy summer period.

I have fond childhood memories of this park, having spent a lot of my childhood here and now returning with my own family. The view as you walk down the hill to go to Short Point Beach is spectacular. I am only disappointed that more people dont use this beach because I think it is amazing. This beach has character, you can take the kids for a walk around the rocks and discover the rock pools, or laze and bake in the sand in front of the waves.

This park is very affordable and great for campers on a budget. I found other campers to be friendly and cheerful and I did not find noise a problem, even though we were in close proximity of other guests.

The staff at the caravn park were very helpfula nd friendly. I will be returning next year.
There are so many wonderful things to do in this beautiful little town.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noleen q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    116
    12
    2
    6
See reviews for
433
217
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Martina Franca, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We arrived at Merimbula Beach Resort and Holiday Park with our motorhome on the 24th of January for a 8 nights stay (we still have 3 more nights). This is the second time for us here. Last time we loved it so much that we decided to come back.
2 years ago we came at the end of February (off peak season) and stayed in one of the newest condo right next to the pool. The condo was fabulous, very spacious and well equipped, with two bedrooms each one with its own ensuite and with a large veranda where to have breakfast with parrots while you enjoy the beautiful scenery. We could not fault anything.
This time We were assigned a powered site right opposite the jumping pillow. If a criticism has to be done, I must say that a 9 mt long site is really not enough for a 8.8mt campervan especially when the site is sloping and you need to maneuver your vehicle to level it out. We were like enough that our friends had booked right next to us which helped us to park the caravan across (lucky that sites are quite wide!). On top of that we are right on the main road which in January gets very very busy with cars and kids and probably it would have been a good idea if someone fom staff would have taken us to the site and helped stopping traffic while maneuvering.
Having said that, all the rest is fantastic here, from the 2 pools to the tennis court, location, staff, kids activities, on site shop and bar game room and so on. Amenities are clean but probably require an update.
We will definitely be back but will request a different site more suitable for us.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loziodaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

This was once run by the NRMA but is now operated by Big 4.

It was a return visit for us and we came during the busiest time of the year with the highest rates for accommodation. We were there from 3 January to 13 January 2012.

We stayed in a two bed room condo by the pool. The holiday was restful and pleasant. The children enjoyed themselves in the pool and on the jumping pillow and had a good time using their scooters. It is definitely family friendly which is what you'd expect. I'd like to see perhaps a water slide or some water cannons in the main pool or something more interesting for children in the 10 to 14 year age group.

There were some petty annoyances which meant the stay was not perfect.

At $445 a night, I'd have expected better service levels. It seems the service level stays at the same low level whether you are paying $30 a night for a camp site or $445 a night for a unit or whether it is peak season or low season. This is just poor management practice. It explains why the rebooking rate is only around 50% for a condo compared to 90% for a caravan site. You can get a lot more bang for buck in other towns or hotels when you are paying top dollar.

The condo had two bedrooms (one with a queen bed and one with a queen bed and two bunk beds) and each had a smallish bathroom with a toilet, basin and shower (but no bath and no spa). The living area was a good size with a couch, kitchen table (six chairs) and a well appointed kitchen with good size two door refrigerator, stove top, oven, microwave and dishwasher. There was an electric BBQ and sink outside on a nice patio that overlooked the pool and had a good sized outdoor table. The car could be parked right next to the unit so packing/unpacking was easy.

I'd have liked to have some more room in one of the bathrooms and feel a washing machine and dryer would have made all the difference. You have to bring your own towels for the pool and beach. With two boys and ten days, there was a need to wash towels and swimming togs and clothes a few times. The laundry was shared with a large number of guests and there were two washing machines and two dryers (cost $4 a wash or $3 a dry) but usually one of them was broken and there could be quite a wait to get your washing done. The equipment needed more regular servicing. The iron in the laundry was not worth using as it would stain clothes due to misuse by previous guests and lack of management attention to ensure things like this are kept in good condition. All it needed was someone to wipe it and clean it regularly. Fortunately, there was an iron in the condo but it is a pain to watch your clothes washing and drying and not be able to do something with the time.

The towels supplied for the bathroom were very small and at just one towel per person, not really adequate. If you want to get clean towels, you had to go to reception with a bag and get a swap over. I'd expect a daily visit and towel exchange in the room - the same as in hotels.

I also expect to have more than one bed linen change for a ten night stay. It isn't a hotel where your bed is made each day but it would be nice to be able to get crisp fresh sheets every few days.

The TV's were all high definition flat screens with inbuilt DVD player. These had been upgraded in the past year since our earlier stay. There were small wall mounted TV's in each bedroom and a larger TV in the living room together with a sound system. There was no cable TV and no inhouse movies but at least all the free-to-air channels were available.

The condo did not have a telephone but there was a pay for wireless Internet service with the first 20 hours free. I'd expect free wireless for the whole stay. Australian accommodation is way behind the rest of the world in this regard. My sons were particularly unhappy about not having email and browsing on their iPod touch and iPad.

Room Tip: Try to get a condo or bungalow overlooking the water or the pool. Some of them just face into more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central west
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Spent 6 nights on caravan site. Negatives include; noisy (inconsiderate neighbours partying late into night), so-called 'on-site security' who didn't remedy noise situation (could have been more proactive in patrolling the park and keeping noise to a reasonable level after dark), park was extremely over-crowded (sites were tightly packed - amenities block filthy due to high volume use - not enough clothes lines due to volume of guests - pool was over crowded, etc). Positives - location to beach, great views from some sites/areas of park. Overall, a very disappointing experience not to be repeated.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank centralwestcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed in a cliff top bungalow over the New Year and was disappointed with the quality of accommodation.
Pros:
View from cabin. We stayed in number four and with the exception of some shrubbery it had a breathtaking view of the ocean. I noticed some cabins had their views obscured by shrubs so if a view is what you are after then check beforehand that the cabin you are booking has the view.
Close to beach. Short Point beach is a short distance away though it is a walk down a hill and we had to walk down a rocky uneven ledge used as steps to get to it. The day that we were on that beach it was not safe. The flags were out but it was impossible to stay in the surf as the current was incredibly strong. We opted for the inland Back Lake nearby accessible from that beach. Upon approach the lake smelt a little and the water was not transparent after a short depth. Last year we visited that same beach and inland lake and the lake had a stingray (we saw it moving in the shallow) so we did not feel particularly safe there this year. We only visited that beach once in our seven day stay. Last year there were many stingers in the surf and my husband was stung on his foot when just standing at the water’s edge. This year they had the stinger sign out but we could not see any stingers in the surf on the one day we were at that beach. We opted for the larger Main Beach that was beautiful and much safer for children - less current and waves suitable for relaxing boogie boarding.
It was quiet in the cabin area.
Cons:
The cabin was dirty, old and not well maintained. The cleaning was of a low standard - we found the kitchen window smeared and a blob of grot on that window frame. The kitchen roll blind was grotty and in place of a solid ring had a worn and very dirty hand knotted loop of string that was used to operate it. There were many cracked tiles in the kitchen flooring. The white plastic kettle was stained brown on the inside and old looking. We took our own so did not need to use it. The stand of complimentary salt, pepper, tea, coffee sachets was very grotty. We put that away so we would not have to see it. I opened the fridge to an off smell. This odour disappeared after we put our groceries in it.
The bathroom was very old and worn - discoloured fittings in the bath for the spa and some broken bits too. I also found some mildew come out of a spa vent or vents when I first showered. The flyscreen was torn in the bathroom. The fan looked dirty and around it too. The tile grouting around the shower/bath had dark mildew colour in sections. The pristine white bath mat became very dirty after its first use after a shower indicating the floor was quite dirty. The washer and dryer both worked but appeared very old and worn. The dryer had dirty marks all around the inside. The broom left in the bathroom was dirty. There were drain holes in the bathroom and separate toilet. Both of the drains were not piped - they were open to the underneath of the cabin. A great way for the numerous insects we found to come into the cabin.
The queen-size bed had a very firm mattress that was covered with very thin sheets. We could see the pattern of the mattress very clearly through the sheet. We opted to use the top sheet on top of the fitted sheet so we had adequate thickness. We brought out own doona. There is a synthetic blanket for the queen size bed. In the other bedroom the bunk beds had similar quality sheets and a very thin quilt that seemed synthetic with synthetic mix covers for them. All the bedding appeared old and felt much used. The sheets appeared and felt new but were of cheap quality. The venetian blind in the bunk room did not have a rod to operate it so we took a rod off one of the blinds in the lounge area and attached it to the bedroom blind.
The lounge had two large couches. Upon sitting down I noticed a faint waft of urine and they felt like sitting on grotty waiting room couches. They were dark brown in colour - a great way to camouflage stains and dirt. There were no cushions on the deep couches. We used the spare sheets and pillows from the bedding to cover the couch and use as cushions. The entry mat into this area was much frayed.
The outdoor porch had a large table setting with the table having a barbeque built into the middle of the wooden table. It was dusty and just lifting the lid meant bending over quite a bit so we did not bother using it. It had been well used and the smell of barbeque grease was embedded into the table. I imagine it would be difficult to sit around the table while someone was cooking on the barbeque - smoke and splatters. It could be quite difficult on your back too. I found in the morning when I took my coffee outside to enjoy the view that the sun beat down on the barbeque area and the smell became overbearing so I would not stay outside. It is better when the sun is not on that area. There is a sink in a tiled bench along the wall outside. It had many fish scales left over it and the sink had grime not cleaned out of the drain hole. We did not use that area as we would have needed to scrub it clean first. There were many cobwebs with lots of insects, the windows were dirty and the woodwork around the decking was very old looking. It was a very disappointing outdoor area.
We found a lot of insects. The ants in the kitchen were not too bothersome but we found large cockroaches (1 inch plus in size) inside the cabin and during the day. There were also other flying insects. My daughter became very restless about staying there after we found spiders in the kitchen, bedroom, bathroom and toilet. She kept checking things - her sheets and the toilet - constantly looking around so did not relax. One night we came home in the dark to find what appeared to be a swarm of flying ants had covered the back door and windows. It was difficult to get inside and when we did we found they had got inside and were on the lounge area wall. There was a can of home brand insect spray left in the kitchen so we sprayed and sprayed. It was really awful and I was very concerned about the spray as my daughter is asthmatic. It smelt awful. The next day we found these dead insects on the floor and hundreds of them around the door. There was not a vacuum cleaner just the dirty broom to sweep them out with dust coming up during the sweeping process.
The facilities around the park appeared ok. The children used the jumping pillow the first day but then it somehow broke and deflated. It was not useable for the rest of our stay. We noticed there was a new one being installed at the end of our 7 day stay.
There is one tennis court. We booked for very early morning bookings - this was all that was available as someone had gone through and booked other times most mornings. We booked the times on our first day so we would not miss out. The booking system they have means one person can book the same time every day so you will need to be flexible and fast with your bookings.
The swimming pools looked well maintained. We opted for long afternoons on the beautiful beach so the children only used the pool once. They thought the pool was adequate.
In summary:
We paid a lot for the stay and overall I would say it was not worth it. We stayed last year and not a thing had changed (not even the dirty string on the kitchen blind), it had only deteriorated and it looks like not one bit of maintenance had been done on the cabin. Last year I had filled out a feedback form with extensive information. We will not be going back to the park and we do not recommend that cabin at the peak season price. It is not worth the price. The view was breathtaking but the discomfort of the cabin outweighed the joy particularly as we were paying top price for it. Should we go back to Merimbula we will investigate newer accommodation. The park has a four and a half star rating listed on its signage which made me wonder where their rating system comes from and what they are rating. Based on the cabin we stayed in and using the international accommodation rating that we know I would give it no more than three stars.

Room Tip: The corner large cabin looks better as do the two next to it facing Short Point. Book the tennis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelbird_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerimbulaBeach, General Manager at NRMA Merimbula Beach Resort and Holiday Park, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Travel Bird

Thank you for taking the time to write to us with you constructive criticism. I appreciate the honesty in your feedback as it helps us to assess where money needs to be spent but we also need to weigh it against other guest feedback and prioritise the long list of improvements being made on a daily, weekly, monthly and yearly basis.

I understand you had several issues whilst staying with us but must say as the manager of the property ideally some of these issues could have been cleared up or corrected had they been brought to our attention as they arose, giving us the ability to try and rectify the problems and maybe make your stay a little more enjoyable. I refer in particular to the items housekeeping missed.

Although not a lot of money was spent on upgrades to the cabin type you occupied this year we did a soft refurbishment in 2010 which included new carpet, dining table, chairs and replaced the couches with the mentioned new chocolate coloured couches to freshen and soften the colour scheme of the cabin. This year we assessed priority was to refurbish 12 of our entry level cabins and repair some of the roadways within the park as well as various other improvements and upgrades. I am aware that the cabin you occupied requires further improvements eg. New tiling, however as
this is an extensive and costly process that at this stage does not pose any safety issue we have decided to wait until a later date to undertake this work along with several other major upgrades and improvements coming including new cabins to be added to our inventory this winter.

I understand that you feel the rate does not match the cabin provided however, we believe our prices are positioned fairly in line with our competitors and are reflective not only of the cabin but of our location, all of the facilities and free activities we offer as well as the demand at the time of the year you stayed and not forgetting the high level of customer service we are well known for and take great pride in offering.

Do we always get it right; no, but we certainly work really hard to try and would love for you to give us the opportunity to show you that this is the exception and not the rule however, if you chose to move on we wish you the best of luck in the future and hope you find a property better suited to your needs.

Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langwarrin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

we had 3 young children and we had the most amazing time living in our clifftop ocean bungalow the sound of the beach was amazing and to wake upto it in the morning was fantastic
the kids used the pool and the activitie centre we will be back in 2012
FANTASTIC PLACE!! SO FAMILY FRIENDLY!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Stayed 2 nights in May 2010 with 2 young children in the Clifftop Ocean Bungalow - cost $290 for the 2 nights. Am a big 4 member and this was one of better Big 4 parks. The cabin itself was great, had a deck with bbq with crashing ocean over fence. Bed was comfortable, washing machine in room which was very handy. Park facilities were great - jumping pillows a hit with my 3 year old. Also a playground which was great for 3-5 year olds. Pool area looked nice but was too cold in may to go in.

Beach was just next to property and walking distance. Main town was a little walk away so handy to have a car,

Hope to get back there one day!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merimbula
2.1 km away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#8 of 16 in Merimbula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.0 km away
BIG4 Merimbula Tween Waters Resort
6.3 km away
Discovery Parks - Pambula Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Beach Cabins Merimbula
Beach Cabins Merimbula
#4 of 59 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.3 km away
Sapphire Valley Caravan Park
1.8 km away
Coast Resort Merimbula
Coast Resort Merimbula
#13 of 59 in Merimbula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NRMA Merimbula Beach Resort and Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NRMA Merimbula Beach Resort and Holiday Park

Property: NRMA Merimbula Beach Resort and Holiday Park
Address: 2 Short Point Road, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Merimbula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — NRMA Merimbula Beach Resort and Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Merimbula on the beautiful NSW South Coast, NRMA Merimbula Beach Resort & Holiday Park is the ultimate beach holiday destination offering a great range of accommodation, sites and facilities. Positioned on the coastline with spectacular ocean views, our award winning holiday park will have you coming back time and time again. Our park has a large range of modern self-contained accommodation options available from 1, 2 and 3 bedroom cabins and villas to our Beach House, which has 3 bedrooms, sleeps up to 8 people and is superbly located just a short walk from the beach. We also offer a great range of ensuite, powered and unpowered caravan, RV and camping sites, most of which are have beautiful ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your NRMA Merimbula Beach Resort and Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing